Question over POPSloader/Homebrew...

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by OmegaTheOverLord, Dec 14, 2009.

Dec 14, 2009
  1. OmegaTheOverLord
    OP

    Newcomer OmegaTheOverLord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    The question is that currently I am using the 5.50 GEN D firmware for the PSP, and I wanted to know if/how to run the POPSloader for PSX games (Since everything I read on it says before so, so I do not know if there is a firmware issue with anything above 4.0). Also, how do I set up homebrew on the PSP correctly to run? (Loading games is in ISO, do I put homebrew in a different spot called HOMEBREW or in ISO as well?). Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Homebrew and PS1 games go into PSP/GAME in the memory stick. You can load most games using the normal POPs but there is a Popsloader plugin for GEN-D2 if you need the extra flexibility though I suggest finding a pre-built version of it (rather than fiddling with extracting different versions from different firmwares)
     
  3. OmegaTheOverLord
    OP

    Newcomer OmegaTheOverLord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States

    so i can get any build of pops and use it to play PSX games then? I did put the homebrew in the game folder, but it said it was corrupted (I'll try a different one, just to make sure.). I simply put pops into the memory stick then, or is there anything specific i should know?
     
  4. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a little more complicated, you need to enable the plug-in as well and you have to choose whichever Pops version you want on the first load of the game.
     
  5. OmegaTheOverLord
    OP

    Newcomer OmegaTheOverLord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. Also I have read that you need to patch the games prior to playing? Also the newest pops will work on the 550-GEND correct? (I'm not used to using a PSP in this way, so I just want to make it right on a first shot basis xD)
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Protip - pops is present natively in every firmware. Before you do anything else try every PSX game you have and see if it'll run on the pops you have in your current firmware. You don't patch PSX games, you just need to ensure that they've been converted correctly (unfortunately different converters boast differently compatibilities, as do different IMG ripping apps)

    So - PSP/Game/MeAndMyMonkey/EBOOT.PBP first.
    If it doesn't work then you look into popsloader.
     
  7. OmegaTheOverLord
    OP

    Newcomer OmegaTheOverLord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    so i just put teh game into the PSP folder "GAME", and just see if it loads then? Do I rename it EBOOT though?
     
  8. ShinRyouma

    Member ShinRyouma GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    956
    Location:
    Surabaya
    Country:
    Indonesia
    You have to convert the game into eboot, then put the eboot into a folder (name the folder with the game title, e.g. Final Fantasy), put the FF folder in the GAME folder.
    PSP/Game/FF/EBOOT.PBP (like xist said)
     
  9. OmegaTheOverLord
    OP

    Newcomer OmegaTheOverLord Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    so i just get an iso to eboot convertor then?
     
  10. ShinRyouma

    Member ShinRyouma GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    956
    Location:
    Surabaya
    Country:
    Indonesia
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If all is working once you've converted your PS ISO to EBOOT.PBP and put it in its own folder, you'll find it listed as a normal game on the PSP and can just run it like you can run any PSP game from the memcard.

    It is worth noting that there are are many compatibility issues across the various PS games. There's a wiki with a detailed list, but I can't remember the link. Certain games like Final Fantasy will most certainly have compatibility issues with some of the newer POPS, preferring to use 3.71 instead (or at least, that's how it's been since I played them - I've not checked in a long time now).
     
  12. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page