Question about buying a new PS2

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Goofy Time, Apr 12, 2009.

Apr 12, 2009
  1. Goofy Time
    OP

    Member Goofy Time GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Well, considering the PS2 is down in price, I want to get a brand new one for backup purposes, in case the only one that still works (My 4th) craps out on me. Would the softmodded card still do the job with the brand new models, or does it only work up to X model?
     
  2. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    McBoot won't work on the new slim PS2s (90000 series).

    It will work with any slim PS2 that doesn't have a built-in power supply. So you'll be looking for one that has a power brick.
     
  3. Goofy Time
    OP

    Member Goofy Time GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, really? Not even if the card is already fixed to use McBoot?

    I guess if my console breaks, I'll have to get it repaired by someone I know :S
     
  4. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Any pawn shops in your area?

    Around here they sell slim PS2s for $50 with two controllers. So for the cost of a new non-mcboot-compatible PS2, you can get two non-90000 slims with four controllers.
     

Share This Page