R4DS problem

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by MeTRoD, Jul 30, 2007.

Jul 30, 2007

R4DS problem by MeTRoD at 8:45 PM (3,488 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, so I bought my very own R4DS today.
    I checked the mailbox, and there it was!
    I then franatically ran in to my house to load the MicroSD card (which was in the package) with some files.

    I inserted the MicroSD-card adapter in my USB-port, it starts installing normal drivers;
    so far, so good.
    But then, when I insert my actual MicroSD-card in the adapter, a red light comes on.
    I try clicking on the adapter in My Computer, and guess what happens?
    "No disk in G. Insert a disk and try again".
    It can't find my MicroSD-card!! [​IMG]

    So, what do I do now?
    Ask for a new MicroSD-card, buy an original card reader, or what?
    I did read somewhere that the cardreader that's in the R4-package is sometimes defect.
    Might that be it?

    Some help would be appreciated. [​IMG]
     


  2. nufan

    Newcomer nufan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    it sounds like you are inserting the adapter into your USB port first, then inserting the micro SD card into the adapter.

    I always put the microsd into the adapter first, and then plug the adapter (with microsd already inserted) into my USB port. Pops up as normal.

    Maybe try that method. If that doesnt work, what operating system are you running? If still no luck then yes, might be time to contact whoever you purchased it from and get a replacement if it is indeed faulty.
     
  3. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    I've tried that as well, with no results.
    And I'm running on Windows XP.

    And also, I tried inserting the card into the R4 itself (without any files, though), and then in my DS.
    Then I got an error message, saying "SD/TF card error".
    More obvious proof, perhaps?
     
  4. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    faulty micro SD card, get a replacement from who ever sold you it.
     
  5. CatScam

    Member CatScam ScamaRama!

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    Here are some things to try

    1. Make sure the card is all the way inserted in the reader.
    2. Try another USB port.
    3. Try another SD reader.
    4. Try formatting the SD card with a Camera, PDA…
    5. Get a new SD card.
     
  6. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    ya, thats so QTF xD
     
  7. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    1: OK, but I think I've pushed it in as much as possible already.
    It's supposed to stick out a little bit, right?

    2: Sorry, I tried 4 different ports.

    3: Yeah, I'm planning on buying one.

    4: Hmm, OK, I'll try that when I get home (I'm not home at this moment).

    5: *sigh* Yeah, I guess that's the one of the most possible solutions right now.... [​IMG]
     
  8. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    try formatting it with a different sd card reader, and make sure its in fat format to make it work
     
  9. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, I'm gonna try formatting it in my digital camera as soon as I get home tomorrow (Wednesday).
     
  10. armand66

    armand66 Newbie

    I had the same problem the other day, only, my micro SD had been working beforehand, then, it got stuck at the loading screen for R4, and finally, it got the same SD/TF error screen.

    When i tried to format it through windows xp, it always got stuck saying unable to finish format, and i figured the SD was buggered.


    But, there is a program called "Panasonic SD Formatter v2.0" that i downloaded, was able to format it from there, and was able to put back R4 1.11 and its all good again.

    That program may help you format the card, as it sounds like its corrupted.
     
  11. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, I'm gonna try formatting it in my digital camera as soon as I get home tomorrow (Wednesday).
    But, unfortunately, you can't format in FAT-format in my camera, but I'll try it anyway...
     
  12. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    OK, thanks, I'll try that as well! [​IMG]
    Oh, and sorry for posting the same message twice.... [​IMG]
     
  13. Shelleeson

    Member Shelleeson GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    i'm here....silly.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh nice tip. [​IMG]
     
  14. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I found the Download link
    Panasonic SD Formatter v2.0
     
  15. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ironically, I just found a download link here on GBAtemp.
    As you might have guessed, it's under "Downloads". [​IMG]
     
  16. teH XeRO

    Member teH XeRO GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    why not format through a dos prompt...thats how i do it any time i need to reformat my microSD's... Format (drive letter): /FS: FAT (or FAT32) /A: 32k or 64k thats normally how i do it
     
  17. MeTRoD
    OP

    Newcomer MeTRoD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Sweden
    Okay, so now I'm home and I've tried several solutions.
    How many actually worked? None.
    Here's a brief explanation of each solution I tried.

    *Format the MicroSD-card through my digital camera = FAILED (interestingly, the camera says "memory full")
    *Have the MicroSD-card inserted into the USB-reader before I plug the reader in = FAILED
    *Format the MicroSD-card in Panasonic SDformatter v2.0 = FAILED (it doesn't even find the drive)
    *Format the MicroSD-card through prompts = FAILED (it says something like "driver busy")


    My obvious conclusion: the card is totally corrupted, defect, broke or whatever.
    But I contacted the company which I ordered it from, and I'm getting a new card in the next couple of days. [​IMG]

    And thanks to you all who tried to help me! [​IMG]
     
  18. Angelic-Chaos

    Newcomer Angelic-Chaos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    ... I have the same problem right now ....kinda weird I've had it for a month and then suddenly I turned my ds on and it froze and I couldn't acess the drive .....
     
  19. tipsy

    Member tipsy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    China
    It shouldn't matter, sometimes I take out my microSD out of the USB and then put it back in the USB to test stuff.
     
  20. zahid91

    Newcomer zahid91 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when i try to format it with the Panasonic SDformatter v2.0 it comes up with a message 'the memory card is write-protected. please release the write protect switch.'
    What should i do?
     

Share This Page