Tutorial Skyrim Modding

Terrorize420

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
1,134
Country
United States
I just tried this for the first time today. AMS crashed on me, and sxos didn't seem to use the mods. I'm not sure what the Plugins file is supposed to do, but all of my mods were activated after adding them near the TOP of the .ini (eg. sTestFile9=SpellTomeResurrectDead.esp).

The explanation that would have made things clearer to me, is that base, animations, and mesh .bsa files need to be listed under sResourceArchiveList, while textures and voices go under sResourceArchiveList2.

Then, for some reason, animations need to be listed a second time in sArchiveToLoadInMemoryList.


Good info in the thread about creating an Interface folder for .swf files, and it should be added to the OP.


I've never actually finished the game but now I may pick it up again. Although I'm home from a long deployment now, and I own an Oculus and Skyrim VR. Wonder if some of these mods will work with that... :evil:

I don't add my ESP's to Skyrim.ini only in the Plugins file because of the limit of 10 total ESP's allowed
and avoid the character limit filling up quicker unless you rename your mods to shorter names

Basically all your ESP's should be inside Plugins file with a * before the name to enable it
(For example *LevelersTower.esp is Enabled and LevelersTower.esp is Disabled)

Your BSA's, Textures, Meshes, and animations go in Skyrim.ini
(and yea Animations need to be added to sArchiveToLoadInMemoryList also)

Then you need to add your Textures to Skyrim_en.ini again

Then just place your files inside the right folders for your CFW
Try the premade levelers tower see if that works for you
I tried to go over everything without trying to flood people with too much info I plan on adding more when I get time
also if you go to Nexus and search VR there is some mods that people have made/converted to VR might be worth a try

as a side note Skyrim is made to be modified they make the creation kit for it that allows full control over the game and its the only game that even Sony allows modifying of Skyrim SE on PS4 with a mod section built into the game
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
Yea, I was awake until nearly 6am because I discovered the VR mods. Holy cow.

I'm using Vortex to manage things, but the .swf info here already helped with that, because vortex didn't even create or copy the interface folder (for SkyUI). Seems like voices for the mods aren't working though (or perhaps it's because I've just been working my mojo on random girls... like the first shop in the first town... totally smashed the shop dude's sister while he watched. lol...

But back on topic, none of the mods worked on Switch until I added them to Skyrim.ini. They are working right now, so I don't think I'll mess with them anymore. TBH I'm disappointed that using any mods at all turns off achievements, so I went ahead and installed cheatroom as well. Wasn't going to, but I guess there's no point in NOT using it.
 
Last edited by urherenow,

Terrorize420

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
1,134
Country
United States
Yea, I was awake until nearly 6am because I discovered the VR mods. Holy cow.

I'm using Vortex to manage things, but the .swf info here already helped with that, because vortex didn't even create or copy the interface folder (for SkyUI). Seems like voices for the mods aren't working though (or perhaps it's because I've just been working my mojo on random girls... like the first shop in the first town... totally smashed the shop dude's sister while he watched. lol...

But back on topic, none of the mods worked on Switch until I added them to Skyrim.ini. They are working right now, so I don't think I'll mess with them anymore. TBH I'm disappointed that using any mods at all turns off achievements, so I went ahead and installed cheatroom as well. Wasn't going to, but I guess there's no point in NOT using it.

if you want let me know a list of mods you want and I can see if i can set them up for you
You should be using the plugin bypass otherwise you have to pack mods in order to get more then 4 working in the skyrim.ini

also be careful when you uninstall a mod make sure you remove any god mode cheat items before disabling a mod so it doesn’t corrupt your game save( I've never had it happen but better safe then sorry )

also if a mod isn’t working you might have to move it up or down on the list some mods need a certain order on the list normally it should say on Nexus
 
Last edited by Terrorize420,

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
692
Trophies
1
Age
30
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,539
Country
Argentina
Yea, I was awake until nearly 6am because I discovered the VR mods. Holy cow.

I'm using Vortex to manage things, but the .swf info here already helped with that, because vortex didn't even create or copy the interface folder (for SkyUI). Seems like voices for the mods aren't working though (or perhaps it's because I've just been working my mojo on random girls... like the first shop in the first town... totally smashed the shop dude's sister while he watched. lol...

