Hacking QUICK/NEWBIE QUESTIONS here!

  • Thread starter OSW
  • Start date
  • Views 409,236
  • Replies 3,286
  • Likes 5

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,525
Country
France
Theoretically, FAT32 could go up to 16TB with 4k drives, but it's limited to 8TB due to FAT32 maximum cluster number coded in 28bits instead of 32bits.
FAT32:
Maximum FAT32 clusters : 28bits = 0x0FFFFFFF = 268 435 455
Maximum FAT32 sectors : 32bits = 0xFFFFFFFF = 4 294 967 295

With 512 bytes/sector, 32K/cluster = 2TB:
Number of sectors in 32K/cluster = 32 768/512 = 64 sectors/cluster
Maximum theoretical size : Max cluster * cluster size = 28 bits * 32k = 8 796 092 989 440 (8TB)
but usable size : Maximum usable sectors * sector size = 32bit * 512 = 2TB

With 4096 bytes/sector, 32K/cluster = 8TB:
Number of sectors in 32K/cluster = 32768/4096 = 8 sectors/cluster
Maximum usable size : Max cluster * cluster size = 28 bits * 32k = 8 796 092 989 440 (8TB)
Even if theoretical size : Maximum sectors * sector size = 32bit * 4096 = 17 592 186 040 320 (16TB)

Maybe using 64k/cluster will use full 16TB, but it will not work with all homebrew.
Though, using 4k/sector is already a problem with some homebrew.

Thanks for the report about EmuNAND and 4k.
I guess I should limit it in the loader then (it's currently allowed past d2x v4).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Maxternal

redfalcon

GBATemp Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
250
Trophies
0
Website
code.google.com
XP
206
Country
Gambia, The
So, I've dumped my retail version of Brawl (PAL) and copied it via WiiBackupManager to a USB stick. I've installed USBLoader GX and d2x-v10-beta53-alt into 248. In USBLoader GX, I selected IOS 248 as game IOS. Brawl starts, but freezes when opening videos or after the credits (which seems to be the usual issue with Brawl). I haven't really bothered with backup loaders in the past 2 or 3 years, and I don't know which of the information I found is still valid. It seems that I additionally need a Hermes IOS 222/223 (?) to make Brawl work, is that correct? I have an old Wii with 4.1E and BootMii installed to NAND.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,525
Country
France
you installed d2x-v10-beta53-alt into 248 -> ok, but you installed it based on which IOS ?
You need to give both the version and the base when you tell which cIOS you have.

d2x v10-alt [56] (based on IOS 56) is the best one.
You can also base it from IOS 57, some games require it (Call of Duty)
other bases may work, or may break compatibility with games.

If v10-alt doesn't work fine, you can install d2x v10 (beta52)
 

redfalcon

GBATemp Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
250
Trophies
0
Website
code.google.com
XP
206
Country
Gambia, The
you installed d2x-v10-beta53-alt into 248 -> ok, but you installed it based on which IOS ?
You need to give both the version and the base when you tell which cIOS you have.

d2x v10-alt [56] (based on IOS 56) is the best one.
You can also base it from IOS 57, some games require it (Call of Duty)
other bases may work, or may break compatibility with games.

If v10-alt doesn't work fine, you can install d2x v10 (beta52)

Forgot that, sorry. I installed it to base 56 with rev21010.
Tried d2x-v10-beta52 (to base 56) as well, but no luck either. Both freeze with a black screen after movies or a match. Does it have something to do with USB Loader GX's NAND Emulation? I put it on off. I'm going to try it with base 57 now
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,525
Country
France
base 56 is fine and it should work.
Test with another USBLoader (wiiflow, CFG, or an older version of USBGX) to see if the problem is the loader or your setup.

If it doesn't work with other loaders too, then it's a problem with your ISO (probably incomplete or corrupted, you can test with WiiBackupManager Sha1), or your drive (defragment, or try another drive).
 

