Homebrew RetroArch Switch

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
475
Country
United States
i just think you have high standards, i tried sonic 2 with PicoDrive and it was absolutely fine for me, 100% playable.

Edit: yeah, i see what you mean, in HOS its a bit smoother, but it makes 0 difference to me in terms of playability.
but we aren't just talking about you when its being suggested to others and I don't have "high standards" but I will go the route on switch that gives me the best performance
 
Last edited by deathblade200,

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
475
Country
United States
Well, i firstly suggested lakka to FanNintendo cause of better Saturn emulation and its a fact.
and I warned them of the downsides of using Lakka which is also a fact. as I said its not as noticeable in 3D games but you can't just pretend its not a thing. just because it doesn't bother you doesn't mean it wont bother others.
 

FanNintendo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
1,256
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
1,536
Country
United States
@bad361 and @deathblade200 Thank you for advice on lakka also the little help on it. I got it around well and I hoping that MAME 2015 will work with Cave and Stv arcade so guess it not working. Yabuase & N64 on hos is only 10 fsp lesser than lakka. the issue lakka with the bright is way high also yaba sanshiro core you got to change the control pad to make it compatible controller or not work. I think HOS Retroarch is my primary
 

bad361

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
1,021
Trophies
0
Location
Moscow
XP
1,600
Country
Russia
@bad361 and @deathblade200 Thank you for advice on lakka also the little help on it. I got it around well and I hoping that MAME 2015 will work with Cave and Stv arcade so guess it not working. Yabuase & N64 on hos is only 10 fsp lesser than lakka. the issue lakka with the bright is way high also yaba sanshiro core you got to change the control pad to make it compatible controller or not work. I think HOS Retroarch is my primary
You can lower the brightness in vid settings.
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
475
Country
United States
@bad361 and @deathblade200 Thank you for advice on lakka also the little help on it. I got it around well and I hoping that MAME 2015 will work with Cave and Stv arcade so guess it not working. Yabuase & N64 on hos is only 10 fsp lesser than lakka. the issue lakka with the bright is way high also yaba sanshiro core you got to change the control pad to make it compatible controller or not work. I think HOS Retroarch is my primary
n64 is actually faster on HOS its just GPU intensive so you need to overclock the gpu but both run pretty badly when you turn on framebuffer emulation.
 

Basketto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
550
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
563
Country
Australia
n64 is actually faster on HOS its just GPU intensive so you need to overclock the gpu but both run pretty badly when you turn on framebuffer emulation.

Even using hd texture packs with aa, n64 emulation in general is much more cpu intensensive than gpu.
Handheld gpu settings in most cases should be fine. Overclocking the cpu will get much better results than the gpu.
I got better permance in Lakka than HOS from most recent tests, & in both upping the GPU had very little if any impact at all on performance.
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
577
Trophies
0
XP
475
Country
United States
Even using hd texture packs with aa, n64 emulation in general is much more cpu intensensive than gpu.
Handheld gpu settings in most cases should be fine. Overclocking the cpu will get much better results than the gpu.
I got better permance in Lakka than HOS from most recent tests, & in both upping the GPU had very little if any impact at all on performance.
this is absolutely not true using status monitor will show you how false the claims are the CPU usage is mild compared to GPU
 
Last edited by deathblade200,

Basketto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
550
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
563
Country
Australia
this is absolutely not true using status monitor will show you how false the claims are the CPU usage is mild compared to GPU
this is absolutely not true using status monitor will show you how false the claims are the CPU usage is mild compared to GPU

Well my actual experience with 64 emulation on HOS the only game that sees minor fps improvement with the GPU is banjo tooie. Im talking +1 with minor increases.
The switch gpu base is already decent enough. You can run 64 games off a modded wii. Saying you need a really high end graphics processor for a 64 bit console doesnt add up. Find one single post on here saying you need to increase the gpu for better performance, i will find you 5 times the amount saying the cpu will get you better performance gains.
Here is a compatibilty list someone wrote for HOS mupen with OC, funnily enough it doesn’t include GPU overclocks(only CPU), because they do little to nothing in most scenarios.
https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp...en64plusretroarch_compatibility_list_for_the/
 
Last edited by Basketto,

Purple_Shyguy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,640
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Republic of Ireland
XP
2,734
Country
Not sure if this has been gone over before, but I think Retroarch horizon is defaulting to the wrong recorded refresh rate. Its something like 59.97hz, the NTSC standard, but the actual Switch horizon refresh (both handheld and TV) seems to be exactly 60 hz, or possibly 60.002 hz, which is Retroarch's estimated refresh. Its important to set the correct refresh rate in retroarch, because otherwise with sound sync on, you're going to get a small amount of visual lag and occasional microstutter. You can see it clearly looking at the save screen of Sonic 3 with some chaos emeralds, they are flashing white every other frame. If you wait for a minute or two with 59.97 set, you're going to see an occasional flash, as you get two frames in a row showing emeralds without the white frame inbetween. Set it to 60 and this goes away.

