Retail Brawl only game on wii that doesn't work.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Goten10100, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. Goten10100
    OP

    Newcomer Goten10100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Hello can someone please help me with this problem? my wii works fine with all game both backups and retail but my copy of Brawl is the only game that won't work.When i go to backup launcher it gives me dvd error 349 and when i go to the new gecko it says no dvd.Is they any way to fix this without having to clean the lens? Thanks.
     
  2. herculean1982

    Newcomer herculean1982 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    common problem. answered your own question give it a clean.
     
  3. Drag0nflamez

    Member Drag0nflamez GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is it the dual-layer version (more then 4.7 GB) or is it the single-layer version (around 4.7 gb)?
     
  4. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or send it to Ninty, who will clean it for you.

    Or softmod your wii and use a usb loader to load it, or burn it to a DVD5.
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I recall, some Wiis are shipped unable to read dual layer games (i.e. Brawl). This means that you either have to open it up to increase the lens sensitivity via screw (which will in turn shorten the lifespan of the lens) or send it to ninty to do it for you.

    Around the time Brawl came out, ninty also released an announcement saying that dirty lenses (most often if someone smokes a lot in the room the Wii is in) can also make it not work anymore. Sending the Wii to ninty will let them clean it for you for free (and/or increase the sensitivity as above). The last point is that the disk might also be dirty, in which the solution is obvious.

    All that assumes that this is a retail game (it might just be me, but you didn't make it too clear). If it's a backup.... solutions are many - check image, media, burning program, cIOS, and Backup Loader to make sure it's all good. I've yet to see a backup version of Brawl run subspace emissary without crashing at some point, but I know it works in general.
     

Share This Page