r4i-sdhc fails on DS lite

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by simpsonboy77, Aug 15, 2011.

Aug 15, 2011
  1. simpsonboy77
    OP

    Newcomer simpsonboy77 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I have a DS lite (unsure of version). I am trying to make a R4i upgrade v1.4 work on it. The site listed on the cart is r4i-sdhc.com which according to the mega list of R4 clones, is a R4-DSTT hybrid. The download on the cart's website did not work so I followed this guide http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=164359 meticulously and my cart does not work. When I power on my DS, it almost looks like the cart isn't even there, it says there is no DS card inserted.

    If this combination cannot work, what is a good place to purchase a good cart? I was reading that the supercard ds 2 is good. I want one with SDHC support since I want to reuse my 4gb SD card.

    I will try the cart in a friends DS within a day or so.

    Is this this a problem with the DS, cart, or something else?

    Thanks


    Here is a picture of what my card looks like.
    http://www.r4dswiki.com/wp-content/uploads...12175606543.jpg
     
  2. Darkrai

    Newcomer Darkrai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm having the same problem, my DS Lite also does not detect the Flashcard.

    My flash card is:

    Edit: I tested the flashcard in 2 DS
     
  3. tiggerlator

    Member tiggerlator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunatley guys i think that card is an old one that is not update-able. It should work on a ds lite though i would have thought.
     
  4. simpsonboy77
    OP

    Newcomer simpsonboy77 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I tried using RetroGameFan's suggestion (http://gbatemp.net/t267243-retrogamefan-updates-releases) but it did not work. I am going to borrow a friend's DS and see if any of the methods I tried will work. I have a strong suspicion that it is the card being older than the DS.

    Is there any way of opening the DS up to reset its firmware?

    edit: My DS is version 5 according to http://www.pocketheaven.com/ph/wiki/DS_Fir...irmware_Version
     
  5. janeyuyi

    Newcomer janeyuyi Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    China
    Country:
    China
    if the flash cards do not detect by DS console,it maybe the bad connection problem,you can try to clean the gold pins of both the R4i SDHC and the memory card,then insert several times.
     
  6. tiggerlator

    Member tiggerlator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no way to reset the bios on the ds. You may be better off buying a better card than the r4, a acekard 2.1/2i maybe.
     
  7. simpsonboy77
    OP

    Newcomer simpsonboy77 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Ok thanks. I was mixed between the acekard and supercard. Some of the sites selling the acekard look really shady.
     
  8. Menace Storm

    Newcomer Menace Storm Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    You said your card is a R4i Upgrade V1.4 from R4i-sdhc site (red box)
    Go to the download section of there site & download 1.43b for your card V1.4.
    This should work & run most new games if your card is from that site.
    You don't have to use Ysmenu.
     
  9. tiggerlator

    Member tiggerlator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't realize the v1.4 was update-able, maybe it is.
     
  10. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One person says he has updated the bootloader to work on DSi 1.4.3 but the official team says it's impossible.

    However as Menace Storm says you need to download the latest kernel 1.43b and it should work however if it is not registering in the DSl and cleaning the contacts hasn't worked you could try the paper trick. If that fails get a new card. If you want a low cost card then get an AceKard.
     
  11. simpsonboy77
    OP

    Newcomer simpsonboy77 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it will ever work because the DS doesn't think it exists. I just bought a Supercard DSTWO. I tired it in 2 other DSes and it didn't see the cart either. They were version 1 DSes.

    Thanks for the suggestions though. I guess you can consider this thread resolved.
     

Share This Page