As a point of comparison, Vita Retroarch defaults to 59.94 hz, and that seems to be correct for its screen, it roughly matches the estimated refresh rate, and Sonic3's emeralds appear solid using it.

So which is best? Mines has always been 59.XXhz
 

feitlinger

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 13, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
3
Country
Italy
Hello guys,

I hope that you can help me with my problem.

I am running RA 1.9.9 on Atmosphere 0.20.1 and have problems with split joycons working properly. Actually it is running good but I cannot get the SR/SL/HOME/CAPTURE/+/- buttons working (while in split mode). It appears that these buttons are still in handheld mode. For now I only have the analog sticks and A/B/X/Y buttons working correctly in split mode. The missing START/SELECT button is very annoying in several games...
Any help to solve this problem is highly appreciated!

Best regards!
 

SleepyDomino

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
271
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,562
Country
United States
Dang. I haven't been doing as much Lakka stuff recently, but as someone who wants to play handheld AND docked, knowing of the vsync thing has turned me away from it.
 

FanNintendo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
1,256
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
1,536
Country
United States
I love Cotton 2 and Cotton Boomrang on Saturn because it look like Deathsmiles Style until I found Rainbow Cotton on Dreamcast 3d like Panzer Dragoon style as Rail shooter it was awesome game. I kept 2 old and new on switch i renamed old retroarch_189 and new retroarch_199 so i can switch old for saturn at good speed. Have a good day! :)
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,050
Trophies
1
Age
40
XP
2,450
Country
United States
Dang. I haven't been doing as much Lakka stuff recently, but as someone who wants to play handheld AND docked, knowing of the vsync thing has turned me away from it.

I just booted up Lakka having touched nothing and the default there is already 60hz, and if you let it idle the estimated refresh will approximate 60. However the emerald flashing in Sonic 3 handheld looks really horrible, not just an occasional flash every minute but unstable flashing every second. It seems to be much worse than Horizon ever was and there's probably more wrong here than just a refresh rate mismatch. If you're really worried about vsync you might want to stick with Horizon for now.

Note that as far as I can tell, the 60hz in Horizon applies to docked and handheld equally. Your TV has to adjust for the discrepency from the NTSC standard, and most of them today do. I mean I've hooked up an FPGA that forces original wierdass console timings and my Sonys seem to handle it perfectly.
 

FanNintendo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
1,256
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
1,536
Country
United States
Hydro Thunder now runs on hos retroarch the setting is Cable type = VGA (RGB), Force Window CE Mode = ON. Have glitches at start screen and gameplay smooth full speed.

On Lakka don't change setting, It runs smooth no glitches at start screen. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rahkeesh

Ace88

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
184
Country
Germany
Hey guys,

can anyone tell me if the 3DS/Citra is integrated into retrocharch and if so, how the performance is?
 

FanNintendo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
1,256
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
1,536
Country
United States
Hey people here if you are fan of Sebu Kaihatsu SHMP there is Reiden Series now playable on FBNeo all Raiden, Raiden DX, Raiden ll, Raiden Fighters, Raiden Fighters 2 and Raiden Fighters Jet also Viper Phase 1. Enjoy the good day! :)
 

RadMcFist

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2019
Messages
99
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
501
Country
United States
Hey people here if you are fan of Sebu Kaihatsu SHMP there is Reiden Series now playable on FBNeo all Raiden, Raiden DX, Raiden ll, Raiden Fighters, Raiden Fighters 2 and Raiden Fighters Jet also Viper Phase 1. Enjoy the good day! :)
Hell yeah! Viper Phase 1 is one of my favorite shmups ever and it hasn't been playable for the longest time. Thanks for posting here, it would have taken me a lot longer to find out otherwise!
 
  • Like
Reactions: FanNintendo
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: I'm at least hoping to survive to see one alien invasion