R4 Custom Firmware "Dual Boot" - R4 & YSMenu

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Dark^'^Knigh, Aug 11, 2008.

Aug 11, 2008
  1. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    After reading recent posts about the YSMenu on R4 (using DSTT firmware), I've just been thinking whether or not it would be possible to develop a 'Dual Boot' for the R4DS, as follows:

    1. R4 firmware retained for using homebrew, skinning (if that's your thing), Sakura for Multimedia
    2. YSMenu obviously for the better game compatability of DSTT firmware going forward, direct boot to slot-2

    A 'Dual Boot' would be a very handy piece of firmware, well I think so anyway.
     


  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could change the media option from Moonshell to YSMenu. You could still load Moonshell from the R4 menu itself.
     
  3. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    You could set up default boot as YSMenu, name the R4 menu default.nds and it'll auto boot the R4 menu.
    Then you hold B to boot YSMenu
     
  4. Scathraax

    Member Scathraax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    My brain is all slow and junk from working too many hours this week..
    But as soon as I can figure this post out, it'll be amazing.
     
  5. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Well YSMenu has an option to auto boot default.nds unless you hold the B button down
     
  6. omgmog

    Newcomer omgmog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think the default.nds method will work, as YSMenu doesn't have a r4dldi.dat, and it will fail trying to erroneously patch the R4 menu to load it.
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just have R4 menu as DEFAULT .... then have the YSMENU as an NDS FILE as above if you rename the _DS_MSHL.nds (moon shell nds file to moonshell.nds) and then rename the YSMENU.nds file to _DS_MSHL.nds you can then load YSMENU by hitting the MOONSHELL middle icon in the R4 menu [​IMG]

    when and if you want to load MOONSHELL just load it like a normal game rom [​IMG]
     
  8. Cokeman999

    Newcomer Cokeman999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried this a couple months ago to have a game as the default middle r4 icon by renaming it, as you stated. It doesn't work. If there is something special you have to do give me a hit and let me know. But I'm pretty sure it doesn't work...
     
  9. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    to rehide the extensions just reverse the process above and untick the box next to hide file extensions [​IMG]
     
  10. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the info...seems reasonably close to what I was thinking of. Although I'm not the 'sharpest' when it comes to this sort of stuff, I'll give it a crack & see how I go. [​IMG] = this is me praying lol

    NB: I'm only now running sakura multimedia hack on my R4 & Triple Boot on my M3DS Real because someone kindly uploaded it for us to try
     
  11. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    yeah was using that as a media player inplace of moonshell for a while then decided to swap it for YSMENU instead as an alternate for loading games [​IMG]
     
  12. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry to be a pain, but I don't have a YSMenu.nds file. This is what is in my YSmenu patched for R4:

    _system_ (folder)
    TTMenu (folder)
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    r4patch.dat
    ttdldi.dat
    TTMENU.dat
    ttpatch.dat
    YSMenu.ini

    NB: Your instructions above, are they to modify the original R4 kernel, or the "YSMenu on R4" I have stated here?
    Thanks in advance
     
  13. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    You used R4crypt to encrypt YSmenu.nds and get _DS_MENU.DAT, then you probably deleted YSmenu.nds like the guide said.
     
  14. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for that, I now have it working.

    Yeah, as I said in prior post I d/l the pre-patched YSMenu for R4 (so I never saw/had the YSMenu.nds file). So I just d/l the YSMenu from his site and carried out Kobykaan's instructions.

    Thanks for the help guys [​IMG]
     
  15. omgmog

    Newcomer omgmog Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    You could have used r4crypt to decrypt the _DS_MENU.DAT file back to YSMenu.nds

    "r4crypt.exe -d _DS_MENU.DAT YSMenu.nds"
     
  16. RayRay19wun

    Newcomer RayRay19wun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
  17. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    yes but you need to patch it with M3/R4 patcher but ... makes no difference it WILL NOT ADD SDHC support and WILL NOT add anything different or any game updates as they are IDENTICAL to the latest R4 1.18 update as they BLATENTLY RIPPED it off [​IMG]
     
  18. RayRay19wun

    Newcomer RayRay19wun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    i know it wont add sdhc support im asking can we use this for more rom compatibility
     
  19. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    I think it has the same compatibility as the official 1.18. [​IMG]
     
  20. RayRay19wun

    Newcomer RayRay19wun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    mabey but it does say
    Code:
    Update R4 SDHC v1.21 kernel 2008-8-7
    1.Fixed compatibility issued with Daigassou Band Brothers DX?2385??Nanashi no Game?2420?
    which is why im asking
     

Share This Page