r4i-sdhc.com

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by lukands, Dec 31, 2009.

Dec 31, 2009

r4i-sdhc.com by lukands at 4:40 AM (2,436 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That particular version will, but the one's without the 1.4 on the box won't and can't be upgraded. I wouldn't buy that cart though. When it went from 1.3 to 1.4 people were forced to replace their cards. There's no guarantee that you'll actually be able to upgrade the cart if 1.5 blocks it. Get an AK2i instead. They're not much more and about 100x better.
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    dont waste your money on carts that cant be updated (kernel update) your just gonna have to buy another one and another one ect...

    and the fact its just a crap r4 clone
     
  4. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
    Um... Pretty much any card that's name consists of a letter and a number is a cheap, made-in-china clone. For example: R4, R4 SDHC, R41 Gold, R4-III, N5, R6, M3. Do yourself and get an AceKard 2i from http://www.consolesource.com/ecomm/catalog...nit-p-2864.html . It's only $24.95 + shipping - IIRC, ~$5 - and I can personaly guarentee that, once the firmware update is installed, it works great on 1.4 - though I can't guerentee that it comes with the update pre-installed, you might want to have a pre-1.3 DSi or DS/DS Lite available to update it. They also have MUCH better support than all of those cruddy R4 clones.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    24 bucks for an AK2i! That's insane! Get it from DX, it's about half the price.
     
  6. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
    Wow... In the time it took me to type that post, lots of people recommended against the cheap R4 clone! [​IMG]

    Posts merged

    IIRC, DX is out, and ConsoleSource has fast shipping. i got mine from there.
     
  7. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    thats pretty flawed logic
    M3i zero / M3 real is one of the best cards on the market right now
    cant say the same about the rest however...
     
  9. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
     
  10. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    THATS M3 Simply which is and R4 clone,M3 REAL/M3i Zero/Sakura/iTouchDS ARE NOT R4 CLoNES
     
  11. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I have this card and it is updated (one of few). I can even run DSTT 1.17a12 raw or with YSMenu as a secondary firmware. It's not bad for a clone.
     
  12. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
    ...but it's still a clone.
     
  13. lukands
    OP

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    Great input everyone, No worries I know its a cheap R4, I know there are way better cards, just exploring my options, like to try out different cards.
    Just as long as it does work on the 1.4, not worried about 1.5.

    It seems to have good support for newer games
     
  14. LonerGoth

    Newcomer LonerGoth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the original r4, I thought, till I read here that the r4ds had a spring thing... mine didn't so it must have been a r4 clone... it wasn't the sdhc variety either... anyways, my DS and r4 got stolen recently, so if I were to get a dsi, dsi xl, I'd most likely need a new flashcart for pirated games.

    acecard2i seems to have everyone's support here on gbatemp.net, so I might get that one, IF I get a new ds replacement.
     
  15. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Not all clones are bad. If you want to take the "its a clone approach" let's throw out 95% of our PC's as they're IBM clones. Unless you've tried the darned thing don't talk smack. It's like never tasting chocolate, and calling it nasty.

    @ LonerGoth - The card in the OP can work with all current DSi firmwares (1.4 is current at the time of this post), and all hardware (NDS, NDSlite, NDSi, and NDS LL/XL).
     
  16. LonerGoth

    Newcomer LonerGoth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=198658

    Is the one you just mentioned this ez5? ( I don't know what OP meant!)

    (as a side note when I read OP I thought about anime openings....)
     
  17. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    @ LonerGoth - OP means original post or the first post of a thread.

    This was the OP of this thread:
     
  18. LonerGoth

    Newcomer LonerGoth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm, thanks, I'll remember that. Thanks for confirming that r4 sdhc works with firmware 1.4 as well.
     

Share This Page