R4i SDHC issue (R4-pro.com)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Lokao0, Jun 25, 2011.

Jun 25, 2011

R4i SDHC issue (R4-pro.com) by Lokao0 at 1:26 AM (2,496 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Lokao0
    OP

    Member Lokao0 aka LkProd

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    Brazil
    So, my friend and I have been playing Mario Party using download play this entire afternoon.
    However, after finishing playing Mario Party, he [my friend] tried to choose another game.
    But something happened. He has a DS Lite, and after we finished playing Mario Party, everytime he'd load the R4, the screen would stay plain white.
    I already checked the microSD, but the files were there. I have no idea what the heck just happened, we didn't do anything; The R4 simply stopped working. What happened?
     
  2. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    sounds like the SD slot might have died, try some different micro sd card on it, also i don't know how long he's had it and this probably won't do any good but contact where he bought it from and see what their return/warranty policy is.
    if he ends up having to get another card tell him to get a AK2i those are much better anyway, R4 anything is only good for a back up incase something happens to your main card really.
     
  3. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Ah!
    It looks like we have yet another proud user of the R4 pro!
    Anyways, take your game files and saves and back them up.
    Download the 1.4.2 and 3DS 2.0 update from here.
    Run the update.
    Download WOOD 1.28 from that website.
    Format you SD.
    Install WOOD.
    Put games in.
    Enjoy!



    BUT IF YOU DON'T WANT TO INSTALL WOOD R4, THEN SIMPLY TRY THE PAPER TRICK
     
  4. Lights

    Newcomer Lights Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    You can simply take your files off your SD Card and backup them up to the desktop or another folder on the computer then format your SD Card and put the files back on and it will work! Good Luck.
     
  5. Lokao0
    OP

    Member Lokao0 aka LkProd

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    Brazil
    I tried everything, but it still didn't work. I tried formatting the microSD and putting the files back again; white screen of death
    I tried downloading the WOOD from the site; white screen of death
    I tried the paper trick; white screen of death
    The R4 boots up, but before anything happens, the screen stays white.

    Is it broken? Is there any way to fix it?
     
  6. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Did you use the firmware update?
    WOOD didn't work for me before I did the Firmware update..
    It turns out the firmware update re-writes the firmware to the R4iDSN firmware (since the R4 Pro has the R4iDSN bootloader).
     
  7. Lokao0
    OP

    Member Lokao0 aka LkProd

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    Brazil
    How am I supposed to update the firmware if his R4 doesn't even boot?
     
  8. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks like the R4-Pro is yet another card to go to the R4ids.cn Wood kernel so if you have added the 1.4.2 patch then it will not need to be patched to work with 1.4.3. However you should download the latest version of Wood 1.32 from www.r4ids.cn.

    Have you tried a different SD card in the r4-pro to see if that works?

    Do you have access to either another r4-pro or r4ids.cn card? If you do you could try the swapping cards during firmware update to reflash the r4-pro to the latest firmware.
     

Share This Page