1. 18Phoenix

    18Phoenix GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't think it's SX fault or else other apps would have problems, too.
    But no, all other 100s of emus and homebrews don't.
    Reicast works, so definitely not SX. If choosing a way without good compatibility
    it just called bad programming or there's just no will to bypass the given problem.
     
  2. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    I was banned from his discord forever because I was asking for help on sxos and I didn't know any better at the time and it was over a year ago and I'm still banned. I think it's fine if the guy has some personal beef with the people who make sxos that's between him and them, but he takes it a step further and hates everyone who even uses sxos. I use atmosphere too. I've seen him say it on gbatemp he hates them as well. The whole thing is pretty ridiculous.

    He is the sole reason switch emulation is even good I give him full credit for that he's a great engineer. But I still think he's a dick.
     
    Last edited by Jayinem81, Jul 11, 2020
    18Phoenix likes this.
  3. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,046
    Country:
    Japan
    Then why is SXOS supposedly the only CFW that has issues with Retroarch, then?

    The no-SXOS rule comes down to anti-piracy, and you will find that almost every major website or Discord focusing on emulators will have similar anti-piracy rules.
     
  4. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,089
    Country:
    Mexico
    If you guys want flycast running on sxos then through your complains to TX.

    Protip: Even a standalone version of flycast won't work under sxos, so go with the babyrage somewhere else.
     
    mikifantastik98 likes this.
  5. Foodchain

    Foodchain Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm on Retroarch 1.8.9 on switch and it takes a solid two minutes to fully open/load. When I start Retroarch it kind of hangs on a black screen for a solid 2 minutes before working normally. The SD card is fine as all the other games/applications on the SD card don't have any issues with abnormally long loading times. I have about 10 roms on the card between 3 consoles/cores.

    Any idea what could cause this? The weird thing is, it worked just fine until very recently, and I didn't make any changes to my switch setup. About the only change was me recently installing another game to the SD card, but again, neither the new game, nor any of my other games have any increase in load times since.
     
  6. mikifantastik98
    This message by mikifantastik98 has been removed from public view by x65943, Jul 19, 2020, Reason: Off topic.
    Jul 11, 2020
  7. 18Phoenix
    This message by 18Phoenix has been removed from public view by x65943, Jul 19, 2020, Reason: Off topic.
    Jul 11, 2020
  8. Milenko

    Milenko Youtube.com/Milenko777
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,140
    Country:
    Australia
    Exfat?
     
  9. Foodchain

    Foodchain Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using FAT32. Interesting, rebooting the switch has made it load quickly again. My switch uptime at this point has been several months as I mostly leave it in the dock and just put it to sleep. I should also note that I was launching Retroarch in full ram mode (IE: not applet mode).

    Not sure why load times went nuts, but rebooting fixed it. On a PC I'd attribute this to some other program memory leaking after being up so long, but no other application on the switch exhibited symptoms of something hogging all the resources, unless memory allocation differs for installed NSPs vs. running homebrew NROs. No clue really.
     
  10. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    as a sxos user i see these posts and I just scratch my head. I use sxos to boot atmos all the time. Why is that a problem? If you know an app works well on a certain cfw then use that cfw??? Why must you have one? If I did that I wouldn't have linux and android abilities I have. Which ironically redream works amazingly on android. So the true irony here is that if you wanted great dreamcast emu you aren't even trying the right cfw nwayz. Broaden your thinking bejeezus. You saying all these negative things when all you gotta do is copy a few files to the sd then boot a different option from the sxos dongle?? that's just silly...
     
  11. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,046
    Country:
    Japan
    And honestly, it doesn't help when people say 'X emulator is crap because it doesn't work for me'. I have a full Dreamcast set and a very big SD card, I am actively testing as many Dreamcast, NAOMI and Atomiswave games as I can, and I can count the problematic games on my fingers. Most of those games will shortly be fixed thanks to this. But rather than try to figure out why they are having issues, what software and which CFW is required, what are the optimal settings etc., people just say 'X sucks' and give up. It's very frustrating.

    Now imagine people using a CFW that is known to not work properly complaining that things aren't working. They know full well that the problem is their CFW, but they still pretend that the software must be broken. Yet they still expect support.
     
    sorabora, ShadowOne333 and 18Phoenix like this.
  12. 18Phoenix

    18Phoenix GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, I was too negative, sorry, I apologize.
    But I know all options, that's not the point. As a huge collector I can game my original DC games on original hardware or using the PC etc. But the huge question is why this emu is the only one not working with SX. Sure, at the moment the CFW is the reason, but under guarantee that's nothing that couldn't be fixed inside the emu itself.
    Let's just forget that, anyway I prefer every single port instead of retroarch, but sadly a lot emus don't have such one.
    Doesn't matter, PC is the best for emus so or so, but I'm always interested in emu progress on consoles and so more disappointed if I see missing compatibility. Sure if I'm not interested in reaching as many as possible I wouldn't know a reason to go on at all, that's not the normal spirit behind doing it.
     
