Misc ROM Hack Help with extracting sounds from The Sims 2 DS

Eggrens

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
I'm new in regards to this kind of stuff, but I'm trying to find a way to extract sounds from The Sims 2 DS. I did some looking around before asking here, I have Tinke and VGMTrans installed already and I've looked at the file directory for the .nds file, but I can't find any .SDAT or other sound files.

Curiously there's a SoundData.rom file that I think has what I'm looking for but I'm not sure how I can get anything from it. I tried putting it into VGMTrans and it detects music files, all of them are called "VGMSampColl" with PS1 format, but when I extract them to WAV they're all very short static sounds. I attached a screenshot of the file directory and VGMTrans. Any help with this would be great :)

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-03-26 201713.png
    Screenshot 2023-03-26 201713.png
    112.3 KB · Views: 85

LandonAndEmma

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Push the uncompress button on sounddata.rom in tinke.
Post automatically merged:

Also don't use vgmtrans to extract sound effects if the game does use sdat, use nitro studio 2 deluxe.

Eggrens

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Push the uncompress button on sounddata.rom in tinke.
Post automatically merged:

Also don't use vgmtrans to extract sound effects if the game does use sdat, use nitro studio 2 deluxe.
Pressing the unpack button on the file doesn't work, Tinke says: "The uncompression was unsuccessful. Are you sure it is a compressed file?". I checked the debug messages as well:

Could not decompress using the HUFF; Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Could not decompress C:\Users\owner1\Documents\! - 3DS stuff + ROMS\Tinke\Temp1\ladrjwa5.jtrSoundData.rom; no matching compression method found.
The uncompression was unsuccessful. Are you sure it is a compressed file?
at Tinke.Acciones.Unpack(Int32 id)

LandonAndEmma

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States