Question about formatting SD card

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by HaveFallen, Jul 9, 2009.

Jul 9, 2009
  1. HaveFallen
    OP

    Newcomer HaveFallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all,

    Apologies if i'm asking in the wrong place, and if my question isn't worded right. I don't know how to ask this.

    Does the microSD card have to be connected into a sd card reader into a USB port for the SD formatted to recognize it? I currently don't have one, so I have to put my micro sd card into my cellphone, and plug my cellphone into the USB port by a USB cord. That is also how I put all my files in there. What happens is when I try to format, a window pops up saying my card isn't supported.

    Also, another question, I keep getting an "unsupported device" on every game I try to play and anything I do (like update through wifi) with any of the AKAIO firmwares, and it all works on the official firmware. Would formatting fix all this? (The only thing I haven't done yet).

    Thanks for any answers.
     
  2. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You might as well get a card reader. They're pretty cheap on dealextreme. I dunno how it works, when it goes through a cellphone...but by the looks of it, you should probably just get a cardreader.

    Also, what kind of flashcart do you have? AKAIO doesn't like fake ones. There've been a lot of fake ones floating around lately, it seems.
     
  3. HaveFallen
    OP

    Newcomer HaveFallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, i'll try and get one as soon as I can.

    I am sure I've got an official Acekard 2i, I haven't checked out the insides yet though, like in those pictures to compare them yet. Oh boy, me and my friend are gonna have a talk. He's the one who bought it for me.
     
  4. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol, you should verify for sure whether it's legit or not before getting mad at anybody. But from what I've seen and heard, there was a fraudulent dealer at some anime convention in NYC not too long ago.
     
  5. HaveFallen
    OP

    Newcomer HaveFallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hey again,

    My friend says he got it at a computer store and they ordered it from somewhere. He doesn't know anything else.
     
  6. GenesisX

    Member GenesisX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    a vagina :)
    Country:
    United States
    Well the USB you want for an SD Card should look something relevant to this[​IMG]
     
  7. HaveFallen
    OP

    Newcomer HaveFallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hhmm, I formatted my Micro SD and, Device is still not supported. I guess it's ok to say this card is fake...*sigh*

    Is this why most, wait...All Pokemon games, and Zelda doesn't work? All I get is white screen except Zelda, which crashes right after starting it.
     
  8. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Beginning to sound like you have a fake. Have you updated the loaders from here?

    Slightly older version of AKAIO doesn't have fake checks either, so you could try that. If all else fails I would contact where you purchased it.
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    your acekard is a clone. you got ripped off. sorry. akaio 1.4.1 will display "unsupported device" for all clone kits. its probably an r4, try the r4 firmwares and see if one works. where did you buy this card from? please let us know so that others do not purchase a clone kit. it appears that some r4s were recently sold at some anime convention with legit ak2i stickers on them. it pays to shop at a quality online store!

    -another world
     
  10. HaveFallen
    OP

    Newcomer HaveFallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all,

    Sorry for such a late reply.

    Apologies, I don't know where this AceKard is from. How old does the AKAIO firmwares have to be to not have fake checks? The oldest I have tried is 1.3. Also, if I use an R4 firmware on this card, would it break? I thought R4s couldn't work on a DSi.

    One last thing, could you guys link me to a legitimate site I can purchase a real card from? I would look myself, but I think I can trust you guys.
     
  11. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    http://dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.18728

    You should be able to get one there. They're a pretty reliable reseller...they just take awhile. If you didn't want to wait so long, you could always get one from one of the official resellers on the home page.

    And I think that pretty much anything but the latest firmware doesn't have the fake checks. I don't think you can break the card using any different firmwares.
     
  12. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the new loaders should soon require the new firmware, which does have the clone check in both the firmware and the loader files. sorry clones! =)

    -another world
     
  13. HaveFallen
    OP

    Newcomer HaveFallen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I just tried out 1.3 again and this time, without updating the loaders, and it works. So I can say that this card is a big fat phony. Ah, at least it's now playing games, and thanks to Duckthom (if you guys remember him in a topic) I got games that couldn't work...work. So I guess i'll just give this to my little sister.

    Thanks for the link, and also thank you guys for helping me. You have my eternal gratitude.

    *Kneels*
    *Gets up*
    *Walks out*
     

Share This Page