Hacking Restoring IOS36?

Amplify

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Okay, let me first give you a brief rundown of how I got to this before I get to my problem:

I'm a complete newbie to softmodding or anything like, been quite happy for 20 years of gaming to go without any modding at all and it was good. However just recently thanks to the infinite wisdom of Capcom, I'm having to install USBloader and run an NTSB copy of my PAL game if I ever want to play with my friends. (Region specific online servers, great idea Capcom!) So with the help of a friend I've been listening to the following two guides:

http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/
http://usbloadergx.koureio.net/help/readmii

I followed them reasonably well I feel, did bannerbomb, got the HBC, did the trucha bug for IOS36, did Waninkoko's cIOS installer, formatted a pendrive in WBFS with my .iso and set the base boot path to bISO223 in the USBloader, all looked good until trying to start a new game gave me a black screen and a low hum. Cue the following conversation:

RazorRamon: now you need to deinstall all the cios stuff you installed with dopmii
RazorRamon: and redo it cause you fucked up somewhere
RazorRamon: only the ios stuff tho
Amplify: couldn't it just be a faulty .iso or something?
RazorRamon: hahahaha yeah right
RazorRamon: i had this error too cause i installed the ios wrong
RazorRamon: i also used an older version of waninkoko cios the second time around
RazorRamon: rev14 or something
RazorRamon: dunno if that fixed it or if i just did things wrong the first time
RazorRamon: anyway here is short summary
RazorRamon: 1. install ios 36 that accepts unsigned code through trucha bug that exploits ios 15
RazorRamon: uh before you start
RazorRamon: i guess you need to deinstall cios 36 and 222 and 223 with dopmii
RazorRamon: 2. install waninkoko cios, if it asks what ios to use during installation and what slot to use, the answer is always 36