Hacking Question about the DSiWare Downgrade

blueyy

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
Hello,
I recently installed A9lh on my old 3ds but now i'm doing the process of transferring it to my new 3ds xl on 11.0 firmware with Fieldrunners setup. I'm using a dummy NNID from my old3ds to transfer it to my new3ds xl, but I had a NNID on my new 3ds xl that I want to keep on it, but i'm not exactly sure when i'm supposed to system format it again to remove the dummy NNID and sign back into my NNID that I want to keep on my new 3ds xl with all of my games and friends list.

I tried researching it and there was some different answers on when to do that, is it supposed to be after I have a9lh all setup and installed on it? Or can I just do it exactly after I downgrade to 9.2.0 and continue all the way to a9lh from there? I'm also following a tutorial video on how to do this on Dew Gaming's youtube channel if that helps

Thank you!
 

Dimensional

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
1,008
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
Texas
XP
2,837
Country
United States
I have that same question too. I asked if on Plailect's wiki, but all be did was close the ticket and point to information about how I can transfer my ID back, nothing about restoring the 2nd 3ds original nnid. I'm wanting to help a friend with his attempt to instance a9lh, but I'm worried that he'll end up losing his nnid on that 3ds for good. I need assurances that we can restore his nnid after I transfer my system back to my 3ds.
 
Last edited by Dimensional,

hbkmog

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Messages
23
Trophies
0
XP
157
Country
United States
You should unlink the NNID on the target 3DS first by formatting or calling Nintendo. Then do the transfer and hacking. After everything is set up, log in with the NNID you want to use and redownload all the games and such.
 

blueyy

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
Okay I have A9LH all set up on my 3ds now, but when I go into Nintendo Network settings inside system settings, it redirects me to the dummy nnid to sign in that, but I don't want that, I want my original nnid back. Should I do a system format in system settings this time and try signing in back from there after the initial setup?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,119
Country
Australia
Okay I have A9LH all set up on my 3ds now, but when I go into Nintendo Network settings inside system settings, it redirects me to the dummy nnid to sign in that, but I don't want that, I want my original nnid back. Should I do a system format in system settings this time and try signing in back from there after the initial setup?
Yes, you need to unlink the dummy NNID to let you sign into the other one.
 

blueyy

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
Yes, you need to unlink the dummy NNID to let you sign into the other one.
Okay I tried it system formatting to unlink the dummy nnid for at least 3 times and it just asks me to either create a new nnid or link an existing one through a wii u id only, I was going to try restoring my sysnand-a9lhax.bin to the system to get it how it was before and then use tinyformat this time

Edit: Although i do have the original nnid linked to the wii u just in case, but, on the wii u the id doesn't have my friends in there for some reason so i'm a little afraid that if i do link it through the wii u, it'll come back with no friend's list or friend codes, as well as my games and stuff. Would anybody know or have any information about this and the above?
 
Last edited by blueyy,

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,119
Country
Australia
Okay I tried it system formatting to unlink the dummy nnid for at least 3 times and it just asks me to either create a new nnid or link an existing one through a wii u id only, I was going to try restoring my sysnand-a9lhax.bin to the system to get it how it was before and then use tinyformat this time

Edit: Although i do have the original nnid linked to the wii u just in case, but, on the wii u the id doesn't have my friends in there for some reason so i'm a little afraid that if i do link it through the wii u, it'll come back with no friend's list or friend codes, as well as my games and stuff. Would anybody know or have any information about this and the above?
Did you system transfer the NNID away from this console or did you just format to be able to create or transfer the dummy one to it?
 

blueyy

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
Would anybody have any information on that
Did you system transfer the NNID away from this console or did you just format to be able to create or transfer the dummy one to it?
I just formatted it to unlink the original nnid, and then I went for the system transfer and continued all the way a9lh from there without any system formatting again on the system through system settings
 

blueyy

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
Yeah I thought so too ;_; I have a feeling it's either because I confirmed the email confirmation for that dummy account, or because I linked the original nnid to the wii u just in case as a kind of backup, i could still do that, but I dunno if i'll get all of my stuff back ;-;
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,119
Country
Australia
Yeah I thought so too ;_; I have a feeling it's either because I confirmed the email confirmation for that dummy account, or because I linked the original nnid to the wii u just in case as a kind of backup, i could still do that, but I dunno if i'll get all of my stuff back ;-;
If you don't find any help here you can always call Nintendo - they have the power to link and unlink on their servers
 

annson24

The Patient One
Member
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
1,191
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,844
Country
Philippines
Yeah I thought so too ;_; I have a feeling it's either because I confirmed the email confirmation for that dummy account, or because I linked the original nnid to the wii u just in case as a kind of backup, i could still do that, but I dunno if i'll get all of my stuff back ;-;

you could try to inject a clean nnidsave.bin using Decrypt9 then continue to link your original nnid.

Here's a blank one I made, http://d-h.st/TuJ3

backup your nnidsave.bin first to be safe.

Disclaimer: I'm not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards, thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. DWYOR.
 

blueyy

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
66
Country
United States
you could try to inject a clean nnidsave.bin using Decrypt9 then continue to link your original nnid.

Here's a blank one I made, http://d-h.st/TuJ3

backup your nnidsave.bin first to be safe.

Disclaimer: I'm not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards, thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. DWYOR.
Could I still do this even If i already linked it through the wii u? I lost my friend codes but I have all of my games and stuff
 

annson24

The Patient One
Member
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
1,191
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,844
Country
Philippines
Could I still do this even If i already linked it through the wii u? I lost my friend codes but I have all of my games and stuff

I think so, yes. You're just injecting a blank nnid to your 3ds. I've been doing this a lot, maybe 5-6 times already to different 3ds'es, haven't encountered any problem so far. However, I still don't know why plailect's guide doesn't use this on the region change section. I've suggested this to him because it's easier than the conventional way but I didn't got any response.
 

Effi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
89
Country
Iceland
Hi,
Can I use this DSIWare method if I changed my cfw o3ds console region from us to pal (eur)? (the target console is pal too)

Thanks in advance :)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/hJPK5nB_UMg?si=sS6k1EXAjHzDXrlF