R4i on DSi help

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by groggy, Dec 5, 2010.

Dec 5, 2010

R4i on DSi help by groggy at 8:12 PM (4,598 Views / 0 Likes) 55 replies

  1. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi
    my lad has been using our DS lite with a normal R4 card and was running great so i decided to get him his own DSi with R4i card for xmas.
    so i copied all the games and save files from my old R4 to the r4i and seemed to be working but it is very slow. it can take 3 or 4 minutes to make a save file...is this correct? and the save files i copied dont seem to work. they show up on the screen but dont seem to show in the game?


    DSi firmware is 1.3e
    R4i softwrae V1.29b

    and if i update to 1.4e will my R4i card still work as i wanted to install the internet browser from the DSi shop but it wants me to update?


    any ideas and please go easy i am really struggling with this....cheers
     


  2. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    lol.

    There are 30-50 different R4is.

    We don't know what crap you bought. [​IMG]
     
  3. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks
     
  4. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He's right you know. What is the exact name of the R4i?
     
  5. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it says on the cart:

    wifi
    R4i v1.4.1
    upgrade reolution for DS
    (NDSi LL(XL) /NDSi/NDSL/NDS)
    www.r4i-sdhc.com
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it will work. Your card is for 1.4.1, so the 1.4.1 update will not block it.
     
  7. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    excellent
    thank you twitztidsinz
     
  8. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there any reason why it should be so slow?
    it takes ages to make a save file and on new super mario bros it loads up then right near the end it stops for for a couple of minutes then loads up?
    im not sure if it does it on other games as i havent had time to try them yet.
     
  9. Sephxus

    Member Sephxus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Pomona, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, the cart you bought isn't very good. It has severe issues when your micro sd has too many fragments. You need to reformat you micro sd card with the panasonic formatter:Link
    *Note: This will erase all data, so copy all data to your pc.

    The reason saves don't work is because the cart uses a different file extension. Create a save from your R4i and check the extension it uses, then rename all your R4 created saves to that extension.
     
  10. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    superb , so that will speed it up?
    i will get straight on it when i get home from work tomorrow and let you know how i get on
    thank you
     
  11. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also
    before i forget
    is there a way to hide the actual save file that show up in the menu where the games are?
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Odd, in general firmwares don't show the save files by default, isn't there some filter or file type display option?
     
  13. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive been through the options like ascending,descending,siz etc but seems to be nothing to hide them
     
  14. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    gutted..unfortunatly it hasnt speeded it up at all it still taking a couple of minutes to load super mario bros up
    any other ideas?
     
  15. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Your SD card is most likely faulty. Try using another one.
     
  16. jonxs

    Member jonxs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Groggy its your memory card its not a crap brand like 'Team' is it? the memory is too slow, I bought an R4i this week also and it came with a naf memory card, I replaced it with a 'SanDisk' and it is working perfectly.

    Hope this helps
     
  17. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    brand new out of the packet mate
     
  18. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    jonxs its a kingston 4gb micro sdhc class 4
     
  19. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's the one my nephew has, and it's got normal speeds.
    I suggest you return it, the card is probably faulty. Class 4 micro sd cards shouldn't be that slow.
     
  20. jonxs

    Member jonxs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it still may be a fake memory card or faulty, the best thing to do, is try another memory card, e.g. the one you were using on your original r4, see if that helps, my memory card wouldn't even play half the games and the ones that did were stuttery and slow, try animal crossing and you will see.
     

Share This Page