    Last edited by 18Phoenix, Jul 11, 2020
  13. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    this is how I would put pc being an avid player of retro/emulation. If you want the highest res and best like horsepower to throw at emulation then you go pc. But in actual PLAYING you will find funny things. So like playing say Philips cdi. I prefer my OG xbox to a pc. Yup you heard that right. My og xbox. You know the one with a duke controller? lol. Actually same with mugen but that's a long story. So sometimes you get these unique builds of emulators that well just work better. In this case Philips was gosh i forget like 640 by 480 or something so it's not like being able to run at 1080p actually makes this image better but turns out the controls are insane to configure on pc retroarch. I did it but even after that I had certain issues. The emu someone crafted for xbox turned out alot better. So NEVER dismiss the console ports. Lots of similar things going on in switch land and because of that I think the whole not just booting to atmosphere (this huge collection you speak of haha did it move or something if you do this???) to enjoy the better performance is just silly it's daft. Think like quad boot pc and less what you are thinking. So couple of points One NO PC is NOT ALWAYS better (usually is but there are sometimes odd cases that are important) for retro emulation. I would say go pc when you need power. While I have a pc in my entertainment setup there is also this gosh "feel" of playing emulation on something meant for gaming? It just never goes away. I have felt it every gen. Switch being unique because you can take the emulation with you.

    The whole thing about but why doesn't it work on sxos is very selfish. Apparently the history is a bit detailed but dev no like sxos team. Dev uses atmosphere. It work on atmosphere. You want him to fix sxos too? Pay him. He actually leaves you that option to make suggestions at some pay points. But if you are not paying the dev who has no reason to use YOUR cfw then you are cray cray with this level of whining. Mind you that remember it is just a boot option in my world. Like oh it don't work here go here. As for why it don't work when sxos like initializes it uh doesn't do great. Also the really weird thing some people don't report your issue. I personally haven't fussed with it (know what works so why bother). For along time people said sxos couldn't load modules that was wrong. I proved it was wrong and eventually tesla even started to work. Maybe it's something you are doing wrong? Who knows? But why force the square peg in the round hole mate? Given the circumstances. Yes in a perfect world you report issue you provide log things get fixed

    humans suck right?

    be part of the solution don't be part of the problem
     
    Last edited Jul 11, 2020
  14. Schnida

    Schnida GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Swaziland
    Does Excitebike 64 work well for anyone? I'm using the Mupen64Plus-Next 2.1 with Threaded Renderer enabled. Other than that I'm using the default settings.
     
  15. 18Phoenix

    18Phoenix GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    Germany
    I know exactly what you mean because I'm a console gamer and not a PC gamer, I prefer to sit comfortable in the living room in front of a giant TV and enjoy gaming. I don't care better performance on PC, but some great Arcade emulations would never run on consoles because of missing power. I've all consoles hardware since N64 including a lot original games, I'm a collector. I've loved the original XBOX with its HDD and many nice emus and homebrew, I remember. The DC was a great Arcade console I loved to play. Now my favorite is the X. And soon the XSX, a dream for everyone who doesn't only likes to play up-to-date-titles but wants the best for his collection.
    What should I say, I just irgnore the bad flycast attitude and have fun with many many other console games.
    NES+SNES is unbeatable anyway ^^
     
  16. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    yeah nes snes i have actually been playing the nintendo emulator with custom full usa rom set and it's great. So I actually am outside of retroarch now for those. Excitebike to my knowledge worked poorly before but new core new attitude maybe? Let me check it out...
     
  17. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,680
    Country:
    United States
    I've found that emunand has weird slowdowns but usually more with commercial software than homebrew. You also have whatever sysmodules running in the background to worry about.
     
  18. Schnida

    Schnida GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Swaziland
    Thank you. I'm a total noob when it comes to settings. They look extremely complicated to me and I'm always afraid I'm going to mess something up.
     
  19. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    sadly all good until you actually start a race and then well major dip unplayable to me sorry

    lol at goldeneye x
     
    Last edited Jul 13, 2020
    TheCasualties and Schnida like this.
  20. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    948
    Country:
    United States
    New update PPSSPP is now 1.10.2 for others windows and androids wonder if will get on switch the current is 1.9.3 soon

    Been testing Citra core lot of games are messed up because of c circle functions also there is arrow point moving around like mouse control has to restart every time if u don't then u crash pretty cool I have tested 15 games i know it is in alpha good job now back to testing flycast I just scrub and format with tergra.bin than use the guiformat or pc or easeportation
    Cheer and bump beer
     
    Last edited by FanNintendo, Jul 12, 2020
  21. Geridious4

    Geridious4 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks for testing it, cannot get it to run smoothly at all.
     
  22. Milenko

    Milenko Youtube.com/Milenko777
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,140
    Country:
    Australia
    Try different settings, enable/disable framebuffer emulation, overclock it...
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, Switch,