Running Burned Wii Discs on Dolphin

3e4t

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm new to Dolphin but have some experience with emulator's in the past. I was trying to do research but couldn't find anything regarding this. My Wii console has trouble playing some burned discs. I like having physical copies with a custom art print. (I know using an USB or SD card is the best course of action.) It's the novelty I'm after but if I could find a way to have the be playable at all, I think it would be nice. I just don't want to waist my time if there's technical reason for it not to be possible. If it's at least potentially possible then I hope someone can let me know.

Reactions: SylverReZ

SylverReZ

Dat one with the Rez
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
Website
m4x1mumrez87.neocities.org
XP
Country
United Kingdom
My Wii console has trouble playing some burned discs.
Your Wii must have either a modchip installed or a compatible Wii drive that supports running burned discs using NeoGamma, this can be checked by opening up the console or by looking up the serial number. I don't recommend using DVD RW discs for the sake of the wear and tear to the drive, use Verbatim or cyanine dye DVD-R media.

I like having physical copies with a custom art print. (I know using an USB or SD card is the best course of action.)
https://wii.hacks.guide/wii-loaders

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Backup discs are fully supported on Dolphin.
After all they are just standard DVDs which work without any trouble on PC drives.

Dolphin.png

Unfortunately consumer drives don't allow retrieving RAW data from DVDs (not even a semi-RAW mode, like the one supported for CDs). Original Wii discs are DVDs from the physical point of view (and theoretically readable by PC drives) but unfortunately their logical structure (sector structure) is different, which makes PC drives treat them as unreadable.

Last edited by KleinesSinchen,