1. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    I was asked to make a video so I did. Don't like it piss off I don't really care. Why don't you crawl back under the rock you came from.

    What method of testing would you say is better than genius? Jesus christ.
     
    Last edited by Jayinem81, Jun 20, 2020
  2. naddel81

    naddel81 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,322
    Country:
    United States
    So standalone emulators do not have the stutter problem?
     
  3. mikifantastik98

    mikifantastik98 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    268
    Country:
    Italy
    this is a test that proves nothing!
    if there is stuttering or if there isn't.
    the rest are just empty words...
     
  4. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    There was no stuttering. There's no other physical way I can prove it to you if you won't believe a f'n video.

    You know what you're just being a dipshit for no reason and offering no helpful advice to this thread so ignore list you go.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Clearly that was Retroarch.
     
    naddel81 likes this.
  5. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Country:
    United Kingdom


    Here is my video showing stutter. Make sure to switch to 60fps (don't view it here, view in on YouTube, switch to 60fps)
     
    Last edited by kristianity77, Jun 20, 2020
  6. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    Where are you switching to 60fps? I don't see that option anywhere.

    If that's why then sorry don't use 60fps or wait til it's fixed. That's different than saying it always stutters than it stutters when you implement 60fps two different things 60fps is not a requirement to play.
     
  7. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Huh? I meant watch the YouTube video in 60fps to see the stutters.

    What do you mean implement 60fps? 16bit games are 60fps as standard, so surely, they should play correctly at what they were intended to no?
     
  8. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    Well I just showed it played fine on my end. It could be that particular game you're trying to play or a variety of other reasons. But stating all games stutter on switch is wrong.
     
  9. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well it's not wrong though lol they do and the guy who compiles retroarch has stated as such that it's because of an issue with the GL driver. So if the guy that's keeping the switch versions of retroarch updated says that there is an issue then it's quite likely he's correct no?
     
  10. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    I just showed a video where it didn't stutter because you asked me to. This is getting no where I'm kinda done with this conversation.
     
  11. kristianity77

    kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Errm, I didn't ask you to show a video you're getting me confused with someone else in the thread mate. What I was asking for when you said you had no issues was something perhaps a little bit more constructive like maybe a config file or something so other people that are having the issue can copy what you are doing to alleviate the problem.
     
    Last edited by kristianity77, Jun 20, 2020
  12. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,046
    Country:
    Japan
    I’m extremely picky when it comes to tearing and stuttering but I’ve never noticed these stutters. Try deleting all configs - I do sometimes get refresh rate mismatch issues on Retroarch PC and this solves it.
     
    sabin1981, Tyvar1, lordelan and 2 others like this.
  13. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,089
    Country:
    Mexico
    Same, they are definitely doing something wrong. Default settings should just work.
     
    sabin1981 and Jayinem81 like this.
  14. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    947
    Country:
    United States
    Let them have stuttering games. When people need help and I can I try to help them. But I got one ridiculing me for making a video, another ignoring the video and stating that they're right for a fact. They are not looking for help so there is no need to try to provide any. If they want to insist Switch emulation sucks and put their fingers in there ears it doesn't bother me at all. In the meantime I'll just enjoy the great emulation on Switch while they cry.
     
    Arcade2019 likes this.
  15. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,678
    Country:
    United States
    I could barely see what kris is talking about, it is fairly subtle, and easiest to catch on a slowly scrolling thing like the clouds.

    Jay's video is in 30 FPS so there's zero chance of seeing it there.
     
  16. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,068
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just checked, and the switch video driver has scaling, so idk what someone was talking about re: having to run it in a tiny window. Integer scaling on and off both work. I didn't test stretching to fit, but that would be gross, I stick to correct aspect ratio like a normal person.

    E: I tested GBA and SNES.
     
    Last edited by hippy dave, Jun 21, 2020
    Tyvar1, ShadowOne333 and lordelan like this.
  17. Arcade2019

    Arcade2019 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes to this!
     
    hippy dave likes this.
  18. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,115
    Country:
    Mexico
    Amen, brother.
    I gotta admit, I used full screen stretched for all the cores some time ago.
    But no longer.

    Although, Id like to ask, is it possible to set stretched res for certain cores only?
    I noticed PrBoom always uses 4:3, and that's the one and only core which I think really needs 16:9, instead of the usual "core provided"
     
  19. naxeras

    naxeras Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Country:

    Are you using multithreaded video?

    Disable it.
     
  20. Geridious4

    Geridious4 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Canada
    would someone be willing to test pokemon stadium 2 for me? no matter what I do I can't get it running smoothly, music and framerate cuts immediately after hitting the start menu, can't get it running smoothly at all, thanks so much
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, Switch,