Hardware Recommend me some headphones?

Arras

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
Okay, so I've been using the standard Apple earbuds for about 5 years now (that's also how old they are) and people around me complain about the noise, they're falling apart and the sound quality is pretty shitty. So honestly almost anything that produces sound would be an improvement, but I'd like something that's a bit better.
I wasn't planning on spending any more than, say, 40$ but I might be talked into buying something more expensive if there's a good reason. I haven't really decided whether to get headphones or earbuds either. It would mostly be used for gaming and watching videos at home though, so headphones might be better.

Edit: I got a Sennheiser HD 201. Thanks for the help, I appreciate it.

tbgtbg

Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
As far as cheap goes, I like Sony's headphones in the $30 range, but I've never tried their earbuds if that's what you're set on. Also, durability is an issue, but they sound good and at $30 I don't mind replacing them every few years.

Reactions: Arras

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Sound quality wise $40 ain't going to get you anywhere, considering you need both headphone and external DAC to have good sound quality.

But $40 headphone budget wise you should look for an used SR850, Monoprice headphone, or Panasonic RP-HTF600. That's about the best you can get from that budget. And no, just because it is Sennheiser does not mean it is a good headphone, there are plenty Sennheiser that sounds bad.

Sound is something you have to spend more to get better quality out of it.

calmwaters

Cat's best friend
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
The ones that transmit sound into your ears when you put them on your head. (duh) No, I'll safely say Sony. Bose headphones are really nice too; they almost completely cut out background noise.

Kirito-kun