Slot 2 Card questions

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by ShadowFyre, Mar 18, 2012.

Mar 18, 2012

Slot 2 Card questions by ShadowFyre at 5:22 AM (969 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been reading the forums for a bit, but I want an update-

    Should I get the EZ Flash IV, or 3in1?
    I want to have mutliple GBA roms on my flashcard, meaning I need the EZ flash IV, but I also want to be able to be able to migrate pokemon to my R4, meaning I need the 3in1. Or is there another solution? Also, for the next few months my DS isn't going to be with me, so I'll be using my Gameboy Micro.

    Point is, which flashcard should I get?
     
  2. Click This

    Member Click This Surgite!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    New York, New York
    Country:
    United States
    EZ Flash IV if you're going to be with your Micro, definitely.
     
  3. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm...Would I be able to trade my pokemon from the EZ flash iv to a legit pokemon gba cart? If that's the case, then I can migrate them in two steps, in which the EZ flash iv would be my definitive answer.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Two threads to read (short version yes you can link but you might have to disable patches and you seem to be going about migration the hard way so some more info on the matter)
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=17660
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=17675
     
  5. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Uhhh, what do you mean "migration the hard way"? Is there another method I could use?
    The thread you showed me had something to do with pokesav, and if that works, I'll look into that more.
     
  6. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    "Migration the hard way" is because migrating from a flashcart to a genuine Gen IV card is much more complicated than simply migrating with DeSmuME.
     
  7. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for bumping an old topic but it seems pointless to open up a new topic just for one more question.

    Will I be able to use my EZ flash IV as a ram expansion for opera? And would I be able to open GBA sav files on pokegen/sav?
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can use an EZ4 lite deluxe as a ram expansion for opera but the others did not get ports of the patch (also the download link is gone and I do not seem to have a copy). For what it is worth the homebrew browsers ( http://code.google.com/p/quirkysoft/wiki/Bunjalloo and http://filetrip.net/nds-downloads/applications/download-dshobro-04-f2653.html being the main two) and related programs (mail, IM, FTP, very basic telnet and such) are superior to the opera one. Homebrew on the other hand should be quite happy to use any EZ4's ram.

    GBA save files- should be fine to open (no extra headers or anything are added by the EZ4 that I know of).
     
  9. ShadowFyre
    OP

    Member ShadowFyre GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    San Diego
    Country:
    United States
    Do you mean that the homebrew browsers like the ones you stated above can accept the regular EZ4? Or just homebrew in general.
     
  10. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Homebrew in general (DSHobro uses a PC as a backend for it so it does not need the ram)- the EZ4 was added to the de facto ram libraries from the start more or less.
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Dunno if it helps at all, but I recall this subject on using a slot-2 cart for Opera RAM - http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=14039
     

Share This Page