Random BSOD errors

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by soulx, Jun 5, 2011.

Jun 5, 2011

Random BSOD errors by soulx at 3:25 PM (1,173 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    While using my computer, I randomly get BSOD's. I'm unsure as to what the problem is.

    Additional information about the problem:
    • BCCode: 124
    • BCP1: 00000000
    • BCP2: 85BA1024
    • BCP3: B2000010
    • BCP4: 00010C0F
    • OS Version: 6_1_7601
    • Service Pack: 1_0
    • Product: 256_1
    Computer Specs:
    • Windows 7 Ultimate - 32 bit
    • AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ - 2GHz
    • 2GB of RAM
    • NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
    I uploaded a minidump of one of the Bluescreens on Mediafire.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?u0nnsyxdiqjukmr
     
  2. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    It would be a good idea to get the latest motherboard drivers (these often include sata & bridge ones)
     
  3. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't seem to find drivers for the motherboard.

    Manufacturer's motherboard name: Asus M2N68-LA
    HP's name for it: Narra2-GL8E
     
  4. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    You could either get the drivers from Windows Update (In windows 7 actually works!). Or here:

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_vista_...2bit_15.49.html

    Your motherboard has a custom chipset built by asus but designed by HP. It's a Nforce 430 geforce 6150se. The link above has the latest for Nforce 430 chipsets (video card drivers included as geforce 6150se).
     
  5. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't use the integrated GFX card, anymore.

    Also, I have updated through Windows Update and it still blue screen's.
     
  6. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Ok. Windows update detects certain hardware, but often skips the most important. Install them from the link I gave you. Those have sata, chipset, etc.
     
  7. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    The attached minidump won't do much good as this specific type of BSOD is caused by a hardware complaint and contains very little usable information. Here's a bit more information regarding the issue at hand.

    [​IMG] Stop 0x124 - Sevenforums
     
  8. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Since it 'appears' to be a hardware issue you can probably start with a few things.

    1) Update BIOS on your mobo
    2) Physically disconnect all extraneous peripherals and test
    3) Physically disconnect all hard drives except the system drive and test
    4) Start popping out memory modules
    5) Swap out the video card and go integrated only
     
  9. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Yeah, guess it's a BIOS issue. I too have a Nforce 430 based computer, being a camera recording server. I had a lot of BSOD before, until I saw this fault was fixed by a BIOS update, and did it. I've had no more problems since I've performed it.
     
  10. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    The BSOD's still happen with the integrated GFX card.

    I'll try running chkdsk.
     
  11. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    i may not hurt to
    get more RAM , so you have 4gb (or more)
     
  12. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    BIOS are apart from OS. The most current BIOS version you have, the better. BIOS handles the "talking" between O.S & hardware , hence why it's needed.
     
  13. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    For BIOS updates you need to go to your mobo vendor and figure out how to install it In theory it should be a rebranded ASUS but you should hit HP's site and see if there's a BIOS update for your system. What's the HP model number of your computer, it'll help in tracking that down. Windows update generally won't find BIOS updates for your system very well.

    You might want to double check if you can 'disable' the integrated video card within the BIOS. It might be automatic but older systems you needed to manually set this. I had random freezing because the integrated card was screwy but installed a new video card and disabled the internal one and fixed it. Just check if there's any explicit way to disabled the integrated video card in the BIOS.

    Chkdsk will only find bad sectors on the disk. I recently had a weird issue, some WD drives had a firmware bug that caused them to go into a very weird state. Despite the WD drive NOT being the system one, it caused the entire system to do horrible things (slow boot, can't write, bsod/etc). Only by unplugging it did I manage to isolate the issue, and fixed the problem with the system. It's a bit of a long shot but it's worth trying to disconnect any extra hard drives you might have.

    I'd be willing to bet its either the BIOS, or the memory. If your have more than one memory stick in there try popping them out individually and see if that makes it more stable. Try swapping slots too, as the memory stick might be good but the slot could be bad.
     
  14. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    When troubleshooting a system, ADDING more stuff is never the solution. You have to start with a baseline and either remove, or replace items individually in order to isolate the issue. If you have a bad memory module/slot, you can add 2GB more memory and it will die. And you'll falsely assume the memory is not the issue.

    He's running 32bit so going higher than 4GB is pretty moot anyways.
     
  15. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    While the error and ntkrnlpa.exe being involved is usually Too Damn Genericâ„¢, I see this as well.

    halmacpi.dll+ef3f

    It's timestamp is from the same date as many other drivers so I assume it's a system one, though, so it's not much help, just figured I'd take a look and see if i could offer any more info.
     

Share This Page