Question: power connector for CPU?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by GeekyGuy, May 16, 2009.

May 16, 2009
  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    I'm still waiting for my new Corsair 400w PSU to arrive in the mail, but it just occurred to me that, according to the specs on Newegg, the PSU only has an 8-pin power connector for the CPU, and it doesn't appear to break away into two 4s. Thing is, I think I will need a 4-pin to power the CPU. Advice? [​IMG]

    Thanks
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Link the model. Most PSU that have 8 pin power connectors will either break into 2x4 or have an 8 pin and a 4 pin.
     
  3. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is it this one "Corsair 400W CX PSU" because the specs say "4+4pin ATX12V" Connector which is 2x4pin or 8 pin power that will break into 2x4, like Jiggah says?
     
  4. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it is the CX model, but when I looked at the specs on Newegg, it just said 8-pin:

    [​IMG]

    In the event that it doesn't break into two 4s, can I still use it to plug into a 4-pin CPU outlet?
     
  5. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    this isnt the case now though
    but if it only had 1 8 pin connector and nothing else then you can still plug it in, the other 4 pins would hang off the side and would still work fine
    not exactly recommended though...
     
  7. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Alrighty. Thank you much, guys.

    Umm...just to be sure. Does it matter which 4 prongs of the 8-pin I use? [​IMG]
     
  8. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It can only go in one way as the plugs are shaped round and square like this, just find the 4 that fit without forcing it in.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, okay. I see. Looks like the plug on the right has one prong (top-right) that is completely square, unlock all others.

    Appreciate the help.
     

Share This Page