Reinstalling Vista.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Prime, Jan 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jan 21, 2009

Reinstalling Vista. by Prime at 10:57 PM (1,365 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I'm going to reinstall vista because it is getting quite sluggish and I like fresh installs for some reason. So when I do boot from the DVD should I just install it or should I format the hard drive first?

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     


  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,616
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, if you don't have anything you want to keep on your hard drive, then formatting it would be a good thing to do.
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    when you reinstall it
    it will move all contents including documents from the old OS and such to a folder called Windows.Old on the C: root
     
  4. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Really?! [​IMG] What files does it move?

    I have the important stuff backed up so I could format. But it is a large hard drive It could take quite a while.
     
  5. geedub

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have backed up what you want to keep , then format it !

    sorry forgot to say if its a big hard drive , you may want to think about partitioning it at the same time !
     
  6. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    If you already backed up your stuff then a full reformat would be beneficial.

    If you're the type of person that reformats their computer every couple of months and have a big hard drive, I'd recommend imaging the partition once you've done a clean install that way if you do again in the future you don't have to worry about the amount of time it takes to reinstall + drivers, etc.
     
  7. Lorenc

    Newcomer Lorenc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Australia
    the first time i got it my little cuzin just pressed something after we saw vista on our comp

    lol [​IMG]
     
  8. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
  9. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think I'll format.

    Hah, Reported fool.
     
  10. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Why? You'll never need to reformat (NTFS filesystems are handled badly by Vista), you'll never need to worry about viruses (Linux viruses are mostly unheard of), much lighter (since Vista's recommended RAM is 4GB and Ubuntu works fine on 512MB), and it's completely free (as in speech and beer, nobody needs to be a pirate). And it has funny developers ( http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Linus_Torvalds )

    You're just ignorant IMO then... I'm only offering a option to help.
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Linux is only free if your time is worthless
     
  12. sgand

    Newcomer sgand Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    I'd do a format of the drive first, since you have your stuff backed up already. It would only do you some good.
     
  13. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Ok... obvious troll... but explain?

    How can it be useless? If I wanted to update everything I had in Ubuntu, I'd only type two commands instead of checking on each application's site individually.

    It's not command-line only or a GUI from 1984 (which is a great Van Halen album).

    TiVo uses Linux, Google uses Linux, YouTube uses Linux, Wikipedia uses Linux, Amazon uses Linux, all of the computers in your local grocery or whatever store are probably using Linux, all seem like great things to me. GBATemp is probably hosted on Linux.
     
  14. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    See? I knew this would happen. THIS is why I hate GBAtemp.

    Go away Troll. You are not helping by being a Troll. If you were helping then you'd be answer my question not fucking recommending another OS.

    Now go fucking troll somewhere else. I don't want to use that POS OS. I don't give a flying fucking monkeys about the developers and vista is free considering I have pirated it. You aren't welcomed in my topics! FYI vista's recommended ram isn't 4GB i believe it is 1GB or 2GB. At least get your facts right before trolling. Noob.


    EDIT: Someone might as well close this. GBAtemp is fucking useless with people like Arm The Homeless about.
     
  15. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Then don't go to GBATemp.

    I'm only trying to help. You wouldn't have to reformat.

    POS = ???
    And you're a pirate? You're admitting that? That's not very good to do... And Vista doesn't belong to you, even if you brought it. Just throwing that out there.

    Vista's optimal RAM is 4GB if you want everything to work. Microsoft even said it. 1GB is probably a minimal. I'll post this link: http://blogs.zdnet.com/hardware/?p=443

    Don't be pissed because I'm trying to help.
     
  16. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I'm tired of Linux preachers.

    First, I've had a Linux machine back when Ubuntu 6.06 was new.

    I for one do not want to spend time in a console configuring my system so it works with all my hardware or to install non-gnu packages (like you have to in Ubuntu). I have an nvidia graphics card, unsupported wireless, and non-free codec video files. ndiswrapper took forever to get working with it. And my system kept crashing for reasons I don't know and at this point don't care.

    Like you said, Linux is fine for specific application such as servers but I can't use it as a powerhouse desktop system when it has trouble running my favorite app or alternative. I have Linux on a netbook it's fine as it uses little power. I know my way around the console, but I'd rather keep to simple mouse clicks.

    I'd rather be doing actual work or playing games instead of typing commands when I want to install something not in a repository. QED.
     
  17. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't seem to understand. You are NOT helping me.

    Switching to another OS isn't going to help me. I've tried Ubuntu, Didn't like it. I'm sticking with vista. It runs quick on 2GB of ram. It does what I want it to do and does it good. There is no need to change.

    End of discussion
     
  18. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Dapper is kind of old. Linux has progressed a lot since then.

    NVIDIA drivers are in the repositories or under System->Administration->Hardware Drivers. Unsupported wireless is probably supported now. Non-free codec files are in the ubuntu-restricted-extras package or in the MediBuntu repository.

    EDIT: And for packages that aren't in the repos, there is always LaunchPad.net, community operated repositories which have just about every app known to man (even though there's more than I can keep track of in the normal ones [​IMG] )

    @Prime:
    Ok... don't get too angry. As I said, I was only making a suggestion.
     
  19. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    No... thats when I had a serious Linux system. I have a new PC, new wireless N card, etc which don't work with 8.10
     
  20. nin10do

    Member nin10do GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    Taiwan
    raaaaaaaaaaaaage linux/vista blah blah. who cares.

    OK seriously. my vista slowed down quite a bit recently too. re installation doesn't seem to make much of a diff on this OS. it's not worth the trouble. instead i recommend uninstalling any uneccessary progs. delete any useless data.... including music you don't listen to anymore etc. then run a host of progs:

    defragment the HD
    registry cleaner
    anti adware
    anti virus
    install all vista updates.
    reduce aero settings that you don't use.
    btw things like sidebar use a s#!t load of resources, if you have to use something like that find light alternatives e.g.:
    foobar inplace of windws media player
    rainmeter inplace of side bar.

    if you need any of the above mentioned software google and tpb are your friends.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page