Quality of DS Emulators?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by toddtj, Jul 2, 2011.

Jul 2, 2011

Quality of DS Emulators? by toddtj at 1:21 PM (1,247 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

1. toddtj
    OP

Newcomer toddtj Newbie

United States
    This seems like a question that is probably asked very frequently by people who don't want to take the time to research, so I apologize up front if this is annoying; to be clear, I have spent the last 2 and half hours wandering around Google, related forums, and review sites and am still very confused. Keep in mind that I am completely new to DS hacking and relatively inexperienced with hacking in general (only experience I have is somewhat thoroughly soft-moding my Wii). Before I spend the money to buy a flash cart and micro SD I want to be sure that a hacked DS's capabilities are worth the money (and effort).
    My question is as follows:

Does the DS have severe problems with emulation of all kinds? I've really only looked into SNES emulation, but it seems like I've found nothing but bad reviews--many roms can't be played at all, most roms having severe framerate issues, graphical glitches, audio glitches... Perhaps my expectations were/are inappropriate, but considering the size and popularity of the DS hacking community I was expecting there to be at least one nearly flawless emulator for all the popular older consoles (nes, snes, gb/gbc, gba, genesis, master system, gamegear).

Has my research given me an appropriate perception of the emulation abilities of the DS (that they are very sub-par), or I am being confused by biased reviews and/or old information? Perhaps I am even being confused by information that was uncommonly objective, mentioning all flaws no matter how small, and my lack of expertise/understanding is making mountains out of molehills?
    Am I being too harsh? Is it unfair to expect the DS to be able to emulate the consoles I mentioned at as high a quality as a computer or even Wii does?