RE: Mercenaries Doesn't Support Save resetting

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by phillipsteak, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. phillipsteak
    OP

    Newcomer phillipsteak Newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States


  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Does anybody have any theories on why Capcom would do this? I am confuse.
     
  3. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    This sucks I preordered it like last week!!!! FU CAPCOM!
     
  4. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's stopping people from hitting "new game"? (I don't own the game don't even know if it's an option) but surely hitting that would let you start the game again and let autosave do it's thing?
     
  5. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
     
  6. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if one could use the SMS2 to rip save file then reinsert.
     
  7. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know/think its feasable to rip the save at new game then reinsert if you wanna start over?
     
  8. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,598
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure it is away around this no reset save. Even then once sells drop, they would most likely change it by spot pass.

    It should be possible. Game patch?
     
  9. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    Are you referring to the possible ripping method? Do you really think they would change it via spotpass, is that possible?
     
  10. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Don't flame me but

    Frankly speaking, I prefer it this way. [​IMG]

    I won't sell my games either.
     
  11. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    I wish it wasn't imposed on the buyer though.
     
  12. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,598
    Country:
    United States
    I was planning to buy it used to save money, with this I might not get it at all.

    This isn't just about selling games.
     
  13. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    So there is no way to play through the game after its beaten? It's becomes a piece of plastic?
     
  14. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you've ever played Mercenaries on RE5, you would just know that it means that all stages and characters will remain unlocked, along with all ranks and the like for completing each mission. Basically, somebody who bought it used would have nothing to shoot for.
     
  15. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,302
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    Great news, this will encourage 3DS hacking and eventual FLASHCART
     
  16. deathking

    Member deathking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    United States
    what a scam by capcom , what happens if you want to restart the game or if you make some bad choices and want to redo it or you lend a copy to someone
    i hope 3ds is hacked soon because this game deserves it
    otherwise i hope someone finds a method to kill the save - reboot when saving or something
     
  17. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    You guys do understand that Mercenaries isn't a resident evil game with a story right? Its more like the mini-games from RE5 on consoles/pc.
     
  18. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You'll also inherit whatever name the previous owner gave his character. So if you got a copy that I sold, for example, you would be named 'Snailface'.
    (Hey, it beats DickJuice or AssCrack) [​IMG]
     
  19. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,598
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but buying a game used with everything stuck on likely 90-100% unlock is pointless or the fact you can't force reply value by resetting the game is really mess up.


    Does SSF4 3d does this?
     
  20. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I understand, and i think its fucked up, but I have feeling people think this is going to be a story driven game.
     

Share This Page