r4 Flash card, but other bootable software?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by agoul31, Dec 9, 2008.

Dec 9, 2008
  1. agoul31
    OP

    Newcomer agoul31 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Off to eat a beaver
    Country:
    Australia
    i want to know if its possible to put software other than r4ds onto an r4's flash card. e.g can i put cyclo ds software on int and have it run as that ?
     
  2. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Nope, I think you can't.
     
  3. Shabadage

    Member Shabadage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Colorado
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't YSMEnu the DSTT firmware? I know that runs on the R4.
     
  4. agoul31
    OP

    Newcomer agoul31 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Off to eat a beaver
    Country:
    Australia
    and could someone give me a link so i can download the bootable software for stuff like:

    M3
    CycloDs
    DS-Xtreme
     
  5. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
  6. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    You can't just boot any software on whatever flashcart. If you could, everyone would have M3 Sakura! Search DSision. It's a homebrew loader that's being developed. Until it's released, you're stuck with your R4 firmware.
     
  7. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    YSMenu is a replacement firmware coded by Yasu. It just uses the patching routines from the DSTT firmware, not the firmware itself.
     
  8. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I think everyone would use the Cyclo ds firmware if it could boot on r4.
     
  9. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah maybe because of the in-game menu but for people who don't care about that the GUI of Sakura is very attractive!
     
  10. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can however use M3 SIMPLY firmware and or any of the other R4 clone kernels but ... you will NEVER GET SDHC support on an original R4 and it the alternate clone kernels you will not get any better support for roms ..I've tried [​IMG]
     
  11. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    well, i only use my r4 for homebrew, so i set dsorganize 3.1229 as my firmware (yes, i mean firmware)
    and use chishm's loader to boot homebrew
     

Share This Page