questions about flashcards

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by gixo, Feb 11, 2012.

Feb 11, 2012

questions about flashcards by gixo at 1:37 AM (666 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. gixo
    OP

    Newcomer gixo Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hello I'm about to order a r4i 3d gold flashcard but I wanted to clear a few questions (the faq seemd to be outdated thats why im creating this topic)

    Even though some of them might not be questions, could you confirm if they are true.

    1-Can you play 3Ds Games on it?(faq says No but i heard that it works,confirm plz)
    1.1 If yes,does the 3D effect work?
    1.2 How do i connect the FlashCard or the Mini SD card to my pc?

    2-Does the Flashcard give a lot of problems to the system? like a lot of freezes,crashes...

    3-Do we need to buy a new fcard if the developers do something new or will most of the stuff be avaible by software updates?

    4-Does wi-fi work? (i heard yes,(also the faq does say so) but i heard a few complaining about connection issues)

    Thanks for your time,
    gixo
     
  2. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    no flashcarts can play 3DS games.
     
  3. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    1) No, not yet
    1.1) read #1
    1.2) with a micro sd reader
    2) No freezes/crashes
    3) Your card is most likely future proof...new kernels will become available as well as firmware
    4) with the card you have yes (set your network to "WEP Shared"

    Your welcome
    jimmyemunoz
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    1. NOTHING PLAYS THEM, GET IT IN YOUR SKULL.
    2. NO, IT'S A DS GAME.
    3. DEPENDS ON WHAT THE HECK YOU'RE TALKING ABOUT.
    4. YES, CONNECTION ISSUES ARE UNIVERSAL FOR DS MODE.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    1 - No. There's a couple "hacks" on youtube, and by "hacks" I mean "scams made by douchebags". Don't fall for them.

    2 - A MicroSD card reader (micro, not mini). Flash carts tend to come with them but the ones that come with are cheap. You can buy one yourself at like any computer store.

    3 - Most stuff is done via software updates. People are using 3-year-old flash carts still. Just be farecul about firmware updates or you could lock yourself out of the cart.
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/315784-flash-carts-and-dsi3ds-updates/

    4 - Yes. Connection issues are because the DS is old technology. WEP-only and all that crap, so newer networks won't change without issues.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. gixo
    OP

    Newcomer gixo Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Portugal
    ok, Thanks for the answers :), can't wait for the FCard Developers to get a way to get the 3DS Games to work, and I hope that it will be avaible over Software and it won't be needed to buy a new one
     
  7. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    What's wrong with the cheap MicroSD readers?
    Mine works fine for me.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I and others have had them fail at a terrible rate, and failure can often mean data corruption.
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the crown 3ds is a 1:1 copy of splinter cell. i doubt it will ever run anything but the splinter cell rom. they haven't posted any news for awhile, there is a good chance they hit a limitation wall and moved on to something else.

    -another world
     

Share This Page