But back on topic, none of the mods worked on Switch until I added them to Skyrim.ini. They are working right now, so I don't think I'll mess with them anymore. TBH I'm disappointed that using any mods at all turns off achievements, so I went ahead and installed cheatroom as well. Wasn't going to, but I guess there's no point in NOT using it.
I'll say it again. Don't use the Plugins file. The Switch is not a computer, so even if there is a way to (kinda) bypass the 10 EPS/ESM files limit, you shouldn't do it. Specially if you are new to this and don't have much idea of what you are doing.
Keep it nice and simple, that's the best way to go.

if you want let me know a list of mods you want and I can see if i can set them up for you
You should be using the plugin bypass otherwise you have to pack mods in order to get more then 4 working in the skyrim.ini

also be careful when you uninstall a mod make sure you remove any god mode cheat items before disabling a mod so it doesn’t corrupt your game save( I've never had it happen but better safe then sorry )

also if a mod isn’t working you might have to move it up or down on the list some mods need a certain order on the list normally it should say on Nexus
Mods are independent from each other, unless you are using two mods where one must be present necessarily in order to the other one to work. Deleting a mod should not affect others. If it does, it's mostly cause you really messed up something at some point.

Also, some mods will simply not work properly, or at all. Not evey mod is compatible with Switch, and even those that are may not work at a 100%, or cause glitches.

As a general advice, don't use Vortex or any mod administrator, specially those who are making their first steps into modding the Switch. And for the love of god, make a back-up of your save data.
Do everything manually, and try several things. You will block the game, you will make the console freeze, you may even corrupt you save file. But you will learn what works and why pretty quickly by doing that.
 

Terrorize420

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
1,134
Country
United States
I'll say it again. Don't use the Plugins file. The Switch is not a computer, so even if there is a way to (kinda) bypass the 10 EPS/ESM files limit, you shouldn't do it. Specially if you are new to this and don't have much idea of what you are doing.
Keep it nice and simple, that's the best way to go.


Mods are independent from each other, unless you are using two mods where one must be present necessarily in order to the other one to work. Deleting a mod should not affect others. If it does, it's mostly cause you really messed up something at some point.

Also, some mods will simply not work properly, or at all. Not evey mod is compatible with Switch, and even those that are may not work at a 100%, or cause glitches.

As a general advice, don't use Vortex or any mod administrator, specially those who are making their first steps into modding the Switch. And for the love of god, make a back-up of your save data.
Do everything manually, and try several things. You will block the game, you will make the console freeze, you may even corrupt you save file. But you will learn what works and why pretty quickly by doing that.

the plugins file is safer then using the normal skyrim.ini for me i have 20 mods with another 20 packed into 1 and they all work fine no game lag no glitches and i never said deleting a esp will do anything to other esp’s i said if you dont remove certain cheat items before removing the esp it might corrupt your game save as it needs the missing parts to function and thats only a couple of mods that will do that

and skyrim nx toolkit has its own load order batch file that orders your mods and even adds them to the proper files i plan on adding a tut on using it at some point
 

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
692
Trophies
1
Age
30
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,539
Country
Argentina
the plugins file is safer then using the normal skyrim.ini for me i have 20 mods with another 20 packed into 1 and they all work fine no game lag no glitches and i never said deleting a esp will do anything to other esp’s i said if you dont remove certain cheat items before removing the esp it might corrupt your game save as it needs the missing parts to function and thats only a couple of mods that will do that

and skyrim nx toolkit has its own load order batch file that orders your mods and even adds them to the proper files i plan on adding a tut on using it at some point
No, the plugins file is not safer, sadly. Keep in mind that the "it works fine for me" argument is never a valid one when it comes to this kind of stuff.
For example, when removing a mod, in-game items associated to that mod will mostly just disappear on the next reload. But yes, as you say, that may (and mostly will) cause a problem. Does that means you must delete the mods without deleting the items then? No, of course not. In the same way, just because you haven't experienced any issue doesn't mean you must recommend the use of the Plugins file. Same goes for the load order option (that's actually safer than the plain Plugins file).
It's a posibility, yes. But one that people should avoid as much as possible, and not use it if there's no real need. ESP/ESM can be merged (sometimes), and there are a ton of mods that are just BSA files that can also be merged.
 

Terrorize420

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
1,134
Country
United States
No, the plugins file is not safer, sadly. Keep in mind that the "it works fine for me" argument is never a valid one when it comes to this kind of stuff.
For example, when removing a mod, in-game items associated to that mod will mostly just disappear on the next reload. But yes, as you say, that may (and mostly will) cause a problem. Does that means you must delete the mods without deleting the items then? No, of course not. In the same way, just because you haven't experienced any issue doesn't mean you must recommend the use of the Plugins file. Same goes for the load order option (that's actually safer than the plain Plugins file).
It's a posibility, yes. But one that people should avoid as much as possible, and not use it if there's no real need. ESP/ESM can be merged (sometimes), and there are a ton of mods that are just BSA files that can also be merged.

