Homebrew [Release] Lua Player Plus 3DS (lpp-3ds) - LUA interpreter for 3DS

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,162
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,857
Country
Italy
I'm waiting for it then. Btw the texture is 1024x1024. Will it run at 60 fps with such textures?

For what i've experienced, textures are not correctly binded if they're not 64x64 (i know it's really bad but i've still not found a solution in citro3D, this is a reason why i called the Render module an experimental ones).
 

UltiNaruto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
182
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
193
Country
France
Well making classes on lua is a bit hard too. I struggled for few hours on it. Since I'm not familiar with Lua. Not my first time on lua but I never actually learnt it completely. My new project is based on your lpp-3ds. I only have title screen and player select screen working. I used the same way Minecraft acts with gui screens. Object oriented programmation FTW! :)
 

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,162
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,857
Country
Italy
There's a small bug in the testscript for windows faces number in reality is vertices number (you should also do lastnumber + 1 cause it starts from 0) so to get polies numbers you should do (lastfacenumber + 1) / 3.

Anyway, i'm recompiling the patched executables so updated version should be uploaded in few minutes.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Updated! https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/lpp-3ds/releases/tag/r5
 

UltiNaruto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
182
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
193
Country
France
Still freezing. Is it because of the mtl file? There's a command pointing to this file in the first few lines. Could you provide me a working obj file so I can see what's wrong between those 2?
 

ElyosOfTheAbyss

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2015
Messages
2,225
Trophies
1
XP
1,901
Country
Still freezing. Is it because of the mtl file? There's a command pointing to this file in the first few lines. Could you provide me a working obj file so I can see what's wrong between those 2?
Do MTL even work with this?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

https://twitter.com/Rinnegatamante/status/704062808103763970 This model had 70.000 faces :D

Anyway here's the testscript, you'll probably need cygwin1.dll file (you can take it here: https://github.com/Rinnegatamante/lpp-3ds/blob/master/JPGV/cygwin1.dll
Run it with cmd and rename your model as cube.obj.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oh, forgot to mention, the video is recording an O3DS (so 268 Mhz mode <.<)
Looks like obj.exe doesn't work on 32-bit :/
 

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,162
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,857
Country
Italy
Still freezing. Is it because of the mtl file? There's a command pointing to this file in the first few lines. Could you provide me a working obj file so I can see what's wrong between those 2?
Do MTL even work with this?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Looks like obj.exe doesn't work on 32-bit :/

As always, i have only 64 bit machines so i can't compile obj.exe for 32 bit machines.
I can send you the sourcecode so you can compile it by yourself.

As for the objects, they need to be:
1) Only triangle primitives.
2) The only parsed values are "v ","vn ","vt ","f ". (So if you have voices like "s off " it will produce a crash or a wrong parsing).

Here you are some working obj files.

Here you are also a simple way to convert your models to triangles primitives and make them compatible with lpp-3ds:

1) Start Blender v.2.7.
2) Remove the default cube and import your model.
3) On bottom screen where you see "Default Mode", click it and select Edit Mode
4) If your model is not selected, press A to select it.
5) Press CTRL+T
6) Export the model as Wavefront (.obj). (Uncheck during exporting the Write Materials box)
 

Attachments

  • sdmc.rar
    562 KB · Views: 86

UltiNaruto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
182
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
193
Country
France
After removing some unused part I only have 1966 faces and it finally works but the render is so ugly. xD

Gx5lS36.png


Looks like vertices are broken or not loaded in the right order. I used blender 2.49b.

Maybe it would be good to ignore unknown commands for now rather than having no support for those.

I edited a bit your Blend3r homebrew because white hurts my eyes on 3DS.

EDIT: Monkey model works but the two others don't.
 

Attachments

  • Blend3r.zip
    2.8 KB · Views: 85
Last edited by UltiNaruto,

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,162
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,857
Country
Italy
After removing some unused part I only have 1966 faces and it finally works but the render is so ugly. xD

Gx5lS36.png


Looks like vertices are broken or not loaded in the right order. I used blender 2.49b.

Maybe it would be good to ignore unknown commands for now rather than having no support for those.

I edited a bit your Blend3r homebrew because white hurts my eyes on 3DS.

EDIT: Monkey model works but the two others don't.

They correctly work, i tested personally them.
 

GalladeGuy

Cool and Epic
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
2,686
Trophies
1
XP
3,105
Country
United States
Quick question:

Is there a way to check the size of a file before downloading it from the internet? If not, could you maybe add a function to do it? Thanks.
 

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,162
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,857
Country
Italy
Quick question:

Is there a way to check the size of a file before downloading it from the internet? If not, could you maybe add a function to do it? Thanks.

httpc service doesn't allow such thing. You can write your own functions with socketing anyway by parsing the Content-Length voice in received payload from the server.
 

PabloMK7

Red Yoshi! ^ω^
Developer
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
2,604
Trophies
2
Age
24
Location
Yoshi's Island
XP
5,026
Country
Spain
I'm trying to use network.requeststring, but I cannot get it to work with pastebin, do you think it is a problem with pastebin or lpp3ds?

Code:
function checkupdate()
    if (Network.isWifiEnabled()) then
        local last_ver = ""
        -- pastebin: http://pastebin.com/TcqHEX45
        last_ver = Network.requestString("http://pastebin.com/raw/TcqHEX45")
        if (last_ver == "") then
            return "error getting string"
        else
            return last_ver
        end
    else
        return "wifi disabled"
    end
end
 

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,162
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,857
Country
Italy
I'm trying to use network.requeststring, but I cannot get it to work with pastebin, do you think it is a problem with pastebin or lpp3ds?

Code:
function checkupdate()
    if (Network.isWifiEnabled()) then
        local last_ver = ""
        -- pastebin: http://pastebin.com/TcqHEX45
        last_ver = Network.requestString("http://pastebin.com/raw/TcqHEX45")
        if (last_ver == "") then
            return "error getting string"
        else
            return last_ver
        end
    else
        return "wifi disabled"
    end
end

Looks correct to me. If you're on NH 2.x, are you using the network descriptor?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: https://www.keepretro.com/products/miyoo-a30