Quality of Copying a Burned Game

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shadowmanr6, Feb 2, 2009.

Feb 2, 2009
  1. shadowmanr6
    OP

    Newcomer shadowmanr6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    If i were to make a copy off a already burned game, anyone know if there is any kinda loss of quality or something to that extent to make a copy of a copy? I use verbatim media just wasnt sure if if there is a loss of life doing that.
     
  2. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Well maybe its me, but if I have to make a copy of a burned game then just put the DVD-R (whatever you burned it on to) Into your computer DVD drive, then copy the ISO from it, then re-burn to another disk.
     
  3. mcj

    Member mcj GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
  4. shadowmanr6
    OP

    Newcomer shadowmanr6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    sorry, i know you CAN make a copy i just wasnt sure if any loss of quality with the media/image by doing this
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    digital data has no lost of quality, only analog data/signal..!!! [​IMG]
     
  6. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Unless the disc is scratched, then you lose the data entirely! [​IMG]
     
  7. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    The quality of your copy will at best equal the quality of your burn. So if your burn was only 60% quality you can more or less count on the copy being the same, as copying errors =errors
     
  8. m-tek

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmmm ... didnt think you could do a copy of a copy.....

    None of my drives read a copied disc....

    I even have one of the special drives ..

    What am I missing??

    EDIT... got it... windows wont see it ... but imgburn sees it....
     
  9. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For what it's worth: when I used ImgBurn to rip an ISO of an already burnt disc it had the exact same CRC32 value as the original ISO.
     
  10. riddle43

    Member riddle43 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Mich USA
    Country:
    United States
    useing image burn works for me and so does the dumper and the came out as well as the frist burn
    [​IMG]
     
  11. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    This is true for VHS but not for DVDs [​IMG]
    Like Maikel Steneker said. You'll get the exact ISO that you made from the original/downloaded. You can also copy a copied disc and get better quality. A bad quality disc has the same data as the iso but not very deeply burnend (I know this is very simplified) but they are still the same zeroes and ones as on the original. If you know copy a copied disc you will still get the original data but you can burn it on a better dvd-r.
     
  12. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    IF all the data on the disc is there without errors then yeah you will get the original image, however if your disc had errors burning or is scratched, then your image will contain those errors. It is not possible to get data from a disc if that data didn't burn/can't be read in the first place. Using quality was a bad example, as i can take a shit dvd and reburn with near 100% quality, but the data is still shit, just the burn quality is good.
     
  13. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So... Just buy high quality discs and tick the verify box in your burning program [​IMG] This way you can be quite sure that everything is on the disc.
     

Share This Page