Hacking ReinX - black screen while booting up (goes away when pressing the power button - is that normal?)

moonblood666

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
484
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,693
Country
Gambia, The
So I'm actually using the newest version of KOSMOS, but wanted to try REINX. So I just copied the contents of the REINX folder into the corresponding REINX folder on my SD and put the newest REINX payload bin on my payload sender. I did not replace the sept folder since I have only recently installed the newest KOSMOS and that came with the newest sept (I think). Booting it up though I just see an anime girl illustration for a millisecond then it seems to get a black screen. But pressing the power button on the Switch makes it somehow suddenly boot up correctly. Is that normal?
 

linuxares

The inadequate, autocratic beast!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
13,415
Trophies
2
XP
18,395
Country
Sweden
Which firmware?

EDIT: ReiNX and Atmosphere can't share the same Sept folder. ReiNX Sept is different compared to Atmospheres Sept.
 

moonblood666

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
484
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,693
Country
Gambia, The
Which firmware?

EDIT: ReiNX and Atmosphere can't share the same Sept folder. ReiNX Sept is different compared to Atmospheres Sept.
Ah, I thought this were the same thing. So I can't just switch (no pun intenteded) between KOSMOS and ReinX, I'll allways have to replace the sept folder before loading up either? Is there a way to define that ReinX searches for a folder with the name "sept_2" or "sept_rei" for instance to make it more comfortable?

Also: ReinX seems to run after pressing the power button even though the wrong sept is there. Could that cause any issues?
 
Last edited by moonblood666,

linuxares

The inadequate, autocratic beast!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
13,415
Trophies
2
XP
18,395
Country
Sweden
Ah, I thought this were the same thing. So I can't just switch (no pun intenteded) between KOSMOS and ReinX, I'll allways have to replace the sept folder before loading up either? Is there a way to define that ReinX searches for a folder with the name "sept_2" or "sept_rei" for instance to make it more comfortable?

Also: ReinX seems to run after pressing the power button even though the wrong sept is there. Could that cause any issues?
Hmm they might have update since last then. And no? Probably not but check so you actually are running reinx and not the OFW.
Yes I have asked them to do this, but I don't know if @Reisyukaku wish to implement it. It's up to him if you go down to it.
 

linuxares

The inadequate, autocratic beast!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
13,415
Trophies
2
XP
18,395
Country
Sweden
Well, I'm definitely on the EmuMMC and I can see all the homebrew in the Album. Guess it boots up "some" CFW.
Well it might just be that Sept boots something. Check in system settings and see what the version tells you. It should say Atmosphere or reinx at the firmware numbers.
 

moonblood666

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2014
Messages
484
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,693
Country
Gambia, The
Well it might just be that Sept boots something. Check in system settings and see what the version tells you. It should say Atmosphere or reinx at the firmware numbers.

8.1|AMS 0.9.4|E

Edit: Weird... I just replaced the KOSMOS sept folder with the ReinX one and now it doesn't boot up at all. It crashes the Switch entirely.
Edit2: It works now, forgot the reinx.bin in the root. But it seems ReinX doesn't boot into my EmuMMC now.
 
Last edited by moonblood666,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    But still using the save on a emulator, then back to switch is shady
    +2
  • A @ ATEMVEGETA:
    Yea, that's the only thing I want to clarify actually. If someone has tried it with no problems.
    +1
  • A @ ATEMVEGETA:
    If using the save on the emulator flags the save file. :/
  • A @ ATEMVEGETA:
    Again, "using" I mean normal gameplay not modify it with other means like pokehex, etc
  • A @ ATEMVEGETA:
    @BigOnYa, Can you help me clarify this thing somehow? Do you know someone that may know or have tried it?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Just play it on the emulation at home and portable use the normal save, I wouldn't risk anything if online is important to you
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My psychiatrist tried to help me once said it was mine 9 months later
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Just ask in the forums if anybody has done it, I don't know of anybody who has, or would risk it.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Baby daddy issues lol
  • A @ ATEMVEGETA:
    this is what I did here. I hope I get some responces
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Daddy was a little cray cray
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Go cray cray on it like a coloring book
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Got so mad my Bluetooth made me break a tooth
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    that's why you should get titanium implants
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'm actually waiting on insurance to accept those ffs almost been waiting 2 weeks
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    steal them off off a corpse
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mmm live persons more fun psi you're like 50 you should have a few :tpi:
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    sold them all for meth\
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Meth implants the officer will never know sneaky flordians
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Meth pipe teeth, never loose your meth pipe again!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Butt implants are preferred teeth implants more reliable
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's just my meth pipe vibrating
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Meth gator teams up with Godzilla, Godzilla uses his nuclear fire breath to light a meth lab on fire where meth gator gets imbued with radioactive meth.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Meth gator teams up with Godzilla, Godzilla uses his nuclear fire breath to light a meth lab on...