What makes you say its not safe it goes with the patch that was coded for the switch version of the game

I haven’t heard of anyone having problems with it except with new skyrim modders not getting it working initially

with skyrim theres so much info on modding you cant put everything in one tut because It would take hours to read
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
Well, I realize why the plugins file doesn't work for me. It's because I'm using sxos. Not by choice, either. On Atmosphere, Skyrim won't even load. It just crashes (since I started trying these mods). I do own the cart , and must have it in to play, so I kind of doubt the crash is because of crypto crap from SX/tinfoil installations. I have duplicated my Data folder between sx and AMS, so the setup is the same. As far as I can tell, the mods I really care about playing with are working fine under SX, but AMS wont even let me play the game using both latest hekate and latest ams/fusee-primary. I did add the AMS patch (the only difference between the two setups).
 
Last edited by urherenow,

Terrorize420

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
1,134
Country
United States
Well, I realize why the plugins file doesn't work for me. It's because I'm using sxos. Not by choice, either. On Atmosphere, Skyrim won't even load. It just crashes (since I started trying these mods). I do own the cart , and must have it in to play, so I kind of doubt the crash is because of crypto crap from SX/tinfoil installations. I have duplicated my Data folder between sx and AMS, so the setup is the same. As far as I can tell, the mods I really care about playing with are working fine under SX, but AMS wont even let me play the game using both latest hekate and latest ams/fusee-primary. I did add the AMS patch (the only difference between the two setups).

im on sxos mariko switch so it does work on sx

also the plugins file goes with the bypass patch did you also install that in the right folder

if you want try the two pre made LevelersTower and let me know if that works they have the bypass patch already installed
 
Last edited by Terrorize420,

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
Just got around to looking at the OP again. I had no idea that sxos can use exefs_patches. I overlooked that step entirely (but all was working since I didn't use too many mods, and added them to the top of skyrim.ini).

Anyways, thanks for setting me straight. Need sleep, and might play around with it tomorrow after work. Not for long though. MY switch is a deployment thing, and while I'm home, I've discovered that Skyrim with mods is totally badass on the rift! Time to get a new video card as the Vega64 isn't quite cutting the mustard. Just wish the bots would stop buying up all of the 6800xt and 6900xt boards...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Terrorize420

Jay_jw

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
21
Country
United States
hey so im trying to use the toolkit. i downloaded ffmpeg. where in the toolkit directory is ffmpeg supposed to go? i just get errors saying ffmpeg was not found. Thanks NEVERMIND!
 
Last edited by Jay_jw,

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
I’m thinking that Tesla, or at least one of the overlays I had installed, is what was causing the mods to not work in AMS for me (game would crash before reaching the title screen). I removed the contents folder, then extracted it from the ams release, and added only the mods, and the latest cheat files. Everything works now, on ams and SX. This is great!
 

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
692
Trophies
1
Age
30
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,539
Country
Argentina
I’m thinking that Tesla, or at least one of the overlays I had installed, is what was causing the mods to not work in AMS for me (game would crash before reaching the title screen). I removed the contents folder, then extracted it from the ams release, and added only the mods, and the latest cheat files. Everything works now, on ams and SX. This is great!
The contents folder have a folder for each title that uses external elements. Sysmodules, games, homebrew, patches. Everything is stored there.
If you straight deleted it, expect problems soon and errors everywhere.

Also, Tesla is not stored there, so it wasn't the problem.
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
The contents folder have a folder for each title that uses external elements. Sysmodules, games, homebrew, patches. Everything is stored there.
If you straight deleted it, expect problems soon and errors everywhere.

Also, Tesla is not stored there, so it wasn't the problem.
nx-ovlloader IS stored there. That is what Tesla is. Without it (and the boot2.flag that tells ams to load it on startup), you aren't loading any overlays. Games do not go into /contents. patches, cheats, and anything that requires layered fs goes there.
 
Last edited by urherenow,

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
692
Trophies
1
Age
30
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,539
Country
Argentina
nx-ovlloader IS stored there. That is what Tesla is. Without it (and the boot2.flag that tells ams to load it on startup), you aren't loading any overlays. Games do not go into /contents. patches, cheats, and anything that requires layered fs goes there.
Please, read carefully my posts before replying, specially if you are gonna act like an asshole when we are just trying to help people here.
You can go ahead and read it again. Do it slowly if you need time, so you can understand it better.
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
4,159
Trophies
1
Age
46
Location
Japan
XP
2,731
Country
United States
“Also, Tesla is not stored there, so it wasn't the problem.“

yup. Read it again. You’re still wrong, so you’re not helping anybody.

