Running Metroid Prime New Play Control Through USB Loader In English?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wingzrow, May 23, 2009.

  1. wingzrow
    OP

    Member wingzrow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United States
    So is it possible to run this without and problems through the USBloader and in addition, can It be patched to english? If so. How would I go about doing both of these things?
     


  2. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, the WBFS system cuts all unnecessary data out of an ISO, which will include any patches. Just Search GBATemp for prior topics on the same subject, and you should find your answers. I've been playing it myself, so it does work.
     
  3. Sibe

    Newcomer Sibe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Australia
    search is your friend, anyway, the three metroid primes coming out on one disc should be sweet, probably buy it myself... hopefully the game has good artwork, and hopefully it comes out in PAL.
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    wait till august
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, but you did not understand at all how the mentioned patch works. The english patch, patches the main.dol and another .dol, the rest if not touched. But it can't be payed from the usb loaders, because it's an ios reloading game.
     
  6. kevenz

    Member kevenz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Canada
    don't bother with the japanese version, metroid prime trilogy is coming in august with all 3 prime games in one disc.
     
  7. WaRMarinE

    Member WaRMarinE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    So, Metroid Prime New Play Control actually DOES work?

    Because the wiki compatibility list says Not Working.
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    ^THIS
     
  9. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Lol the wiki isn't that good. I think the list in my sig is more precise.
     
  11. eric_4_life

    Member eric_4_life GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Canada
    I read that you can play it with a disc in the drive
     
  12. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    To clarify:

    Yes, the game can be patched to English. You can find the patch w/ instructions if you search for "metroid prime english ppf" on Google.

    NO, the game CANNOT be played on a loader. If you try it asks for a disc, you put the disc in and get as far as choosing "start game", which is when it sends you back to the Wii menu.
     
  13. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Of course the game can be played on a loader. SoftChip and Gamma work well for it. It's just that you can't play the game on an usb loader.
     
  14. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah, wait for august
    by the way they did get it to work with wiiscrubber, first they saved using the disc channel then swapped some files around in the iso THEN it works in usbloader. But that's pointless cuz u still have to burn the regular one..
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm not sure if you could create a savegame with the 1:1 copy started from usb loader. And then use the patched version to actually play. The files switched, are just the main.dol replaced by the .dol really used for the game. The main flaw of this is that you don't have the menu. It autoload the savegame on startup, and you are directly inside the game.(ok, maybe there are people who consider this an improvement as it's a faster way to the actual gameplay)
     
  16. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And it really makes no sense cuz u already have a burnt copy so might's well play from that [​IMG]
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you know what pain the loading times in metroid on softmods are? I don't think so.

    And as stated MAYBE it's possible to do everything required without burning.
     
  18. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    Patched to english this doesn't work with usbloader gx 1.0, it resets to the menu after selecting new game. [​IMG]
     
  19. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Could you please read 2-3 posts inside this topic?
     
  20. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    the trick with replacing the dols is only a temp fix for people that want to play this game on the Usb Loader So yea it does work but only for the people that really want to get it to work, And the metroid prime trilogy i guarantee it will have the IOS reload bug also.

    And the same fix for Mortal Kombat using this trick should be posted cause replacing the dols in MK the game plays perfectly menu and all

    but saying a fix rather temp or not is pointless, is just crazy i think
     

Share This Page