ROM Hack Repointing music in the .sdat file?

Masterlink

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hey guys, I've been doing some DS music hacking for fun and so far it hasn't been that hard, however, oftentimes I find that my .sseq files are bigger than the tracks I want to replace in the ROM, so I went to Google to see if someone has managed to repoint the music (so I can insert it in the huge empty areas of the ROM I'm working with instead of the original music slot), and apparently someone did, and he said that there is a table at the start of the .sdat file that points to each sequence on the ROM, which I assume is part of the FAT section, but that's as far as I got; I don't really know what to do there. I'm quite new to hacking DS games, and unfortunately my music knowledge isn't going to help me here, so that's why I made this thread. I was going to contact the person in question, but apparently he disappeared from the internet, so...

tl;dr: How do I repoint the music so I can insert songs that are bigger than the originals?

I hope someone can give me a hand here.

Edit: It's also worth noting that I've been reading some documentation about the .sdat files, but I don't think I fully understand everything, especially because in some they use a C/C++ code that I doubt I can use if I'm editing everything directly with a hex editor.

Last edited by Masterlink,

Kurausukun

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
It's probably gonna be hard if you don't have at least some basic knowledge of bits, bytes, and hex editing. The SDAT format is documented pretty well here: http://www.feshrine.net/hacking/doc/nds-sdat.php

If there's something specific you don't understand about how the documentation is presented, I can try to explain it, but keep in mind I'm also struggling with getting some stuff to work.

Also, could you tell me what you're using to replace the SSEQ files? Just out of curiosity.

Masterlink

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country