R4i is it good for a Dsi?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Darkflame.fire, May 6, 2009.

May 6, 2009
  1. Darkflame.fire
    OP

    Newcomer Darkflame.fire Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Arlington,TX
    Country:
    United States
    I just bought a dsi and since my cyclo ds doent work on it (yet!) i heard that there is a flash drive called the R4i so i was wondering if its good any of you guys have any comments?
     
  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    No .... stay away with anything with R4 in its name. BTW R4is I believe are just clones of AK2is.
     
  3. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i will say buy a product that has the best support!
    see which product updates their firmware much often!
    you would not want an update only brought to you by every 3 months or never bother to update?

    DSi compatible cards..

    ak2i using AKAIO would be the best
    ezvi .... they still update
    DSTTi... since they release the card till now no update
    R4i.. not sure
    hyper R4i... brought to you by some of the old members and so far is ok but stay away since the firmware is still buggy
    itouch2.. if you like itouch

    you can wait for
    m3 dsi compatible! is coming soon
     
  4. bollocks

    Member bollocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i don't know how much truth there is in the claim that some of the old R4 team members are involved, but it's still another AK2i clone.
     
  5. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    bollocks,
    yes for r4i
    no for hyper r4i, AKAIO doesn't boot on it [​IMG]
    nevertheless, we will know how good or sucky this hyper r4i can be

    LOL
     
  6. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Buy an AceKard 2i
    Awesome version of my favourite card.
     
  7. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    Acekard is nice but EZVi is prob better esp when the 2.0 loader is finished its sooooooo fast [​IMG]
     
  8. bollocks

    Member bollocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah i read somewhere that it was, seems like that was wrong.. the hyper r4i firmware won't boot on my ak2 either. interesting!
     
  9. jesse86

    Newcomer jesse86 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe you could try AK2i & itouch2
    since AK2i it keeps updating kernel and it can perfertly work with DSi
    itouch2 is M3's first DSi compatible flash card , it may not be the quickest card but it functions in a reliable manner.
     
  10. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    i personally love the r4 but not on the dsi..i like ak2i the most and its workin wonders
     
  11. Golin

    Member Golin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, why do people insist on buying cloned products? Get an R4i and when you have issues, none of us will help you.
     
  12. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    r4i is again an clone choose acekard2i or whatever!
     
  13. jruschme

    Newcomer jruschme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    The thing which always gets me is that when people ask about the R4i, I want to say to them: WHICH ONE???!!!

    For the OP and those who may not realize, there are at least 6 and, on the surface, they are only distinguishable by their website URL and the order in which the name includes the modifiers "Upgrade", "SDHC" and "Revolution". (Not to mention "Gold", "Super" and "Hyper")

    Admittedly, at the hardware level, the problem is probably a bit simpler as several of them are probably just clones of each other and are interchangeable, but that can't be said for all of them.

    So, one might recommend the R4i Upgrade Revolution SDHC, but only with the R4i Super SDHC Revolution firmware. [​IMG]
     
  14. Fabis94

    Member Fabis94 Xbawx playa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    Latvia
    Don't get any kind of R4. If you want a cheap solution then get an iTouch2, but now when you think about it, AK2i costs cheaper in some shops than the iTouch2 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page