Hacking Removing homebrew, returning back to original firmware

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
Hello, I updated my Wii U with the homebrew channel successfully, and can use Nintendont and gamecube games no problem. I was never able to successfully get wii back ups to work though (they work one in ten, usually I get a screen that takes me back to the wii menu). As my kids don't really seem interested in the old game cube games, I think I may was well give up on modding the console and all the hassles or preserving the 5.3.2, getting game updates via spoofing and what not.

I noticed when my sons tried to play splatoon, the game freezes on the very first loading/title screen, and I suspect its because I stuffed something up. What I want to know is, how can I reverse everything back to a standard console. I want to be able to get splatoon to work, and I recently purchased Mario Maker which I understand is 5.4.0 (Its a birthday present, and I wanted to test it works before I wrap it up, but I wasn't sure what will happen if it uses firmware greater than 5.4.0). So what I am asking is, if I try and play Mario Maker, will it automatically update the console to 5.4.0 and reverse everything I did? Or if I get the console online, and it does an update all on its own maybe?

I know there is probably a thread already on here how to do it, but I cant find it. If anyone can help and post a link it would be greatly appreciated.
 

Logan Pockrus

Knawledge is key.
Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,338
Trophies
0
XP
1,062
Country
United States
Actually, all of the current Wii U-mode hacks are temporary; they disappear after resetting the console. As for Wii mode exploits, couldn't you just delete the homebrew channel (and others if you have any) like you would any other channel (from within the channel management, if that's a thing...but you get the point)? I'm not going to get into uninstalling cIOS's (if you even can), that's something you'll have to look into. Anyway, if you performed what I've "outlined" for you, you'd have yourself an essentially un-hacked system. And if you honestly don't care about hacks anymore, then update. That shouldn't even be a point of concern.

/ramble
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aussielad

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
Actually, all of the current Wii U-mode hacks are temporary; they disappear after resetting the console. As for Wii mode exploits, couldn't you just delete the homebrew channel (and others if you have any) like you would any other channel (from within the channel management, if that's a thing...but you get the point)? I'm not going to get into uninstalling cIOS's (if you even can), that's something you'll have to look into. Anyway, if you performed what I've "outlined" for you, you'd have yourself an essentially un-hacked system. And if you honestly don't care about hacks anymore, then update. That shouldn't even be a point of concern.

/ramble

Thanks for the reply. I think I did something wrong when installing the CIOS, which is why USB Loader rarely works for me (ive got it to work twice at of all the times I tried it, most of the time it poops its pants). All I have on there is homebrew channel and nintendont.

So just to clarify what you are saying for my own simpleton understanding :) , if I just delete the homebrew channel, and then get online with the WII U, it should update the system automatically and I am golden?

I suppose if it all goes pear shaped, I could send the machine back to Nintendo under warranty and see if they clean it for me. I suppose if they say your warranty is voided due to incompetence at installing naughty CIOS, at worst they would charge me for the repair and void my warranty.
 
Last edited by Aussielad,

Logan Pockrus

Knawledge is key.
Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,338
Trophies
0
XP
1,062
Country
United States
Thanks for the reply. I think I did something wrong when installing the CIOS, which is why USB Loader rarely works for me (ive got it to work twice at of all the times I tried it, most of the time it poops its pants). All I have on there is homebrew channel and nintendont.

So just to clarify what you are saying for my own simpleton understanding :) , if I just delete the homebrew channel, and then get online with the WII U, it should update the system automatically and I am golden?

I suppose if it all goes pear shaped, I could send the machine back to Nintendo under warranty and see if they clean it for me. I suppose if they say your warranty is voided due to incompetence at installing naughty CIOS, at worst they would charge me for the repair.
Whoa, whoa, whoa! Let's not go sending it to Nintendo, yet! :teach: Anyway, what I would recommend is to just update your system regularly (from the Wii U system settings), and see how everything goes. Trust me, nothing bad is going to happen! Wii U hacks won't cause problems (again, they're temporary), and vWii hacks are compatible with the latest firmware, so you should be fine. And as for the whole cIOS situation, I really can't speak on the matter, as I wasn't there during the installation, nor am I there now to check it out myself.
 

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
Whoa, whoa, whoa! Let's not go sending it to Nintendo, yet! :teach: Anyway, what I would recommend is to just update your system regularly (from the Wii U system settings), and see how everything goes. Trust me, nothing bad is going to happen! Wii U hacks won't cause problems (again, they're temporary), and vWii hacks are compatible with the latest firmware, so you should be fine. And as for the whole cIOS situation, I really can't speak on the matter, as I wasn't there during the installation, nor am I there now to check it out myself.

