quick PS3 question

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by kingofgamesgx, Apr 16, 2010.

Apr 16, 2010

quick PS3 question by kingofgamesgx at 2:55 AM (1,365 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. kingofgamesgx
    OP

    Member kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    i just got a Mitsubishi WS 55809 TV given to me and i wanted to know if the Component AV cable would work with this TV i have looked but see nothing about it any help would be great on the matter ,as i don't wanna spend money to find out it doesn't work


    (i asked here as on sony's boards i get no answer)
     
  2. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Seems it will support component sources just fine:

    Source
     
  3. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Why get component. yeah, they'll HANDLE 1080, but they dont REPRODUCE 1080.
    Just get a HDMI cable for 23 bucks at Meijers....THAT reproduces true HD quality...
     
  4. nycsam786

    Member nycsam786 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    Why even spend that much for a HDMI cable?! I would definitely recommend monoprice.com to purchase your HDMI cable that will work great!
     
  5. kingofgamesgx
    OP

    Member kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States

    reason im not getting a HDMI cable is i would have no use for it the TV only has component ports (free 55" 1080i TV so im not gonna complain about not getting true HD quality when its a $3000+ TV that i just got for nothing)
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,190
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    its not a $3000 tv (not anymore at least) even when it came out it was about $2000
    its almost 10 years old now and you can buy them for about $300 used
     
  7. kingofgamesgx
    OP

    Member kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States


    lol the guy i got it from payed 3000+ for it anyway for free its great
     
  8. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, now that we know the complete info on your TV, go the route your talking about then.....
     
  9. kingofgamesgx
    OP

    Member kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States

    lol

    ,BTW sorry if i sounded alittle rude in my other post didn't have to great of a day that day honestly i was gonna get HDMI cables but i got the TV home and looked and saw no HDMI connects so in order to get the best pic component AV cables are the way i gotta go
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,190
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you should set it to 720p because of the progressive scan vs interlaced, the picture will look better despite being at a lower resolution
     

Share This Page