Maxternal

Peanut Gallery Spokesman
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
5,210
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Deep in GBAtemp addiction
Website
gbadev.googlecode.com
XP
1,685
Country
What is the directory structure for wiiflow? It is unable to detect where my games are located for NES, SNES, and GameCube ISOs... My USB HDD is in FAT32 format...
Sorry to insist but HAVE you tried pushing this button yet?
wii-flow-global.png

It might have a GameCube logo on it instead of what's shown here and it might only show up if your pointer is near the bottom of the screen.
 

Maxternal

Peanut Gallery Spokesman
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
5,210
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Deep in GBAtemp addiction
Website
gbadev.googlecode.com
XP
1,685
Country
Yes, just shows what is on my Wii Menu, not any games in USB...
You might have to go into your /apps/wiiflow/wiiflow.ini file and there's a separate section for many of those coverflows (for example, [DML] for GameCube, [GAMES] for Wii games, [NAND] for system menu channels, etc.) and make sure none of them have a line in them that says
disabled=yes
and if it does, change it to
disabled=no
and then, in WiiFlow itself, there's a separate partition setting (SD, USB1, USB2, etc.) for each coverflow you you might have to switch to the GameCube section first and THEN go into setting and change it to USB1 for them to show up. The same with homebrew, Wii games and emulators.

Another thing, in order for emulator games to show up you need to actually have the emulator plugin for it installed
https://sites.google.com/site/wiiflowiki4/plugins-setup
 

Skeet1983

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
3,509
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Somewhere, out there...
XP
2,910
Country
United States
Ok, here is what I was hoping to do: I have both a Wii and a Wii U, an SDHC card and a USB HDD. I run my wii game cheats on the SDHC as well as NES and SNES ROMs; would switch everything to the USB HDD if it can be done. I heard about wiiflow and such, but was wondering if there was a program I could use for NES, SNES, and GameCube ISOs combined without having to switch between different programs; would also like to use cheats/AR codes for them as well. Can this be done? Thoughts appreciated :)
 

Maxternal

Peanut Gallery Spokesman
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
5,210
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Deep in GBAtemp addiction
Website
gbadev.googlecode.com
XP
1,685
Country
What directory are my GameCube ISOs supposed to be in for USB Loader GX?
USB1:/games/< some folder name >/game.iso (basically the same place they need to be for WiiFlow)

It might be pointing to SD instead of USB so you might have to go into the settings and change it yourself. I think it's in the "custom paths" section near the bottom. There are two GameCube paths there. One is always on SD (can't be changed to USB) and the other one is the one you'd have to change. It should end up being (USB1:/games/) If I understand how you have them set up.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Chainhunter

Randall402

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
93
Country
United States
Hey, I made a .gct file with Luigi's Mansion codes , and all the USB loader I tried won't find it.... help????? I'm also using Dios Mios Lite to play it
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,525
Country
France
I don't know other loaders, but USBLoaderGX doesn't display ".gct" files.
It displays only the .txt files with all the codes(SD:/txtcodes/GLME01.txt), which let you select the one you want to enable and let you generate the .gct binary file.

In order to load the .gct file, you need to enable the Ocarina setting in the "Game load" setting.
Click on a game > Settings > Game Load > Ocarina : Enable

When it's enabled, it will check if there's a file "GameID.gct" located in the /codes/ folder
SD:/codes/GLME01.gct <-- if you already have the .gct file, rename it and put it here.
 

ntpsq

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
49
Country
United States
How do I get USB Loader GX to detect my Wii games on my SD card? It can detect my Gamecube games that are on my SD, but not my wii.
 

jomaper

Some random argie lost in the Internet.
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2012
Messages
374
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Buenos Aires
XP
767
Country
Argentina
Hey guys I recently bought a Wii with USB Loader GX on it and I can play perfectly fine (Except for the resolution that keeps changing at random times, if someone knows the solution for this please let me know), but today I tried to put some games on and the loader doesn't recognize them.
What I did:
1) Downloaded 3 games, 2 ISO's and 1 WBFS.
2) Put them in the external HDD in the WBFS folder.
3) Connect the HDD to the Wii.

That's all I did. So... what do I have to do?
I don't know anything about the Wii itself, like mod firmware or stuff like that ;__;
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DarkCoffe64 @ DarkCoffe64: I have a wii u too, and I feel like an idiot for having bought one, and pissed that shittendo...