Hacking Question SD needed formatting (probably corrupted), now the switch won't boot anymore

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
Good Evening,

in the middle of transfering a XCI file the process abruptly stopped and had to be cancelled because there was something wrong with :E/the SD card. So I removed it, plugged the switch back in and tried to boot it. TegraRcm had the prompt that the payload was injected successfully but the screen stayed black. So I removed it from the switch and put it back in the PC where I instantly got the prompt that it had to be formatted to be recognized.

Formatted it through windows, it showed up again and I used fat32format to format it to fat32. Placed the SXOS boot.dat and two licence files on it and put it back into the switch. However when I open TegraRcm now it says no RCM found and I'm lost on how to proceed.

How screwed am I and what are the next steps to hopefully get things working again?

Thanks in advance for any help!

E: I do have a backup of 7.x (because I don't think I made a higher one) with some folders like the Nintendo one and boot 0/1 and rawNAND on it if that helps.
E2: RCM gets recognized and it boots with backup SD so I guess I will have to copy everything on it and place it on the other SD card that I normally use.
 
Last edited by LysergCooltyp,

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
upload_2019-9-27_2-29-43.png


Placed all files on the SD card and was prompted to install the drivers which I did. Injected the payload but the screen stays black.

Injecting the heakte bin and making a new backup just to be save seems to work which is why I don't get why it blackscreens when I launch the SXOS payload. It's the most recent one and the files are on the SD card.

E: Atmosphere boots so this has to be SX related. :unsure:
E2: Swapped the files out three times and now it works again for whatever reason. So solved (back to crying in a corner because I have to redownload everything).
 
Last edited by LysergCooltyp,

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
Sounds like it's potentially a fake SD card. What brand is it, and where did you buy it?
SanDisk from Amazon.

Fake card or corrupt sector damage .

Card was working fine previously and seems to work again to an extend, however some of the homebrew starts and while claiming it did it's job doesn't do it which is odd because everything was working fine prior to the corruption/formatting.
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,984
Trophies
0
XP
2,521
Country
SanDisk from Amazon.



Card was working fine previously and seems to work again to an extend, however some of the homebrew starts and while claiming it did it's job doesn't do it which is odd because everything was working fine prior to the corruption/formatting.

Yes, some fake cards will work fine until you fill them up past what their real capacity is. As for Amazon, that doesn't matter since by default Amazon comingles their "sold and fulfilled by Amazon" and "sold by [someone else] and fulfilled by Amazon" inventory thus if even one of the "sold by ShadyCompany and fulfilled by Amazon" sellers is sending fakes to Amazon's warehouse they still get put in one big bin with the "sold by Amazon" ones. The only thing you can do is run h2testw or the Linux/Mac equivalent on every card as soon as you get it and yes that can take all day especially with the large SD card sizes nowadays.
 

KitsumiTheFox

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
85
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
Utah
XP
578
Country
United States
Sometimes, when the PC says no RCM, you need to unplug it from the PC, power off the switch by holding the power button, and then plug it back in. I've had the no RCM issue before and that helped me.
 

LysergCooltyp

I don't know why the microwave burns
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
613
Trophies
1
XP
1,498
Country
Yes, some fake cards will work fine until you fill them up past what their real capacity is. As for Amazon, that doesn't matter since by default Amazon comingles their "sold and fulfilled by Amazon" and "sold by [someone else] and fulfilled by Amazon" inventory thus if even one of the "sold by ShadyCompany and fulfilled by Amazon" sellers is sending fakes to Amazon's warehouse they still get put in one big bin with the "sold by Amazon" ones. The only thing you can do is run h2testw or the Linux/Mac equivalent on every card as soon as you get it and yes that can take all day especially with the large SD card sizes nowadays.

I will look into that, however I'm pretty sure I had it nearly filled prior to getting a HDD for the switch so I think it's a legit card and I was just unfortunate to have some corruption. I can't figure out why the homebrew is dodgey randomly now tho.

Sometimes, when the PC says no RCM, you need to unplug it from the PC, power off the switch by holding the power button, and then plug it back in. I've had the no RCM issue before and that helped me.

Yea, that's what I did and it worked afterwards.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Psi has a new girlfriend but I have known her for like 28 years
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Is she you?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Psi just become a sparkling vampire already
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The Catboy it's weird there was always something between us.... But neither of us was single at the same time.... But last night we found out we both are... And hmmm 🥰
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    She has all my weak points smart funny blonde and she lights up the room when she walks in and nothing else exists when she is there
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would eat the corn out of her.... Lol
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Psi! You're alive!
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ...and you have yet another new
    girlfried :rolleyes:
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    MAKE HER SIGH A PRENUP
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    PSI <3 🌽
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Veho I'm down to 3
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dumping one soon
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My Facebook has like 120 women now or something lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Each one hotter than the last...
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ordered a new SSD
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Your mom's an SSD lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your mom writes to me fast
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I haven't placed an order with Newegg since like 2016 lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Amazon Is better lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hard to find a fast 2tb SSD for 130
    +1
  • Peretti @ Peretti:
    lately I downloaded super mario galaxy for wii, but in the first phase, right in the first cutscene of the game, the game freezes in that part, with the image appearing but completely frozen. I already had this problem with pikmin 2 but in the end I couldn't fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem, and if so, did you find a solution?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Moms spaghetti
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtu.be/R-XUZE--qU8