R4i V4.5 HALP :P

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Karuto, Apr 8, 2013.

Apr 8, 2013

R4i V4.5 HALP :P by Karuto at 5:24 PM (1,569 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I did a little research suffice to say V.5 should work on the card, correct?
    It is a marked V4.5 card. Before update supported V4.5 perfectly.

    The kernel of my R4 is Ver.1.67b. (Says so in the corner)
    However when I go into Update it supports only the following:
    "Current Version
    Support Model: NDSL, NDSI 1.44, 3DS 4.4"
    I updated it via my old DS (Since I could never get updating via PC to work)

    I have a 3DS XL updated to the following: V5.1.0.11
    The R4 card is not working on the system.

    So does anyone know what the problem could be?

    UPDATE: Just checked it on another console running the V4.5 and it is no longer working.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It looks like they put out a 4.5 model, but no 4.5 update. So when you ran the 4.4 update, you downgraded your cart back to the 4.4 support.

    And since they refuse to put out a 4.5 update (making people buy new carts instead), you're fucked unless they release something.
     
    Karuto likes this.
  3. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is the new card I have, I bought it last week ^_^
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What's the site printed on it?
     
  5. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Does the update from 1.67b run?
     
  7. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh, I mean I can play games etc, but only on my DS. On the V5.1 3DSXL It's black screening and the exact same on the 3DSXL running V4.5 even though before updating it worked on the V4.5 3DSXL perfectly fine.
    According to the website with Ver1.67b it should run.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I mean the update function, when you try it in the main menu.
     
  9. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, that's not working. It's acting although it's fully updated.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you tried redownloading 1.67b from the site and doing the update and it won't, then you'll have to wait for them to make another update, since it looks like you downgraded yours by mistake.
     
  11. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ugh, that's infuriating to say the least.
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    well least you know how to update

    just have to wait for the next update to be released and then you should be good to go
     
    Karuto likes this.
  13. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh, but it still sucks since it has downgraded itself when it should have upgraded >.<
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well to get technical there is no such thing as a downgrade or an upgrade with flash cart firmwares. When you run an "updater", it erases your current bootloader totally, and then writes a copy of whatever version it's supposed to give.

    Sort of like reinstalling a Windows 7 machine with a Windows 2000 disc. If you tell it to do it, it's going to erase what's on there and install it's own version, no matter if what's on there is already newer.

    The team you bought from SHOULD be giving updates instead of releasing new models... but that's how they work, we've seen tons of people like you that bought r4-sdhc and end up with non-working stuff after one or two updates.
     
    Karuto likes this.
  15. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I find it weird since my old 3DS R4 has worked since not long after the initial release of the original 3DS.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which site is that one from? Some team, like r4ids.cn, actually care about the customers enough to keep releasing updates when possible.

    The different sites are different people. "R4" is not a single entity or anything. These people are from China and don't give two shits about using somebody else's product name if it'll get them sales.
     
  17. Karuto
    OP

    Newcomer Karuto Cave Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  18. Yamagushi

    Member Yamagushi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same thing happen, same card. I ran the wifi-engine update instead of getting it from the site. Downgraded me to pre 4.5 compatibility firmware. It also changed the boot image from the original bomberman, to metroid. Which as far as i know is a downgrade. I've tried a bunch of stuff with no luck. I managed to get it to rerun the current update or run an old update, appears to flash, but nothing changes. Even messaged the customer support, but they didnt seem to know english well enough to understand the problem.
     
  19. Yamagushi

    Member Yamagushi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    Incase you are still around, being that this post is what brought me here, I have resolved this issue. http://gbatemp.net/threads/r4i-sdhc-wont-update.349720/
     

Share This Page