Haha, I am a worst case scenario thinker. Again, thanks for the help. I will do that tonight, and post back in the morning about what happened. If it all goes like a champ, maybe this thread will help someone else in the future. Much appreciated Logan Pockrus...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Logan Pockrus

Bug_Checker_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
950
Trophies
0
XP
664
Country
United States
Haha, I am a worst case scenario thinker. Again, thanks for the help. I will do that tonight, and post back in the morning about what happened. If it all goes like a champ, maybe this thread will help someone else in the future. Much appreciated Logan Pockrus...
Omg, stop what you are doing!!!

Do not delete HBC or ANY cIOS until you know FOR SURE that you have an updateable system.
Or you could be permanently frozen right where you are.

I would leave the vWii alone completely as is(if it were working properly).

To fix the vWii:
READ or re-read the stickies on vWii modding before you do anything.
Assuming you did everything correctly,originally, It may just be a hardware error with the hard disks.
It may be as simple as your external drives need to be powered externally.
Or are in the wrong USB port. Or you are not using the best cIOS for your setup.

I would always take pictures and/ or make down how things are connected to your Wii U and then connect the minimum necessary to get things working properly.

You should at a minimum (if you suspect a software issue) run SysCheck HDE 2.4 (currently as of this post date)
 
Last edited by Bug_Checker_,

Jack Daniels

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2016
Messages
534
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
South-Holland
XP
258
Country
Netherlands
just if you still can get there ... reinstall all iosses, ciosses, bc,mios etc... but please before you do report back the numbers you did... cause i think you'll gonna make it worse... only apply vwii iosses, vwii ciosses... keep your hands of all other system parts please or i'll need to bluedump the whole vwii again for the original files...
 
Last edited by Jack Daniels,

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
Omg, stop what you are doing!!!

Do not delete HBC or ANY cIOS until you know FOR SURE that you have an updateable system.
Or you could be permanently frozen right where you are.

I would leave the vWii alone completely as is(if it were working properly).

To fix the vWii:
READ or re-read the stickies on vWii modding before you do anything.
Assuming you did everything correctly,originally, It may just be a hardware error with the hard disks.
It may be as simple as your external drives need to be powered externally.
Or are in the wrong USB port. Or you are not using the best cIOS for your setup.

I would always take pictures and/ or make down how things are connected to your Wii U and then connect the minimum necessary to get things working properly.

You should at a minimum (if you suspect a software issue) run SysCheck HDE 2.4 (currently as of this post date)


Hi, haven't done anything as yet. Which is why I cam to the forum for help, just in case I do something stupid.

The external hard drive is powered by a USB Y splitter cable, and runs the gamecube games on it just fine. I will see where I can download this SysCheck HDE 2.4 you mentioned, unless its already on the system by default.

Genuine wii discs currently work fine, the only problem I have had is with the splatoon disc which freezes at the start up screen. As I mentioned, I just bought Mario Maker, and I am not sure whats gonna happen if I play the game and it updates the firmware.

But at this stage, all I want is to go back to stock. Jumping through the hoops to spoof and keep it at 5.3.2, and disabling the Nintendo servers when online to prevent updates is all way more trouble than I need. All I want to do is get the system as close back to stock as possible. The kids will be happier if they can play Mario kart online, later firmware games like Mario maker, and the new Zelda when it launches next century. They briefly played Luigi's mansion and Mario sunshine, but haven't asked to play them in ages.

If someone has a safe method just to revert back to stock, I will be very happy. It just seems easier at this stage

Again, thanks for everyones assistance.
 
Last edited by Aussielad,

Bug_Checker_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
950
Trophies
0
XP
664
Country
United States
Hi, haven't done anything as yet. Which is why I cam to the forum for help, just in case I do something stupid.

The external hard drive is powered by a USB Y splitter cable, and runs the gamecube games on it just fine. I will see where I can download this SysCheck HDE 2.4 you mentioned, unless its already on the system by default.

Genuine wii discs currently work fine, the only problem I have had is with the splatoon disc which freezes at the start up screen. As I mentioned, I just bought Mario Maker, and I am not sure whats gonna happen if I play the game and it updates the firmware.

