1. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,735
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, all I heard the Dolphin core was out for RetroArch so I wanted to try and do some testing. That being said I accidentally deleted the RetroArch .NRO from my home menu. I grabbed to latest RetroArch from the HBStore and when I launch it from the homebrew menu (Via Applet mode I believe) Atmosphere crashes and throws an error (Pictured Below) I also tried downloading directly from Retroarches website and launching the same way to no avail. What are some troubleshooting tips I could try to get this working?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kidkat210

    kidkat210 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    Retroarch requires full ram, applet mode limits the ram (applet mode is opening album). To access full ram, hold R while launching a game. It boot up hbmenu like when you use applet mode, except in applet mode itll tell you in the top right corner
     
  3. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT The One and Only
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    Argentina
    RetroArch doesn't even work on applet. It's full ram or nothing.

    If you are trying to boot Dolphin, be ready to the worse performance you've ever seen on an emulator. It's not even worth on trying it, it just won't work.
    On Lakka, now that's a different topic. And yet, the performance is awful.
     
    Last edited by WiiEJECT, Dec 1, 2020
  4. Hologram

    Hologram GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    You can use the retroarch forwarder.nsp for full ram access too.
     
  5. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,735
    Country:
    United States
    its atuallly kinda funny Dolphin isnt even listed in the cores that are available for download
     
    Hologram likes this.
  6. Hologram

    Hologram GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2020
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it runs better in android.
     
  7. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,735
    Country:
    United States
    I know its gonna run better, just for experimental reasons

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Again Lotta work to set up
     
    Hologram likes this.
  8. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,735
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the triple post but i got a dolphin core DLL from somewhere and it won't even show up and now the theme of retroarch has changed... werid
     
  9. Dracari

    Dracari GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United States
    runs pretty good within Linux for the switch, but within HOS? yea it'll run like total arse if you manage to get it to load,
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, Switch, fails