Question about dsiware downgrade

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by jellevs, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. jellevs
    OP

    jellevs Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    57
    8
    Jul 25, 2012
    Netherlands
    i am in the middle of the dsiware downgrade guide by pailect.

    I have installed A9lh before and am now installing it on a 3ds as birthday present which is in 3 days.

    What I don't really understand is the nnid being stuck.

    If you format system is the nnid still linked?

    And if i delete the nnid, Will it be gone then?

    (I don't want to wait 7 days for transfer again)
     
  2. SirHaxALot

    SirHaxALot Yum Cookies! :3

    Member
    132
    41
    Nov 22, 2016
    Gambia, The
    Yes, it'll be still linked to the target and can't be used on the source without transfering back.

    If you delete it, it will ofc be gone, but with all your purchases if you have done any with that NNID.

    Transfering or calling Ninty are the only way to get it back on your old console, but even calling Ninty isn't instant and can take up to a week.
     
  3. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    11,025
    5,910
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    An NNID can be in three states. It can:

    a) Be linked to the console but not signed in
    b) Be linked to the console and signed in
    c) Be linked to a different console

    If you format your console in state a) nothing happens, the NNID is still linked.
    If you format your console in state b) it switches to state a)

    If you system transfer (as the source console) in state a) OR b) then it will switch to being in state a) or b) on the target console

    If you try to create a new NNID in state a) you will be successful (the NNID you just made will be in state b) while the other will remain in state a))
    If you try to create a new NNID in state b) you will not be successful, but you can format to make the current NNID be in state a) and then try again and be successful.

    If you try to system transfer (as the target console) in state a) you will be successful, and the NNID will remain in state a)
    If you try to system transfer (as target console) in state b) you will be unsuccessful, but can format to move the NNID to state a) then try again and be successful.

    If you delete an NNID then it won't exist anymore, and you won;t be able to ever sign back in with it again.

    To answer your original question: If you format the NNID gets logged out but still linked. You can create a new NNID on the system. If you delete it, it will also be gone but then the game will disappear forever too (if you just format, then you have the option of signing into the old NNID at another time).
     
    Ronhero likes this.
  4. jellevs
    OP

    jellevs Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    57
    8
    Jul 25, 2012
    Netherlands
    Thank you. This is Very helpful.
    So basicly, if you format system you logout of the NNID and makes way for a new NNID.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.