screen replacement

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by JinTrigger, Sep 14, 2009.

Sep 14, 2009

screen replacement by JinTrigger at 8:02 PM (1,014 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i got my psp 3000's screen replacement and i've just realized that i can't put it in because the large ribbon that goes in the psp...the black plastic clamp is missing. Of course i can't put the new screen in because the ribbon won't stay in place without the clamp....is there some way to get a new clamp or at least a quick fix to it or someplace else i can find a clamp of the same size. any help is appreciate

    EDIT-um whats the two ribbons for anywho..just wondering
     
  2. monzamess

    Newcomer monzamess Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Little ribbon for backlight, big ribbon for driving the LCD. Maybe you can used electrical tape to hold it in place?
     
  3. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    well is something wrong with my screen because the small one is in there but no backlight or do they both have to be in to work. Also even tho i have the big ribbon in there the screen won't show anything.........or does it have the held down at all times by the clamp to work
     
  4. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    can someone please help...I need to know how to fix the clamp issue or if my screen is defective cause as I said the black light ribbon is in but i dont even get that
     
  5. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will never successfully sort out the screen if the clamp had broken (that has pretty much destroyed the motherboard)

    You can try this (I saw it as a fix for the DS touchscreen version) take a plastic card and cut to the width, taper the edge so you can insert it slightly into the connector, as you push the card down it will clamp the cable (hopefully) then put foam on top of the card and the screen back on top. Should hold it in place.

    Never tried it myself but you have nothing to loose
     
  6. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
  7. Gash_Rover

    Newcomer Gash_Rover Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I can't tell but I've got the same problem...The card thingy didn't quite work for me (unless I did it wrong). but Jin's question was never answered and I'd like to know....does the backlight ribbon not work without the data ribbon and vice versa cause my backlight ribbon is in there perfectly and I don't even get that
     
  8. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    I did the card thing but I don't think I did it right. I mean I just need to know if I can use the connector for my 3000 so i can order it
     
  9. Gash_Rover

    Newcomer Gash_Rover Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
  10. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes that is the connector - however have you seen how small this thing is, I have replaced the DS touch screen connector (2 out of 4 times successfully) that has 4 pins, not the 24 of this. be prepared for failure - but you can end up removing tracks off the board
     
  11. themuddaload

    Member themuddaload Creepin' hardcore.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    West of the equator Sex: sure
    Country:
    United States
    if that is the right connector, which it may be, (i'd check but i dont have a psp 3k...) i still highly doubt you have the skills to solder a 24 pin connector with a .5mm pitch, hell i wouldnt want to try doing anything 1ith a 1mm pitch, and ive done a fair amount of soldering.


    oops dbl post, nice work there mods =)
     
  12. JinTrigger
    OP

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    well I just need the clamp.......
     

Share This Page