Quick question about softmod

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Isaac, Apr 24, 2013.

Apr 24, 2013

Quick question about softmod by Isaac at 11:18 PM (546 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Hello. My friend asked me to soft mod his ps3. But me and him would like to know wheter or not it changes anything (gui based). I know it will allow him to play backup and disallow him from playing online (he doesn't even have internet) but we are curious.... i ask this because after a little bit of googling I read it will boot in linux... Does that mean it no longer plays ps3 games? Sorry if i don;t know much, but Idon't own a ps3. I have xbox and don't really no much about it.
     
  2. dragonblood9999

    Member dragonblood9999 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Country:
    Canada
    nothing really changes it, adds an area to install .pkg files which is the ps3 .exe like files(i guess i could say its something like that).it let you play backups, online depends what cfw you install on the ps3, also the ps3 has to be on firmware version 3.55 or less to beable to install any cfw on the ps3
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Softmodding edits the PS3's OS, it doesn't replace the XMB. The visual changes will be few, just some new menu options and junk.

    Playing online is iffy. Sometimes you can, sometimes you can't. It depends on what's going on at any given moment.

    Linux is just one of the options people use, you don't need to use it.
     
  4. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, thanks guys... Now ontu the modding whenever i get a chance to go to his house... If only modding an xbox was this easy.. :P
     
  5. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Follow up question... can i put a game ontu a usb flashfrive, and then to the internal hdd? neither of us have a portable hdd.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it depends on the PS3 model. If it's too new it can't be hacked at all, if it is a hackable model but the firmware is above 3.55 then he'll likely need some hardware to do a downgrade, etc.

    If you want an easy system, the Wii/DS/PSP/etc. are king of "slip this in and play the games".
     
  7. dragonblood9999

    Member dragonblood9999 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Country:
    Canada
    yes they can, you can also send games to the internal hdd by ethernet from pc to ps3
     
  8. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Well, he doesn't have ointernet, so its not the lastest firmware... I'll ask hinm wherre he got it, and see if he can check the firmware for me... thanks for the help... again.
    :yayps3:
     
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,732
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    The PS3 has to be on 3.55 or lower for the initial softmod, from that point you'll be able to go higher. If the PS3's OFW is higher than 3.55, you'll need to downgrade the system using a modchip or a dedicated flasher. You should be able to find guides on how to do those things in this section of the forums.
     
  10. dragonblood9999

    Member dragonblood9999 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Country:
    Canada
    he doesn't need to have internet to have the latest firmware install on his ps3, if he has played any newer games then he might have a newer firmware, ps3 games come with the firmware update on the disk, if the firmware is not = to or higher then whats on the disk then you are forced to update the ps3 to play the game
     
  11. Isaac
    OP

    Member Isaac American

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Here? Right here? What about, say... over there?
    Country:
    United States
    Well, He has 4.25... so not hackable?
     
  12. dragonblood9999

    Member dragonblood9999 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Country:
    Canada
    yes it not hackable
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If it's an older model he might be able to downgrade it, but he'd have to open it up and do fancy hacky shit to it.
     
  14. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Pftsh. Fancy hacky shit meaning install a clip. ;O;

    (But yeah if it's a NAND based model I recommend a Progskeet and 360clip. If a NOR based console I recommend the E3 Flasher. There's some software you can put on a USB flash drive to check what the lowest firmware the PS3 was on as well. For those iffy consoles.)

    (P.S. I like the background change to your RRQ.)
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Pft, for some people changing out the video cables is scary. :P

    And yeah I figured I should make it not-blinding to dark theme users, though I'm still going to mess with it later.
     
  16. mschumacher69

    Member mschumacher69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Country:
    Antarctica
    4.25 is not hackable, but he can downgrade with a hardware flasher if he's got a dowgradable model. Basically, if it's a fat or a 20xx, 21xx or a 25xx (older than Jan 2011) slim, it is downgradable. If it's a 25xx slim newer than Jan 2011, a 3K slim or a super slim, it cannot be downgraded.
     
    antiaverage likes this.

Share This Page