Selfboot GCOS Multigame Version!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jaxxster, Mar 11, 2007.

Mar 11, 2007
  1. jaxxster
    OP

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Taken from Emu_Kidds post at maxconsole:

    http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=53005

    "Whatsnew:
    ** SELFBOOT Multigame Ver **
    - .exe now creates multiboot and selfboot iso all in one.
    - NOTE: These new discs won't work on the old MultiGame ver GCOS DVD.
    - NOTE: Games Created with previous tool WILL WORK.

    Whatsnew:
    ** Multigame Ver **
    - Fixed menu from going to nowhere if up was pressed
    - Added support for full DVD MultiGames [new GCOS Format ]
    - Added Best support possible for Multigame discs (Cobra ones)
    - Made GUI Neater in MultiGame select area

    Notes:

    Using the app:
    You must specify a region for the output file.
    Examples are:
    make-multiv2.exe output.gcm USA game1.gcm game2.gcm etc
    make-multiv2.exe output.gcm JAP game1.gcm game2.gcm etc
    make-multiv2.exe output.gcm PAL game1.gcm game2.gcm etc

    It will create a self-booting GCOS dvd

    After a bit of tinkering, GC MultiGames are now working fine on GCOS Use our own little application to create GCOS GC MultiGame DVD's up to 4GB (full DVD size to be exact). That's right, GCOS has it first! You may pre-shrink Isos first using GCM Utility 0.5 (one by one).

    Takes about 6min give or take to create a ~4.3Gb Iso image.

    Why is Cobra MultiGame DVD support only "partial"?
    Since Cobra MultiGame DVD's rely on games being on 32kb aligned, some are not playable as this changed now to 128kb. This means that most likely the first title burned on the disc won't work. However instead of removing all support for them, I have left in partial support. GCOS will scan your disc, find whatever it knows will work on Wii drives and only list that.

    Technical Notes:
    If you want to develop your own app to make these multigame dvd's, here's a rundown of the disc format we made:
    -=The GCOS MultiGame DVD Format=-:
    Header requires "RGCOSDVD" or "GGCOSDVD" with any padding up to 0x40. (or just rip our header, we don't care)
    Offset table is at 0x40, same as CobraMultigame.
    First possible location a game can be is at 0x20000.
    All games must be placed on offsets divisible by 0x20000 with no remainder. (Aligned)
    Max starting offset implemented is 0xFFFFFFFF.
    And to keep the n00bs happy, round up the whole size of the .iso to an even number / 2048.
    (Self boot gets tricky! if you want that, you'll have to look at the src)


    Credits:
    Big thanks goes to D00BieBoi for helping out with this release!

    bugs:
    Only one little bug found in beta testing is Zelda WindWaker and other zelda games have a freakishly large game name so in GCOS it will show it a bit messed up. A tip for those of you who want to make a zelda collection disc, just hex edit the iso if you are perfectionists. (i.e. edit 0x20 "The Legend of Zelda Wind waker for PAL" to "Zelda - Wind Waker")

    [​IMG]
    Picture taken from an emulator."
     


  2. gloop

    Newcomer gloop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Netherlands
    O, wow, this is so handy!

    But can someone put it on something like rapidshare? I don't have acces to MC.
     
  3. jaxxster
    OP

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. gloop

    Newcomer gloop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, you are great!
     
  5. LaGzoR

    Newcomer LaGzoR Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    France
    It is a good job !
    I have just to create my multigame and to lanch it with my Wii ? (wiinja)
    I haven't to burn a swap disc ?
    Thanks
     
  6. niklasnyfiken

    Member niklasnyfiken GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Yes, use it and you don't have to swap discs when booting multi-game discs. GCOS will start, then it will scan the DVD disc for the other games on the DVD and display a list.
     
  7. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    I have a Wiinja V1. Can I boot US and JAP games this way?
     
  8. ModderFokker

    Newcomer ModderFokker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Rotterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Could someone post a basic step-by-step tut...

    Like download app -> unpack -> put isos in same folder -> rename isos ?(max 3) -> start -> cmd -> etc..etc...etc

    (or is that pretty much it ?)
     
  9. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    This is probably a n00b ass question, but here goes: Will these discs work on a Gamecube?
     
  10. gloop

    Newcomer gloop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I would like a tut also, pretty noobish, but yeah.
    EDIT: Never mind, I get it. You must do the following:



    1: open notepad and write the following:
    For PAL Wii: make-multiv2.exe output.gcm PAL 1.gcm 2.gcm 3.gcm
    For USA Wii: make-multiv2.exe output.gcm USA 1.gcm 2.gcm 3.gcm
    For JAP Wii: make-multiv2.exe output.gcm JAP 1.gcm 2.gcm 3.gcm

    2: Now change the 1,2 and 3.gcm to the names of the images. you can add more images aswell.

    3: Save the file as 'make.bat', in the folder were 'make-multiv2' is aswell.

    4: Launch 'make-multiv2'.

    5. Done!
     
  11. RobertsD

    Member RobertsD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    They should, as long as you have some way to boot homebrew on your GC.
     
  12. laurenz

    Member laurenz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I got a question concerning this program.
    Let's say i have the following games:
    Game 1. This game is PAL.
    Game 2. This game is NTSC.

    I put both of them on a DVD and put them in my with WiiKey installed (pal) Wii. Do both of the games boot? Even though Game 2 is from another region?
     
  13. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Definately NO. The GameCube laser can't read that far out on a full size disc.
     
  14. blahblahblah122

    Newcomer blahblahblah122 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Can you shrink the games in this version? And can we use a shrinked version of the GCOS (shrinked using a different way like the ones at wiinewz). The readme said you could in the last version, but you couldn't. Also, does the first game work or will only the second and third work.
     
  15. sdoc96

    Member sdoc96 Creaky Old Stiff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I did that with the last version, so I can't see why not.
     
  16. arthurkok2

    Member arthurkok2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm..sorry to sound like a n00b, but what is GCOS and what does it do?
     
  17. ModderFokker

    Newcomer ModderFokker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Rotterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    GameCubeOperatingSystem....... [​IMG]

    It lets you use alternate software besides the standard gamecube stuff.

    You GC still has to be modded (or in this case your wii)
     
  18. arthurkok2

    Member arthurkok2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    Canada
    oh wow, but it runs in gamecube mode on a wii right? so ill need a gamecube controller?
     
  19. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Well if you were going to use it to load Gamecube games I think you would want a controller anyways...
     
  20. arthurkok2

    Member arthurkok2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Country:
    Canada
    haha, yes that might be wise... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page