1. FenrirWolf

    FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    Why do people start with a 3.2 nand instead of just starting on 4.2? Been meaning to ask this for a while
     
  2. ChokeD

    OP ChokeD The Contributor
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Country:
    United States
    That's exactly what my question is. If anyone has any real deal explanation to answer this I would love to here it.
     
  3. fogbank

    fogbank GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Can your screen display NTSC? I don't think that you really need to change anything except the AREA.
    *EDIT*
    I'm not entirely convinced that the Wii requires setting.txt to get to the setup screen. I think a valid setting.txt may only be required to load the system menu. I've messed around with setting.txt (deleting parts, etc...) and always got the setup screens, but often couldn't load the system menu.
     
  4. fogbank

    fogbank GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't really matter whether you start with 3.2 or 4.2 if you are going to do an update anyway. They'll both update to the same end result.

    And I'd certainly rather update than try to create a full 4.2 NAND from scratch with all of the IOS wads and channels etc... Too much work.
     
  5. wiiuser2

    wiiuser2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi Diddy81, thanks a lot. This worked fine on a Virgin 3.2E Nand, was struggling with this for a while. Now upgrading to 4.2 [​IMG]
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,231
    Country:
    France
    I'm sure this is the tutorials fault. a lot of people just follow guides which tell them "go to NUS and download IOS30" and they do.
    There should be a guide telling "download the desired system menu and the corresponding IOS" with a table saying which IOS is needed (though it's not a big table)

    3.2 + IOS30
    3.3 + IOS50 (thanks TJ_cool)
    3.4 + IOS50
    4.0 + IOS 60
    4.1 + IOS 60
    4.2 + IOS 70
     
  7. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,036
    Country:
    Belgium
     
  8. NiKKrO

    NiKKrO Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    Normaly, tv can display NTSC. I just test tonight, with 3.2U and setting.txt, i get setting screen, i sync wiimote and setup the wii. With 4.2U, i wait up to 5minutes and still black screen.
    With 3.2U after setup, i shutdown the wii and when i try to reboot the 3.2U nand, i got the blck screen. I can't understand why when i have the setup i can go to system menu and after initial setup always blackscreen. And i can't understand why 3.2U show initial setup when 4.2U remain black screen.
    Last try, not changing video but i'm not convinced
     
  9. xyourmomx

    xyourmomx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    So I double checked my HDD, it's cluster size is 32k, which according to the FAQ's is acceptable. I still cannot get the USB to boot as a NAND. It works fine under Triiforce, but even "virgin" NAND dumps that work fine on SD card, do not work on the 2 HD's I've tried. Any tips would be very helpful
     
  10. FenrirWolf

    FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    Is the first partition primary and formatted as FAT32?
     
  11. NiKKrO

    NiKKrO Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    @fogbank maybe you're right, a little try with 3.2U nand in PAL and i can boot after initial setup on the usb nand. I checked tv (sony kdl32e4000) and NTSC is supported so i'll try tomorrow with 4.2U.
     
  12. xyourmomx

    xyourmomx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. The WBFS works fine, the FAt32 (active and primary) works fine udner Triifoce and such. But it just produces no signal when I use SNEEK
     
  13. FenrirWolf

    FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    Others have had issues with r80. Maybe it's a problem on SNEEK's end. I dunno. I haven't even tested out r80 yet.
     
  14. Digital1980

    Digital1980 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    United States
    I have this exact file structure but it just won't go for me [​IMG]

    the disk drive flashes when I launch bootmii from HBC, that's all. Am I missing some files?

    When I follow the SNEEK tutorial @ completesoftemodguide it works perfect.
     
  15. leic7

    leic7 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you please provide details of the conditions under which you successfully installed HBC on SNEEK/UNEEK?
    such as:
    SNEEK, UNEEK, or SNEEK+DI
    your system menu version prior to installation;
    IOSes versions;
    anything you did to your NAND prior to installation;
    etc.

    I'm sure details to reproduce the installation would be appreciated by many. Thanks in advance!
     
  16. ChokeD

    OP ChokeD The Contributor
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Country:
    United States
    That guide is for an old version of sneek I believe, not DI and this statement:

    the disk drive flashes when I launch bootmii from HBC, that's all. Am I missing some files?

    I'm not understanding, please rephrase this as I have absolutely no idea what your trying to actually do, sorry.

    EDIT: I re-wrote the guide to focus on 4.2X instead of 3.2X if anyone has anything to add, thanks.
     
  17. xyourmomx

    xyourmomx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    How would one go about acquiring the older SNEEK rev's like 79 then?
     
  18. cthg

    cthg GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
  19. xyourmomx

    xyourmomx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. A bit new to SVN, so wasn't sure a command to pull an older rev.

    Edit: Tried rev79 and it's the exact same thing
     
  20. arasium

    arasium GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    France
    For creating the firmware, i thing it's easier to use NUSD. You have an option in nusd that will create a script to download all required wad (for the latest firmware).

    Just check the pack as wad before running the script, and once the job is done, do a research of *.wad in the nusd folder. You will have all the wads. Copy them to ShowMiiNand and this is ok.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - SNEEK+DI, quick, guide