But at this stage, all I want is to go back to stock. Jumping through the hoops to spoof and keep it at 5.3.2, and disabling the Nintendo servers when online to prevent updates is all way more trouble than I need. All I want to do is get the system as close back to stock as possible. The kids will be happier if they can play Mario kart online, later firmware games like Mario maker, and the new Zelda when it launches next century. They briefly played Luigi's mansion and Mario sunshine, but haven't asked to play them in ages.

If someone has a safe method just to revert back to stock, I will be very happy. It just seems easier at this stage

Again, thanks for everyones assistance.

Again it is not easier to revert to stock without potentially screwing up your system.
There are a lot of people who can no longer update their systems because they screwed up something on the vWii.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aussielad

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
Again it is not easier to revert to stock without potentially screwing up your system.
There are a lot of people who can no longer update their systems because they screwed up something on the vWii.

Ok, so when I run Syscheck, what should I be looking for to report back to you guys with?

I was never sure what exactly went wrong when I installed the CIOS in the first place, I followed a guide linked in the stickies verbatim, and it seemed to go ok. But when I tried to launch the wii back ups, it would give ablack screen then return back to the main menu. I would try this several times, and occasionally a game would load, which was weird
 

Bug_Checker_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
950
Trophies
0
XP
664
Country
United States
Ok, so when I run Syscheck, what should I be looking for to report back to you guys with?

I was never sure what exactly went wrong when I installed the CIOS in the first place, I followed a guide linked in the stickies verbatim, and it seemed to go ok. But when I tried to launch the wii back ups, it would give ablack screen then return back to the main menu. I would try this several times, and occasionally a game would load, which was weird

How long ago did you set it up? There are better stickies now but there are still some ify areas regarding cIOS.
The SysCheck will tells us the facts. You can post it here with the "tags" "["spoiler"]" Syscheck info goes here "["/spoiler"]" no quotes around brackets.
 

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
How long ago did you set it up? There are better stickies now but there are still some ify areas regarding cIOS.
The SysCheck will tells us the facts. You can post it here with the "tags" "["spoiler"]" Syscheck info goes here "["/spoiler"]" no quotes around brackets.

I installed the CIOS around December 2015. The sticky that I used at the time seems to have redundant links in it, last time I checked, so I cant show you the exact procedure I used. Haven't installed Syscheck yet, will do so tonight. I'll post the results as soon as I can. Really appreciate this.

Doesn't seem to be any instructions on how to run it though. I assume I just put the boot.dol and the meta on the root of the SD card?
 

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
I installed the CIOS around December 2015. The sticky that I used at the time seems to have redundant links in it, last time I checked, so I cant show you the exact procedure I used. Haven't installed Syscheck yet, will do so tonight. I'll post the results as soon as I can. Really appreciate this.

Doesn't seem to be any instructions on how to run it though. I assume I just put the boot.dol and the meta on the root of the SD card?

Hello again. I have run Syscheck and it completed successfully. Looking at my SD card, its put two files on the card. I'm not sure I understood your instructions around the quotes. Wasn't sure if I was to delete all the quotes :) My feeble attempt at complying is below.

1) IOSsyscheck text file.

IOS513 base hash:
55 b9 ca 5e, 37 fc ec fb, 28 46 bd 20, 98 63 70 f6, 8c 13 3a 35

IOS512 base hash:
2a 35 73 f2, f1 b6 a6 4b, ab d5 7c bd, 7f 75 a9 cd, 54 28 1b 52