And I might add that when assisting others, making sure contents is clean should be one of the first steps. Removing patches doesn’t cause problems. The patches themselves cause the problems. Themes prevent booting even.
 
Last edited by urherenow,

Omnispore

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
46
Country
Canada
been trying to convert amazing follower tweaks with NX toolkit and cant seem to get it working, I've tryed to solely convert the mod and also converting and packing the mod but i cant seem to make it work yet, any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
692
Trophies
1
Age
30
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,539
Country
Argentina
What makes you say its not safe it goes with the patch that was coded for the switch version of the game

I haven’t heard of anyone having problems with it except with new skyrim modders not getting it working initially

with skyrim theres so much info on modding you cant put everything in one tut because It would take hours to read
The fact that is designed to be used on Switch doesn't mean it will work good. Keep in mind, the Switch is not a computer, you run on much limited hardware. And even when this version of the game is compatible with mods, it wasn't ported with that idea in mind.
So, by forcing more stuff than needed on a version of the game that shouldn't be modded in the first place and that is running on a much more limited hardware, you don't need to be a genius to see why the plugins file, even when it exists and works, shouldn't be used.
You can go out and check Nexus, Reddit, any other community that's not GBA. People has been having problems because of this for a long time now. And as I said, "it works for me" and "I don't know anybody with problems" doesn't apply in this kind of situation.
For example, I had a computer with Window ME back in the day, and it worked great for me, and the other two people I knew that were using it didn't have any issues either. Does that means it was a marvelous, spectacular OS? It was designed to works on cumputers like mine, and it worked great. People shouldn't be saying it was a bad OS then.

If you wanna go ahead and use the Plugins file, do it. Wanna load +100 mods? Feel free to. That doesn't mean you shouldn't, and sooner or later, by overloading everything, you are gonna run into problems.

been trying to convert amazing follower tweaks with NX toolkit and cant seem to get it working, I've tryed to solely convert the mod and also converting and packing the mod but i cant seem to make it work yet, any help would be greatly appreciated.
Assuming you are talking about Amazing Follower Tweaks SE, try loading this version and let us know how you are loading it.
Since it uses advace scripting, don't expect it to work properly or even at all (depending on how was it coded).
 

Terrorize420

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
94
Trophies
0
XP
1,134
Country
United States
The fact that is designed to be used on Switch doesn't mean it will work good. Keep in mind, the Switch is not a computer, you run on much limited hardware. And even when this version of the game is compatible with mods, it wasn't ported with that idea in mind.
So, by forcing more stuff than needed on a version of the game that shouldn't be modded in the first place and that is running on a much more limited hardware, you don't need to be a genius to see why the plugins file, even when it exists and works, shouldn't be used.
You can go out and check Nexus, Reddit, any other community that's not GBA. People has been having problems because of this for a long time now. And as I said, "it works for me" and "I don't know anybody with problems" doesn't apply in this kind of situation.
For example, I had a computer with Window ME back in the day, and it worked great for me, and the other two people I knew that were using it didn't have any issues either. Does that means it was a marvelous, spectacular OS? It was designed to works on cumputers like mine, and it worked great. People shouldn't be saying it was a bad OS then.

If you wanna go ahead and use the Plugins file, do it. Wanna load +100 mods? Feel free to. That doesn't mean you shouldn't, and sooner or later, by overloading everything, you are gonna run into problems.

This is a game if you and people should have fun modding it and learning how to mod it

if you don't wanna use the patch and plugins file don't this is a basic guide to help people get started after they figure out what to add where they can choose for themselves if they want the bypass patch or not

no shit its not a computer but its also not running a pc version of skyrim now is it
The thing is if It gets "overloaded" its not that hard to remove some esps and go back to Stock or where you where before the problems started
People should enjoy learning how to mod games and shouldn't be afraid of trying things just because they might have to undo what they tried

And if people want to go to original its as simple as delete SkyrimPluginPatch from exefs_patches and delete the 01000A10041EA000 Folder and your game is stock in two steps

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

been trying to convert amazing follower tweaks with NX toolkit and cant seem to get it working, I've tryed to solely convert the mod and also converting and packing the mod but i cant seem to make it work yet, any help would be greatly appreciated.

are you having issues with converting it or just getting it running in skyrim
it seems to convert fine and im using it in my skyrim so I know it works did you try moving it in the load order
 
Last edited by Terrorize420,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: We have layaway