Gaming Rhythm Heaven Megamix not booting?

Forumpy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
51
Country
United States
I've downloaded at least 4 different versions of RHMM from various sites, some cryptofixed. These are US CIAs and I'm running them on an EU console. These did not load past the '3DS' screen where the red squares pulsate. After downloading from the eshop via freeshop, the game made it past the 3DS screen, but it just freezes on a black screen, forcing a hard reboot.

I don't know why it's not booting. This is the only game I've ever tried that's done this. I'm fairly sure it's not region related, since I've played US/JPN games before. Anyone else having this issue with this game?
 

Forumpy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
51
Country
United States
you should switch to Luma, it would make this (and many other things) easier.

Luma has built-in region emulation so you don't need anything like NTR for that.

https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/Options-and-usage

As in it has native region-support? So booting a game through the emunand would automatically shift its region or is it a manual setting?
How arduous is the process of switching from rxTools to Luma?
Sorry for the questions, haven't touched 3DS CFW since I installed rxTools months ago.
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,996
Trophies
2
XP
7,191
Country
United States
As in it has native region-support? So booting a game through the emunand would automatically shift its region or is it a manual setting?
How arduous is the process of switching from rxTools to Luma?
Sorry for the questions, haven't touched 3DS CFW since I installed rxTools months ago.
no you'll need to set it up, but it's just enabling it + a text file to use region/language emulation for one game.

switching should be pretty easy. what's your sysnand version?
 

Forumpy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
51
Country
United States
no you'll need to set it up, but it's just enabling it + a text file to use region/language emulation for one game.

switching should be pretty easy. what's your sysnand version?
Fair enough, thanks.
It's on 9.2. Was quite trepidatious about messing with it since I'm unsure if I'll be able to downgrade if something goes wrong.
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,996
Trophies
2
XP
7,191
Country
United States
Fair enough, thanks.
It's on 9.2. Was quite trepidatious about messing with it since I'm unsure if I'll be able to downgrade if something goes wrong.
are you using menuhax? are you using something like ctrbootmanager/bootctr, or just homebrew launcher to run rxTools?
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,996
Trophies
2
XP
7,191
Country
United States

Forumpy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
51
Country
United States
https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases/download/v5.5/Luma3DSv5.5.7z

put "luma" and "Luma3DS.dat" at the root.

edit boot.cfg to replace "rxTools" with "Luma3DS" and "rxTools/sys/code.bin" with "Luma3DS.dat". offset is the same 0x12000.

for configuration, enable "Show current NAND in System Settings" then press start.
Is that all that's needed to change? Is the 'OTP' not needed or anything?
Regardless, thanks a lot for your help man. I'll report back with how it goes!
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,996
Trophies
2
XP
7,191
Country
United States
Is that all that's needed to change? Is the 'OTP' not needed or anything?
Regardless, thanks a lot for your help man. I'll report back with how it goes!
no, that's if you go with arm9loaderhax.

also forgot, enable "Enable region/language emulation" (or something like that) too.
 

Forumpy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2016
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
51
Country
United States
no, that's if you go with arm9loaderhax.

also forgot, enable "Enable region/language emulation" (or something like that) too.
Everything seems to work. Booted up the emuNand through Luma, although RHMM still isn't booting. Is there a txt file I'll need to edit like you mentioned before, or have I missed something?
 

ihaveahax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
5,996
Trophies
2
XP
7,191
Country
United States
Everything seems to work. Booted up the emuNand through Luma, although RHMM still isn't booting. Is there a txt file I'll need to edit like you mentioned before, or have I missed something?
create a folder in "luma" called locales. inside it create a text file called "000400000018a400.txt". put in "USA EN" without quotes. save it then go try the game.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Forumpy

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    He has some videos on narcessistic personality disorder
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's heart breaking that a person can go through an entire life and never know true peace or happiness
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Literally robbed of life
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Oh :shit: gotta get ready for my doctors appmnt. Gastro again. :sad: bye guys
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    See ya later
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Get better soon
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Remember to tell him to use lube this time
    +1
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    Hello!
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    What's so Funny, @M4x1mumReZ
    ?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Welcome new user
  • trepp0 @ trepp0:
    Just got the notice that school is being released 2 hours early cause of the winter storm
  • trepp0 @ trepp0:
    lets go
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Better than 3 hours late from a lockdown lol
    +1
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    While I know you mean in case of someone confusing schooling establishment from shooting establishment (many of the same letters) I am still going to read that as lockdown (also known as lock in) for a pub
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    where if you were in the club you could be invited to be there as a guest of the landlords after things are supposed to stop being served
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Have technically done that in a school but it was the sports centre associated with the school more than the school itself
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    being drunk in school was either because drunk on playing field or could not be arsed with one particular Thursday afternoon so went and had some beers and played some games instead before returning for an ill advised last lesson/period
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Being drunk and high in school was cool
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It was high school
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    my power cut out twice
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    my pi running octoprint wiped all my plugins and i cba to fix it
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    No pi for you lol
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: No pi for you lol