IOS80 base hash:
17 6c 61 67, 32 21 32 87, 87 95 75 0a, 84 ad 4e 1b, 70 86 7b 3c

IOS62 base hash:
c6 30 ec c3, 24 5e 8c d1, e2 cd 25 a9, 2f 55 28 b4, 3a 9c 0f 01

IOS59 base hash:
20 f8 f6 64, 8a 1c 56 42, 3a 31 77 fa, a8 56 31 a4, 09 5b ae 0f

IOS58 base hash:
ed ce 29 22, 86 d5 40 cf, 1e b0 0f dc, 09 68 7a ae, ca ba 4f 60

IOS57 base hash:
9b cd 04 d5, 4d b1 65 be, f0 7a 09 35, 9a 5e ea 68, c5 6f e2 21

IOS56 base hash:
1a d5 62 38, 10 fd 14 4b, 94 fd 24 a9, 65 5b 16 65, a2 d1 cb 5b

IOS55 base hash:
7b 8e 33 ae, ad e9 79 ca, bf b2 bb d6, 20 ca 08 a7, ea c8 2e ff

IOS53 base hash:
89 bf 1a 35, 2b d8 e1 43, a6 e1 fd 47, 59 69 02 f3, ae 24 86 4d

IOS48 base hash:
c3 a1 ff bc, 6f 2b 26 49, 0a 76 73 30, 95 9f f1 df, ba 8d 01 b2

IOS46 base hash:
ca b6 c4 3f, 4d 4c df 49, 17 86 ee 08, 26 63 b1 6a, d9 3f 8e 0a

IOS45 base hash:
3a 60 8c 3e, c3 5a e2 b1, 70 f5 7b e4, 0c f6 4a 2b, d1 cf 98 6d

IOS43 base hash:
54 f5 9a 45, 91 f8 7a 50, 80 51 db 3f, 1e cf 51 7c, 85 9c 38 a2

IOS41 base hash:
5d 52 4f 58, 21 df 26 e7, 55 7b 6f e7, 60 25 68 d9, b1 79 8e 46

IOS38 base hash:
48 6e 21 de, 40 16 a4 d7, 9d 7e 2b b5, a3 b8 ac 91, 73 91 5a 00

IOS37 base hash:
66 81 b0 ce, d6 3a 69 71, 7f da 96 e4, ac d0 83 65, f7 6a 20 6f

IOS36 base hash:
fc c6 8c f6, 96 46 3d 48, 4b 62 a3 d6, 82 10 ba c0, 56 27 b6 dd

IOS35 base hash:
f6 01 9c d4, 4f 43 5e ca, 0a 7b c8 6e, ae a6 d7 27, 42 1d c7 1f

IOS34 base hash:
cf 9e c3 1e, 5f 1d c9 78, 02 22 63 ef, 73 1c 19 f3, ff 44 17 07

IOS33 base hash:
b2 b3 6a d9, 70 b9 6c 52, 11 50 a3 07, d7 0b 86 4e, 87 11 08 ee

IOS31 base hash:
3f 08 b3 bb, d4 0e ca 36, dd 7c a5 4f, 18 fa 4c b3, f3 af 6b 3d

IOS28 base hash:
18 44 bb a1, 70 1e ec fa, 59 f6 49 b2, 92 2f 17 8f, 8f 37 76 c2

IOS22 base hash:
b6 37 fd 6e, 63 89 d4 56, 3e ea 7f b8, 3a 00 e8 9e, bf 91 b5 c2

IOS21 base hash:
5f 74 e5 99, f6 ff 78 b3, 03 db 1d 9e, 41 de 0e 44, 70 0a 0b be

IOS17 base hash:
51 6a 92 f8, 42 5a 50 2e, 45 16 cd 0c, e1 a4 b1 88, ca 91 16 40

IOS15 base hash:
bf e8 7f c4, 55 6b 69 20, fb 1a b7 be, 99 20 a1 b9, 7d 3f 33 68

IOS14 base hash:
57 8a 2b 74, 4d e6 d6 b3, b7 d1 84 7c, f1 e9 6b 8c, 9a 43 99 29

IOS13 base hash:
b9 f0 5c cb, 5b 0f 6f 50, f1 f6 78 15, 54 50 5f 42, fe 73 46 ae

IOS12 base hash:
1b f4 f9 fc, 04 a7 c0 4d, 14 37 1e bf, a2 2f 89 06, cd 68 7b 37

IOS9 base hash:
5f eb d0 50, e5 1b 4c d7, f3 ac ce e4, b7 7a 66 74, 5a 94 4e 92


2)Syscheck.CSV file. Seems that I can open it with oppenoffice

SysCheck HDE v2.4.0 HacksDen Edition by JoostinOnline, Double_A, R2-D2199, and
...runs on vIOS58 (rev 6432).












Region: PAL






System Menu 4.3E (v610)













Drive date: 07.12.2012





Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58











Hollywood v0x21






Console ID: 618254561





Console Type: vWii





Shop Channel Country: Australia (65)



Boot2 v0






Found 58 titles.





