Questions Regarding Upgrade to 4.0U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gamer220, Apr 13, 2009.

Apr 13, 2009
  1. gamer220
    OP

Newcomer gamer220 Advanced Member

Australia
    I am currently getting ready to update to 4.0. I downloaded everything I needed using the Ultimate System Menu 4.0 Guide (is there another guide thats better) but I haven't run anything yet on my wii. I am currently running on a 3.2U and have the USB Loader and Backup Channels working perfectly.

I have been doing research for a while on updating. But I just get confused bc some people say do this or do that or dont do this it will brick.

The questions I have:

1) I am a little confused because some people on the board are saying its safer to update thru Nintendo's servers than Wanikoko's updater. SO i'm wonder what you would recommend and which one is truly safer?

2) Should I install StartPatch or Preloader? I currently have starfall right now. I have never used preloader before. I just want something that will better protect me from bricks. I do like to install wad files a lot (VC and wiibrew games). Are you able to do both or is that pointless? Which is safer (im assuming startpatch)

3) Do you recommend CIOSCORP? Never used it before. I dont really care about loading backups thru the disc channel. I am fine using the backup launcher channel. Is there any other uses for the CIOSCORP that make you recommend it.

4) Will the backup launcher channel I have work (Gamma 0.2) with the update to 4.0 or do I need to install a new version?

I also want to make sure that I am able to run my bootleg VC and Wiiware games from the new SD menu. People on youtube keep saying you cant. But they are idiots.

Sorry with all the questions. You guys are prolly sick of people like me on this board. I am just a little paranoid of bricking my wii. I appreciate the help.

2. MightyMouse

Member MightyMouse GBAtemp Fan

United Kingdom