quick bricking question!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MADKATZ99, Dec 12, 2008.

Dec 12, 2008

quick bricking question! by MADKATZ99 at 12:10 AM (1,056 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    I forgot to brickblock and regionfree CoD5, so I quickly updated my system to 3.4E in case it asked for a NTSC system update. It did. Now it says I must perform a wii system update to play the game, now im pretty sure I can still do it because I've got the latest PAL firmware installed now, but I wanted to quickly make sure. better to be safe than sorry!

    and I could re-burn it with brickblocker but it took and hour and a half to burn as it was so I'm not really looking forward to waiting another hour and a half to play the game.


    thanks!
     
  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Don't install that update.
    Run the game through Gecko OS if you want to skip the update
     
  3. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    really? I thought it was going to be okay :wtf: glad I asked.

    whats a Gecko OS and where do I find one to kill? [​IMG]

    hey if I re-burnded it with the wiibrickblocker patch it will kill the update right?
     
  4. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    search google or wiibrew.org
     
  5. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    so from a second opinion you reckon I can't do the update either?? What will happen if I do?
     
  6. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    alright I've got it, I extraced the boot.elf file and put it on the SD card... do I need to put some kind of elf installer on the home brew channel? [​IMG] I think i've only got a .wad installer [​IMG]
     
  7. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it should be a boot.dol as Nuke updated it!
    Also put the folder in apps on SD Card and run it though HBC, that's it, if you want a channel of it search custom channels on the search!

    Time fore bed, up early to do some Car Mechanics fucking alternator job!! arrrrrrrrrrgh
     
  8. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    alright thanks for all the help.

    I put the gecko thing in the apps folder, but still all I can see in the homebrew channel is 'wad installer' and wad uninstaller... I'll keep playing around with it.

    seeya later.


    EDIT: Is it because I did a system update??
     
  9. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    No need to panic everyone!!! Got it working with some old school regionfrii and brickblocker, thanks for nothing! [​IMG]
     
  10. IronMask

    Member IronMask Official WiiStuntman First to Test ciosCorp!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Somewhere in USA
    Country:
    United States
    Dude I laughed my ass off when I read this thread!! [​IMG] ... What the fuck people?! Come on use that noggin of yours for something besides a hat rack and read! and read it again.. now think about it.. read it again.. now read it while your doing it. Boom... usually pefect method everytime. Am I clear?
     

Share This Page