Found 34 IOS on this console. 0 of them are









vIOS9 (rev 1290): No Patches



vIOS12 (rev 782): No Patches



vIOS13 (rev 1288): No Patches



vIOS14 (rev 1288): No Patches



vIOS15 (rev 1288): No Patches



vIOS17 (rev 1288): No Patches



vIOS21 (rev 1295): No Patches



vIOS22 (rev 1550): No Patches



vIOS28 (rev 2063): No Patches



vIOS31 (rev 3864): No Patches



vIOS33 (rev 3864): No Patches



vIOS34 (rev 3864): No Patches



vIOS35 (rev 3864): No Patches



vIOS36 (rev 3864): No Patches



vIOS37 (rev 5919): No Patches



vIOS38 (rev 4380): No Patches



vIOS41 (rev 3863): No Patches



vIOS43 (rev 3863): No Patches



vIOS45 (rev 3863): No Patches



vIOS46 (rev 3863): No Patches



vIOS48 (rev 4380): No Patches



vIOS53 (rev 5919): No Patches



vIOS55 (rev 5919): No Patches



vIOS56 (rev 5918): No Patches



vIOS57 (rev 6175): No Patches



vIOS58 (rev 6432): USB 2



vIOS59 (rev 9249): No Patches



vIOS62 (rev 6942): No Patches



vIOS80 (rev 7200): No Patches



vIOS249[56] (rev 21010, Info: d2x-v10beta53-alt-vWii): NAND Access, USB 2
vIOS250[57] (rev 21010, Info: d2x-v10beta53-alt-vWii): NAND Access, USB 2
vIOS251[58] (rev 21010, Info: d2x-v10beta53-alt-vWii): NAND Access, USB 2
vIOS512 (rev 7): No Patches



vIOS513 (rev 1): No Patches



Report generated on 07/10/2016.
 
Last edited by Aussielad,

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
12,719
Trophies
2
Age
33
XP
8,693
Country
Portugal
btw on wiiu if your hdd doesnt have its own power supply you need a Y cable im guessing thats why most wii games and friends freeze wiiu has an handicapted power supply from the usb ports.
 

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
Because I was never able to get the wii back ups running properly, I have never attempted to spoof to 5.5.0 (or whatever the latest version is). I wonder if I should attempt it anyway. If I could be certain that Mario Maker and the new Zelda will play without messing something up in some way, I would be ok with leaving it as is.

Just annoying with wiiflow and usbloader etc. The games would display, but I could never get it to update the covers, even though the application I used to download them displayed them on my PC. On one of the loaders its showed a little animation of the game, but the suckers just wouldn't launch 99% of the time. But no problems with Nintendon't titles

I sometimes wonder whether the Splatoon problem is an issue with the disc itself, but DVD/Game rental stores don't exist it seems anymore, and I don't really feel like ponying up the dough for a 2nd copy based on the off chance it may be a disc issue with my original.
 

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
12,719
Trophies
2
Age
33
XP
8,693
Country
Portugal
Because I was never able to get the wii back ups running properly, I have never attempted to spoof to 5.5.0 (or whatever the latest version is). I wonder if I should attempt it anyway. If I could be certain that Mario Maker and the new Zelda will play without messing something up in some way, I would be ok with leaving it as is.

Just annoying with wiiflow and usbloader etc. The games would display, but I could never get it to update the covers, even though the application I used to download them displayed them on my PC. On one of the loaders its showed a little animation of the game, but the suckers just wouldn't launch 99% of the time. But no problems with Nintendon't titles

I sometimes wonder whether the Splatoon problem is an issue with the disc itself, but DVD/Game rental stores don't exist it seems anymore, and I don't really feel like ponying up the dough for a 2nd copy based on the off chance it may be a disc issue with my original.
does your hdd have a single usb connaction and doesnt have its own power supply?
 

Logan Pockrus

Knawledge is key.
Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
1,338
Trophies
0
XP
1,062
Country
United States
I was thinking the problem with loading backups was most likely either the loader being finicky with flash drive support (mainly because this problem is generally solved with sheer luck), or maybe you've had your USB drive in the wrong port and never noticed it. Ultimately, I think you're safe to update.
 

Aussielad

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
118
Country
does your hdd have a single usb connaction and doesnt have its own power supply?
No power supply. Y usb splitter

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Again it is not easier to revert to stock without potentially screwing up your system.
There are a lot of people who can no longer update their systems because they screwed up something on the vWii.

So thanks for everyones help, but if I want to update the firmware to the latest, is it safe to do so given the above syscheck results?
 

Bug_Checker_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
950
Trophies
0
XP
664
Country
United States
So thanks for everyones help, but if I want to update the firmware to the latest, is it safe to do so given the above syscheck results?

Yes, your Syscheck report looks good. So try to update the Wii U.
Remember to remove any tubehax or router blocking additions you might have made,first.
But do NOT mess up or change anything vWii related by uninstalling HBC or cIOS s.
It is unnecessary to modify or unmodify vWii for updating.

Also, HBC is REALLY finicky about being reinstalled if it is not as close to virgin as possible. And unless you have your own exploit for the vWii ready to go, you do not want to be locked out.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: Sup