PS1/2 quick PS3 question

kingofgamesgx

Hitokiri Battousai
Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
255
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
977
Country
United States
i just got a Mitsubishi WS 55809 TV given to me and i wanted to know if the Component AV cable would work with this TV i have looked but see nothing about it any help would be great on the matter ,as i don't wanna spend money to find out it doesn't work


(i asked here as on sony's boards i get no answer)
 

jphriendly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
411
Trophies
0
XP
250
Country
United States
Seems it will support component sources just fine:

QUOTE said:
Plus, dual progressive scan (480p)/interlaced (480i) component video inputs enable the highest possible performance from a progressive scan DVD player.

Source
 

ddetkowski

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
1,145
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
263
Country
United States
Why get component. yeah, they'll HANDLE 1080, but they dont REPRODUCE 1080.
Just get a HDMI cable for 23 bucks at Meijers....THAT reproduces true HD quality...
 

nycsam786

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
152
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
United States
ddetkowski said:
Why get component. yeah, they'll HANDLE 1080, but they dont REPRODUCE 1080.
Just get a HDMI cable for 23 bucks at Meijers....THAT reproduces true HD quality...
Why even spend that much for a HDMI cable?! I would definitely recommend monoprice.com to purchase your HDMI cable that will work great!
 

kingofgamesgx

Hitokiri Battousai
Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
255
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
977
Country
United States
ddetkowski said:
Why get component. yeah, they'll HANDLE 1080, but they dont REPRODUCE 1080.
Just get a HDMI cable for 23 bucks at Meijers....THAT reproduces true HD quality...


reason im not getting a HDMI cable is i would have no use for it the TV only has component ports (free 55" 1080i TV so im not gonna complain about not getting true HD quality when its a $3000+ TV that i just got for nothing)
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,636
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
6,158
Country
United States
kingofgamesgx said:
ddetkowski said:
Why get component. yeah, they'll HANDLE 1080, but they dont REPRODUCE 1080.
Just get a HDMI cable for 23 bucks at Meijers....THAT reproduces true HD quality...


reason im not getting a HDMI cable is i would have no use for it the TV only has component ports (free 55" 1080i TV so im not gonna complain about not getting true HD quality when its a $3000+ TV that i just got for nothing)
its not a $3000 tv (not anymore at least) even when it came out it was about $2000
its almost 10 years old now and you can buy them for about $300 used
 

kingofgamesgx

Hitokiri Battousai
Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
255
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
977
Country
United States
Joe88 said:
kingofgamesgx said:
ddetkowski said:
Why get component. yeah, they'll HANDLE 1080, but they dont REPRODUCE 1080.
Just get a HDMI cable for 23 bucks at Meijers....THAT reproduces true HD quality...


reason im not getting a HDMI cable is i would have no use for it the TV only has component ports (free 55" 1080i TV so im not gonna complain about not getting true HD quality when its a $3000+ TV that i just got for nothing)
its not a $3000 tv (not anymore at least) even when it came out it was about $2000
its almost 10 years old now and you can buy them for about $300 used



lol the guy i got it from payed 3000+ for it anyway for free its great
 

kingofgamesgx

Hitokiri Battousai
Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
255
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
977
Country
United States
ddetkowski said:
Sorry, now that we know the complete info on your TV, go the route your talking about then.....


lol

,BTW sorry if i sounded alittle rude in my other post didn't have to great of a day that day honestly i was gonna get HDMI cables but i got the TV home and looked and saw no HDMI connects so in order to get the best pic component AV cables are the way i gotta go
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,636
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
6,158
Country
United States
you should set it to 720p because of the progressive scan vs interlaced, the picture will look better despite being at a lower resolution
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Flame @ Flame:
    you cut
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    You chop
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    Computer repair is always fun
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    It's bloody awful
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    I find it quite vexing and soothing at the same time :P
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Shit always breaks at the wrong moment :')
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    That too
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Doing it for a living and in me spare time.. Fuck it at times
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    Yup
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    If I get sick of computers, I just go back to linguistics.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Perhaps yelling in latin might help speed up the process of troubleshooting haha
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    It actually does :P
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there needs to be a compact mode
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can only see 6 messages at a time
  • WiiMiiSwitch @ WiiMiiSwitch:
    How is everyone?
  • Plazorn @ Plazorn:
    I am good, also glad Temporary Mode is over
  • WiiMiiSwitch @ WiiMiiSwitch:
    Nice too know @Plazorn
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Need lifemod, me bored
  • PrincessLillie @ PrincessLillie:
    Poor Shoutbox, I hardly knew her :(
    +1
  • Nomi20 @ Nomi20:
    Wow this is pretty neat
  • PrincessLillie @ PrincessLillie:
    "We have retired our Patreon for our own subscription system"
    p7WODxlx
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    IMG-20210925-201416.jpg
    If these aren't good I'm giving up on the frozen section of gods
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    don't stick them in the microwave
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and they're probably fine
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: and they're probably fine