Regarding the 3DS and flashcards

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Skyrider, Apr 15, 2011.

Apr 15, 2011
  1. Skyrider
    OP

    Member Skyrider GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So from my understanding as I've read on the forums. Quite a few flash cards already work for the 3DS but so far ROMS cannot be played due to the size/bandwidth? But I'd like a confirmation on something. You can still use those cards with older NDS/NDSI roms to play on the 3DS?
     
  2. tj445

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    Check this thread for more information.
    http://gbatemp.net/t281887-current-flashca...he-3ds-pictures

    I dunno for the others but my Acekard 2i works both for my 3DS and my DSL and runs all the roms/homebrew normally.

    Also if you want more information go to your local nintendo service station and show them your Flashcard and 3DS and ask for a compatibility list.
    They will gladly help you out with whatever problem you have using their trusty hammer
     
  3. Skyrider
    OP

    Member Skyrider GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yea, I already checked out that thread before creating this one. My understanding is that there's a difference in "working" flash cards on the Nintendo 3DS and the ability to actually play roms on the Nintendo 3DS. Thus my question, can you play NDS (lite/DSI) roms on a flash card compatible with the Nintendo 3DS on a nintendo 3ds?
     
  4. GentleFist

    GentleFist Newbie

    all flashcards claiming to "work" with the 3ds work in ds mode
    you can play all nds roms
    dsi features or 3ds roms (they dont even exist but even if they did) do not work

    PS: its also written all over the forums and is quite obvious....
     
  5. tj445

    Member tj445 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Japan
    If you mean DSi Enhanced/Only ones then that depends on the Flashcard's capability, those who say that they can play them then they can :/
    My Acekard for example can play DSi enhanced ones without the enhancement, as the DSi functions are not supported
    I have yet to see a problem involving a card that can be opened on the 3DS but fails to load games, Rest of the games should play fine, other problems I have faced are regarding the codes, some codes that required button combos like Sel+UP dont work anymore due to the changes in the button's memory itself or something like that.
     
  6. Skyrider
    OP

    Member Skyrider GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Gracias for your replied [​IMG], I just wanted confirmation. I myself have an old CycloDS card. I have read that the CycloDS IEVO can be used on the Nintendo 3DS, just wanted to make sure it can also play the ND/NDI roms on it.
     
  7. Skyrider
    OP

    Member Skyrider GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ~I'll create a new post.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The iEvolution's DSi mode does not currently work on the 3DS.
     

Share This Page