SD mount failed. Already formatted to FAT32

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by monkeymkb, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    Ok so, I have a microSD card, 32GB, I've formatted it to FAT32, and put the Wii U file thing on it when I try to access the homebrew channel via the Illuminati thing, it said "SD mount failed" am I doing something wrong? I can send the video I got the info from, is it the fact I'm using a micro SD card?
     


  2. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    357
    Jul 21, 2016
    Did you verify the folder structure ?
    And try visiting loadiine.ovh instead.
     
  3. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    how do i verify the structure?
    I've used both the "nwplayer123" site and "loadiine.ovh"
     
  4. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    357
    Jul 21, 2016
    SDcard:/wiiu/Apps ?
     
  5. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,569
    1,763
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    Like others have said. Show us how you have your SD setup. With paths and whatnot
     
  6. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    that is the case, I checked it over repeatedly, it has the "ddd" and all the others inside the app folder
    I've even attempted to reformat it and re-place Wii U folder
    just to confirm, there is no problem wiht using a microSD card right?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    formatting thingy.png
    this ok?
     
  7. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,569
    1,763
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    Yes microSD is just fine.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hmmmm. Folder structure looks right. What did you use to format the SD?
     
  8. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    ive tries both the one that windows has, as well as a program called "Guiformat" again, ive tries this repeatedly. both times gave me the same error.

    edit: lemmie correct that, the program when opened is called "FAT32 format" ive tried both long, and quick formatting by the way.
     
    Last edited by monkeymkb, Sep 25, 2016
  9. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    Is there any other way i can help?
     
  10. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,516
    1,977
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    I get that error when dirt or dust gets in the sd card slot of the wii u. To fix simply blow in the slot.
     
  11. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    357
    Jul 21, 2016
    You should check if your wiiu is detecting your SD card at all , try access the Vwii side of the wii u , then check and see if your sd card is detected , try to transfer some saves to it maybe ? thing is , your problem s most likely a hardware issue, either your sd card port is faulty or it is your sdcard.
     
  12. jbuck1975

    jbuck1975 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    870
    183
    Dec 28, 2015
    United States
    Just like the good ol days of the NES. Lol
     
  13. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,516
    1,977
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    Ahh I remember those days all to well Nintendo should include a sensor on the new Nes clasic mini that you have to blow before games load for that nostalgic feeling lol.
     
  14. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    the SD card works in the computer port, and i dont have vwii. im just trying to mod smash bros tbh. but thats neither here nor there.
     
  15. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    357
    Jul 21, 2016
    What do you mean you don't have a vwii ? just access the virtual wii side on your wiiu ? unless you meant you don't have a wiimote ?
     
  16. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    oooh ok ok, that, when i looked up vwii i found homebrew stuff, my mistake, i do have it, and it says the SD card can't be read, oddly its no longer reading on the computer either, could i use my USB adaptor instead? i'll keep trying to get it to work on the computer
     
  17. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    357
    Jul 21, 2016
    If it doesn't work on the VWii then it wont work on the wiiu , its an sd card issue most likely , try a different one ?
    and no as of yet you can't use a USB adapter or a flash drive , just the SD card
     
  18. monkeymkb
    OP

    monkeymkb Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Sep 25, 2016
    United States
    i have a friend who lives nearby with a spare microSD card adaptor. i'll ask them if i could borrow it and see if its the actual microSD card, or the adaptor.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    ok, I've now tried four SD cards. (two of which were being used for something else and couldn't be used beyond testing) the two normal SD cards worked, while both micro SD cards and adaptors did not.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    [​IMG] this is the exact kind of SD card and adaptor i have.
     
  19. Ghassen-ga

    Ghassen-ga GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    558
    357
    Jul 21, 2016
    IDk man , at least now we know the issue. :)
     
  20. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,516
    1,977
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    I have the exact same sd card adaptor it it works fine for me so must be a fault with your adapters.