Small defect in 3ds touch screen-should i get it replaced?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by goosemontana, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. goosemontana
    OP

    Newcomer goosemontana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    so i preordered my 3ds and got it at midnight and have been playing it for the past 24 hours but there is a tiny black dot on the touch screen. im pretty sure its not a dead pixel since when i move my ds around the dot moves above the display, i think its a piece of dust or dirt trapped between the touch screen and the display. the question is should i take it back and get it replaced over this small problem or just keep it and hope nothing goes wrong? nothing else seems to be wrong with it, everything ive tried so far works fine just this small problem is scaring me, i dont want my touch screen going out if its not a piece of dust
     
  2. 1234turtles

    Member 1234turtles GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    United States
    i would take back you know how fragile nintendo handhelds are
     
  3. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah dude take It back but make sure you totally check out the next one you get before you leave the store because you might end up getting one that is even worse.
     
  4. aiRWaLKRe

    Member aiRWaLKRe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
    My dsi i had that i pre ordered from gamestop, had that exact same black dot that looks like as dead pixel at first but you see it move around a little when you view it at a different angle. Looked like a small pixel sized chunk was taken out of the lcd so I took it back and exchanged it same day, almost the same hour i got home and opened it up and saw it.
     
  5. goosemontana
    OP

    Newcomer goosemontana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks for the replies does anyone know if there is a way to transfer street fighter data from my 3ds to the sd card? or do i have to loose all of my progress?
     
  6. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sadly, you'll have to lose all of your progress. Everything about the 3DS is very encrypted.
     
  7. goosemontana
    OP

    Newcomer goosemontana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
  8. Tigran

    Member Tigran GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    672
    Country:
    United States

    Actually.. everything but your Steetpass information should be available. As the actual save progress is saved on the gamecard.
     
  9. goosemontana
    OP

    Newcomer goosemontana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    are you sure? i took out my sd card and booted up street fighter and it still had all of my info and unlocked stuff
     
  10. Uncle FEFL

    Member Uncle FEFL OBJECTION!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    PM me for Social Security information
    Country:
    United States
    It's not saved to the SD card, it's saved to the actual game cartridge.
     
  11. goosemontana
    OP

    Newcomer goosemontana Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States

    oh ok thanks
     

Share This Page